We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not trust pictures of rooms on this site.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachfront Terraces
Ranked #37 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed May 21, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 48 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

Be aware there is a company called 'Latitude 16' that own various apartment blocks in and around Port Douglas. One of them called 'Beaches' apartment which are NOT the same as Beachfront Terrace Apartments, which is what we were originally put in!

Even this review has mixed pictures of the WRONG apartment block so be aware! We had to pay AUD$300 for an upgrade to 'Beaches' apartment where the manager blamed the booking operator for booking us into the older apartments next door and told us that he gets lots of complaints from people not realising what they have booked! ..... SO BE AWARE IF IT SEEMS CHEAP!!

The apartment was very dated and all you could smell was damp especially in the bedrooms, on en-suite bathroom was linked to the main bathroom with a frosted window (not very private)! Plates were dirty, place needed a good clean! disappointing and couldn't wait to get out! We will upload pictures of the beachfront Terrace apt to show what it really is like! We ended up upgrading to 'Beaches' apartments which were directly next door, and ended up having a great time there in the end!

Also bear in mind the time of year that you visit the area, as we couldn't go in the sea, as it was 'stinger' season and there were too many jellyfish in the sea, and the weather was so rough that it damaged the stinger nets in the sea, which we should have been able to swim in, but couldn't!
We also went on the quicksilver barrier reef trip on a rough day, and were sea sick, and didn't have a good experience there either, so make sure you are aware of when the 'wet' season is in the tropics!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed here with our 3 kids for a week and wished it was longer. We absolutely loved it. The unit was clean, lots of room- we could watch the kids in the pool from our back deck and on the beach from the front. Staff were helpful, friendly but really unobtrusive. Gardens were beautiful and being able to play a game of tennis so close to our unit was great. We will definately be booking in next year. Thanks for a lovely break.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajsBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had a one bedroom on the ground level across the street from the beach. We were a bit apprehensive having our patio door open to the garden and out to the street. It was unfounded! Port Douglas has a lovely safe feeling and we had direct access to the beach in a minute. We even rented paddleboards and stored them on our patio making us feel very local.
The tennis court was available during our stay and the pool was often all ours.
The staff at the front desk were very accommodating.
The apartment was well designed and very clean. We enjoyed having our own parking spot right outside our door making it easy to unload and load the car.

We will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and the best I can say is that they are average! The next night we checked into a hotel down the road that was 100% better and less that half the price. even though we did ask to stay another night here they said that they had already discounted the price and could not go any lower .. Shame as there are so many better place than this and only good point was a washer and dryer in them. Good beach location but much nicer if you take a look....

Room Tip: All rooms have beach front views but first floor gets a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C8201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy998, Public Relations Manager at Beachfront Terraces, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Dear guest,

I am really sorry that you have had such a disappointing experience on your recent visit, I would like to apologise on behalf of Latitude 16 team. After this school holidays the property will be undertaking a refurbishment.

As walk-ins you would have had a chance to view the room before deciding to stay, which then should have met expectations, and we were fairly heavily booked due to the school holidays. We do however offer discounts when it is not a peak holiday time.

The 1 bedroom apartments are on the ground floor, and the 2 bedroom beachfront apartments are townhouse style with the 2 levels. It is in a premium location close to Macrossan Street, with beach and ocean views, well appointed - self catering with private laundry facilities.

Please contact me directly when you find yourself in Port Douglas and I will ensure that your reservation is taken care of.

Kind Regards
Lynette Lai
Business Development Manager
Latitude 16 Pty Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

These units have had their day and should be demolished.Our 1 bedroom ground floor unit was dirty,crockery dirty and bathroom grubby with 5 cockroaches in 6 days.Couch was about 35 years old and difficult to sit on as cushions kept sliding off. TV too small.King sized bed in a matchbox bedroom ridiculous.Washing machine and dryer were both faulty.Overpriced.Only redeeming feature is the position directly opposite the beach but have to contend with motor homes and combie vans parked opposite often sleeping overnight.When cockroaches were mentioned to management was told that was expected in the tropics ,so why weren't we told what to expect?

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

We stayed here in october as it was the only place we could find with a 2 bed appartment. It was very quiet and we hardly saw anyone else around, although it seemed a bit busier next door at latitude beaches, with which you share facilities and reception.

We had a 2 bed ground floor garden appt. which looked out onto a tired tennis court. The back entrance was a bit overgrown, which made it a bit dark inside. The actual rooms had a well equiped kitchen and small laundry cupboard with a washing machine and drier. Unfortunately, although everything was clean, it was all a bit tired and the whole place felt like it seriously needed renovating.

Couldn't fault the location though, just a few seconds from the beach and just a short walk to shops and marina. The staff at reception were also good, helped us book a few tours and transfers with minimum fuss and sorted out a noise problem very promptly.

Overall cheap and chearful, if you're going to be out a lot of the time, you could do a lot worse, but don't expect any more than very average 2/3 star accomodation.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank denandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0 mi away
Beaches Port Douglas
Beaches Port Douglas
#33 of 42 in Port Douglas
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#20 of 42 in Port Douglas
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#40 of 42 in Port Douglas
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
542 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
#39 of 42 in Port Douglas
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Terraces

Address: 17 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range: $132 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachfront Terraces 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Terraces has an enviable beachfront location on The Esplanade overlooking Four Mile Beach. The sand and sea are only metres from your front door. A short stroll away is Macrossan Street's boutique shopping, cafes and award winning restaurants. The beachfront apartments have magnificent views of Four Mile Beach and the Coral Sea. The garden view apartments overlook the tropical gardens. The property offers a range of facilities including outdoor swimming pool and BBQ facilities. Off-street undercover parking is available for all guests. Reception is open at Beaches Port Douglas located on Mowbray Street just next door to Beachfront Terraces. From here you can also arrange any tours to the Great Barrier Reef or islands, Daintree rainforest, Cape Tribulation and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beachfront Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Beachfront Terrace Hotel Port Douglas
Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing