We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place....Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2008

Ok, not on the beach, but as beachfront as you can get, cross the road, through the trees and four mile beach is in all its glory.

We stayed in a 3 bed apartment. We had a small problem with our door key, but this was sorted straight away. The staff were helpful throughout our short stay.

All our trips were organised by the staff, at no extra cost.

Port Douglas is such a fantastic place for a bit of R & R and I have no problem recommending the Mandalay and Shalimar as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank uk_bosox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 572 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2008

We stayed in a 3 bedroom, first floor apartment. We had a fantastic time and loved how spacious it was. A few things to note: beachfront does not give beach views (we didn't realise this) this turned out to be good because the beach is right across the road and when you walk along it you don't see any buildings or apartments just beautiful rainforest/bush meeting the sand, the frontal dunes are also in remarkable condition for an Aussie beachside town. Also we booked through the hotel in advance. This turned out not to be the cheapest, going through wotif seems to be cheaper. However, be warned this hotel often gets booked out, especially in high season. We stayed for 10 days and loved it. We swam in the pool everyday and loved it. They have shade cloth up and it was the only thing we did between 11-3 each day as it was too hot to walk around town or swim at the beach (sunburn). it really suited our 1 year old. Oh, and one more thing there wasnt a lift in our section so we had to walk up a flight of stairs to get to our room, a bit of a hassle with a one year old in a stroller.... I would recommend a ground floor apartment for families with younger ones in strollers. We hired a beach stroller for the week too and it was fantastic (also cheekily parked it at the bottom of the stairs each day and just carried it up in the evening). Far better than the little maclaren we bought that fits easily on the plane.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank megs500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2008

Great hotel, facilities and location. Friendly staff and sorry to leave. However there were a couple of small things that were overlooked by cleaners on our room preparation . On arrival in room, cigarette butt floating in ensuite toilet was a bit unsavoury. In another bedroom, dirty tissue and small pieces of rubbish on floor under window and in third bedroom, a half empty soft drink bottle found under the bed.
Was bought to attention of staff who were very apologetic.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank beejw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

The apartments are not exactly 'beachfront', you have to cross a quiet road and walk through some trees onto the beach. No more than 50 metres from the rear gate to the apartment complex. Our apartment had everthing that we could need in the way of cooking, eating, washing and relaxing. The main street of Port Douglas is 10 - 20 minutes easy walk (depending on which end of the street you are heading for) Our ground floor apartment had a large, well furnished patio looking out onto lush tropical gardens. The reception staff are very helpful and knowledgable and can help you book trips, excursions etc. We went for a day trip on a chinese sailing junk called the Shaolin. Try it, you will not be disapointed.
For eating out, try The Wategate Restaurant. Good food and friendly service.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank young grandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

My fiance and I stayed at the apartments for four nights and had a fantastic time. Whilst we had booked a one bedroom apartment, on arrival we were given a two bedroom apartment and it was massive. We had two bathrooms, two balconies with a view of one of the pools, a fully fitted kitchen with dishwasher and a utility room with washing machine and dryer. Everything which you could possibility need is provided for you.
The hotel is about a 15 min walk to the centre of Port Douglas where there is a good selection of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars. We had dropped others off at Treetops and Sea Temple but both were much further out of town and we were pleased with the location of the Mandalay. Mango Jam cafe is good value for money with huge pizzas. We also ate at Zinc which was lovely with amazing toilets (wall with a fish tank in it!) and Bistro3. We had tried to eat at Salsa but it was fully booked. So I would recommend booking in advance for that restaurant.
The apartments are located across the road from Four Mile beach which is gorgeous. There are sunbeds for hire and it was not too busy. There is plenty of wildlife at the apartments as the grounds are lovely, we frequently saw geckos, frogs
and dragonflies.
We both loved Port Dougas. The scenery is beautiful and our stay at the Mandalay made it perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Parkin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Back home from a fantastic nine night stay in one of the best apartments we have every stayed at. The Mandalay in Port Douglas, Queensland. The apartment was huge and spotless. The owners and staff especially helpful. We loved the fact that the famous four mile beach was right at our back door and our patio area was a wow. My parents stayed at a near by hotel and they were disappointed with their room, too small by half.... The Mandalay in Port douglas is the ONLY place to stay. The O'Hanrahan family from Ireland will be back.. Thanks again

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank irelandgillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

My wife and two teenagers stayed for 3 nights recently as part of a 2 week trip touring Australia. The reviews are all positive, well-
deserved and reliable. This place was a fantastic choice. The owner, Raelene was extremely helpful and responsive to my email queries before arriving. Plus, she booked a couple of excursions for us. The location of the property is great. Very close to town and a short walk across the road to a beautiful beach. We had a beautiful two bedroom, two bathroom apartment on the ground floor. It seemed brand-new, with brand-new appliances and tasteful decor. We simply loved it. The only comment I would make is that it is not like a hotel and your room does not get "serviced" unless you stay for at least a week, so keep that in mind. Also, no dining facilities, but there is a great kitchen, so we bought groceries in town and made our own breakfasts and a dinner or two. There are terrific restaurants in town (Watergate, Salsa) and we even ordered in pizza one night and the service was great, and the pizza was yummy.

I think this is a much better place to stay than Cairns. The only comment I would add is that I do recommend renting a car at the Cairns airport (easy) and driving the one hour to P.D. You will probably want a car in P.D. and that way, you can do a number of the tourist things yourself, like the Kuranda skyrail experience and avoid the cost and annoyance of a bus tour.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank flunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,062 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,726 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Coconut Grove Apartments
Coconut Grove Apartments
#4 of 57 in Port Douglas
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments

Address: Corner Garrick & Beryl Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $209 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay Port Douglas Accommodation offers luxury beachfront apartments surrounded by lush gardens, directly across from Four Mile Beach and only a five minute stroll to the centre of Port Douglas. With an exclusive walkway direct to the Four Mile Beach, Mandalay Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments offer the opportunity to relax in five star comfort. Spacious resort surroundings, tennis courts and a large swimming pool are features of the two and three bedroom luxurious holiday apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay And Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing