We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful & Well Appointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful & Well Appointed”
Reviewed April 29, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mandalay. They upgraded us to a three bedroom apartment which was enormous. It had a lush, tropical outlook over the gardens. The rooms were nicely furnished & the spa fantastic. The pool is lovely with a good length for people who enjoy laps.

The location was perfect - a short walk to the restaurants while still in a quiet, green & peaceful location. It's also a very short walk to the beach which is gorgeous. We were advised before booking that there wasn't a beach view so it wasn't a concern. The beach can be heard from the balcony.
My only suggestion might be to improve some of the environmental approaches. It is suggested to leave the air con running to prevent dampness which felt a bit excessive.
The staff were very helpful, professional & friendly. We had a great stay at the Mandalay and would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayfield3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    101
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
310
122
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

I booked my stay at this property due to the fact that it advertises as beachfront apartments. With all the rave reviews it really makes me wonder if we actually stayed at the same place. Let me just say that these apartments are not in fact beachfront. There is a road in front of these apartments which you have to cross and then you walk thru a thick corridor of scrubby native trees to access the beach. It’s certainly not possible to see the beach from your balcony or from the front of the Apartments. We also experience quite a few downpours whilst in Port Douglas and any chances of enjoying time on the beach was totally ruined by the constant annoyance of mosquitoes that seemed to be out in force. Definitely don’t forget to take mosquito spray as they are particularly bad around this beach area especially when you’re sitting under the shade of these trees, which is your only protection from the sun. You also have to take into account that you can’t swim in the water at the beach because of stingers (no mention of this when you book) so the whole idea of beachfront holiday was a total loss (stick to the pool it’s safer). In respects to the pool, it’s certainly not resort standard. I found it very small with limited area to sit. It’s tightly fitted between the front of the apartments and the front street and very exposed. Although the apartments are spacious, I found the bed extremely uncomfortable which to me is very important when away from home. Rooms were a little bit musty and if you’re expecting daily housekeeping forget it – it’s not going to happen. I also found the location was very inconvenient. On their website they boast that they are within easy walking distance to the centre of town and the marina area. It took us about a 15 minute walk to the centre of town and let me tell you when the sun comes out after a good downpour of rain the humidity will kill you by the time you reach the town centre. I walked to the markets which took me about 25 minutes and by the time I arrived my clothes were drenched from perspiration. To actually walk to the Marina was about 30 minutes and by no means an easy walk in the heat and humidity. If you insist on staying here I would strongly recommend you hire a car. Due to our experience we would not recommend these apartments or the location to anyone

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank onhollidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

We spent 7 nights in PD in early April 09. The pool area was clean and good for swimming properly keeping our 9 and 13 year olds entertained. Later in the week there were more very young children with lots of inflatables which made swimming a little harder but this did not spoil the stay. The tennis court is well maintained and dries out very quickly in after rainfall. Apartments great for the beach and easily walkable to the town. The ladies in reception were especially helpful, booking all trips and providing good advice when needed. I would recomend Manadalay Apartments as a good place for a family to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We had a wonderful week staying at the Mandalay. So close to everything but also very quiet. The pool was lovely. Raelene and Nicole were very helpful with planning our day trips. The unit was lovely and very well equipped. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Will definitely stay there again when I am next lucky enough to visit the beautiful Port Douglas.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brisbanegirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Sayed for 5 nights in these great appts.Everything you could want.Very clean and comfortable.Close to 4 mile beach and 8 min walk from bars and restaurants.Very helpful staff.We were upgraded to 2 bed appt as it was free.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doodledaydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Spent three nights in a 3 bedroom beachfront apartment. Overall, a great experience. Raelene was a great source for booking tours - she recommended Calypso for snorkeling with our three kids and we had a great time. She was also very helpful with ideas for restaurants. Apartment was large and clean - great air conditioning during the hot and humid weather. A short walk across the street to Four Mile Beach and a short 10 minute walk to the restaurants and shops in Port Douglas. Only suggestion - we were on the third floor and there are no elevators. Book a ground floor room if you have small kids or it will get very tiring lugging things up several flights of stairs. Although our apartment faced the beach, you cannot see it due to the trees
A great place and a good time in Port Douglas. Highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Raelene and Nicole go the extra mile before and during your stay to ensure that you will enjoy yourselves. We arrived at 2.00 in the morning and everything was just as we had arranged. After a tiring journey from Airlie Beach via Brisbane, thanks to some very grotty route planning by the airlines, our beach front apartment was just what we needed and everything we expected. It is very sticky in Port Douglas which is to be expected in the tropics and the excellent air conditioning system was thankfully the same very high quality as everything else in the apartment. The pool area is extremely pleasant and after a day in the Rainforest it was just what we needed.

Raelene recommended both Zinc and Salsa which are both excellent restaurants. Zinc is a little more formal but not in the least bit stuffy. Salsa is highly professional, casual and great fun and always very busy due to it's understandable popularity. The food is fantastic regardless of which one of these restaurants you go to. We probably just preferred Salsa and went there two nights on the run which was a first during our four week trip to Australia !!

Port Douglas is a very stylish resort and really well positioned for trips to Cape Tribulation and the Great Barrier Reef. The Kuranda Skyrail is also about an hour away and offers a great introduction to the rain forests and may well prove adequate for a lot of people unless they want a far more detailed rain forest experience.

We stayed in Port Douglas for three full days which was not enough time to enjoy everything. We will just have to go back but we wont need to do any homework on where to stay!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exactlyhowitwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.6 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Coconut Grove Apartments
Coconut Grove Apartments
#4 of 55 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments

Property: Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Address: Corner Garrick & Beryl Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay Port Douglas Accommodation offers luxury beachfront apartments surrounded by lush gardens, directly across from Four Mile Beach and only a five minute stroll to the centre of Port Douglas. With an exclusive walkway direct to the Four Mile Beach, Mandalay Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments offer the opportunity to relax in five star comfort. Spacious resort surroundings, tennis courts and a large swimming pool are features of the two and three bedroom luxurious holiday apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay And Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing