We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant say”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant say”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Really friendly and helpful staff. A great location close to the main street and beach. The kids loved the pools and tennis court. All in all a first class facility. We would certainly recommend this for families needing plently of space and the ability to cook for themselves or be close the the main street restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJP_greenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    101
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
310
124
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral UK
Level Contributor
795 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in March.

Arrival 4/5 - easy to find just outide of the centre of Port douglas. A friendly and efficient check in.

Lounge/kitchen 5/5 - spacious and modern with a good sized kitchen with everything you might need for a comfortable stay. Good aircon. Large flat tv. Large L shaped sofa. Nice dining table with 4 chairs. Laundry room off the kitchen. Nice started pack with tea/coffee washing liquid etc.

Bedrooms 4/5 - one with king bed, the second with singles. Both modern style. Another tv in the main bedroom.

Bathrooms 4/5 - ensuite to the double bedroom and family bathroom with Jacuzzi bath to the second bedroom. Both well appointed. The ensuite only has a slatted sliding door hich offered very little privacy.

Location 4/5 - the apartments are located on the beachfront, but it is a 50m walk through a section of forest to the beach. The beach is lovely in both directions. The marina and shops are a few minutes stroll away.

Other 4/5 - the gardens are well tended and the basement parking is spacious. The pool area is very smart and has a whirlpool zone and a very nice seating area. Everywhere is immaculate.

Value 3/5 - we paid AUS$280 per night. This seemed on the high side for out of season.

Overall 4/5 - these are very smart, modern, well appointed apartments that are above the normal standard standard. Very swish and impressive but at a high price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here in September 2013 and loved it. The apartment was large, cleanliness and amenities were faultless, and the staff extremely helpful. We were allocated a corner apartment on the ground floor which had its own patch of lawn, so it felt like we were living in our own house. The only reason I have not given it five stars is because the pools were small and filled with small children (not an option with a teenager). However, it turned out that the pool situation didn't matter because of the Mandalay's wonderful location - just a short walk to Macrossan street and another very short walk through a back gate to the beach. I'm not a beach person, but I was won over by Four Mile Beach. It was gorgeous, never crowded and there was enough shade during the hottest parts of the day. Some days, it felt like we strolled across our private terrace down our private path and onto the beach. Previously we've stayed in Palm Cove, but we were won over by Port Douglas because of these apartments, the restaurants (special mention to On the Inlet and the Surf Club) and the access to the Daintree and Mossman Gorge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We loved our stay at the Mandalay - we decided to spend a bit more for some extra luxury, and were so glad we did! The apartment had a very nice interior, well appointed kitchen, nice jacuzzi tub and 2 bathrooms. We especially loved our unit's (Apt. 5) location: our large ground floor patio adjoined the shared pool making it feel like one expansive outdoor area (unit next door was set back around the corner, so the two patios were not immediately next to each other, adding to privacy). The building is just across a quiet road and down a walkway to the beach - a wonderful quiet, private setting, but one that allows easy access to the beauty of the beach. No beach view, which we knew at booking, and we liked the green lush feel of the vegetation behind the building.


We couldn't get movies on the television, but didn't mind because we didn't plan to sit inside to watch t.v., but if that is important to you, better sort it out before you go. Facility offers bike rental and a tennis court which we didn't have time to make use of but might next time!

Loved the delicious fruit bowl on arrival, the staff was very friendly (we had a medical emergency while there that required changing plans, and they were helpful and accommodating).

We will stay again the next time we are in Pt. Douglas!

Room Tip: We stayed in ground floor Apt #5 (2 bedroom) and loved its large patio with table, built in sofa, ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GalFamilyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandalayluxury, Front Office Manager at Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
We are so pleased you loved your stay but so sorry you couldn't access the movies on your TV. Our staff would have been more than happy to pop down & show you how to access both the movie link channels & the 10 Foxtel channels. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

When the word 'luxury' is used to describe these apartments it is well used. The cleanliness, high standard of furnishings, location within Port Douglas and faultless service by staff is second to none. I would have no hesitation to recommend these premises to anyone. From before we made the booking to when we finally had to tear ourselves away and leave it was just amazing. We wanted for nothing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandalayluxury, Front Office Manager at Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind response. I will pass on your response to all of our staff from the Front Desk to our Housekeeping staff who put 100% to ensure our guests are happy. We hope we will see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
356 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Very nice accomodations in Port Douglas. Just as shown in photos. Apartment was well appointed, but we had no view. Didn't see much of the staff as we arrived late and left early most days. Wish that beach towels would have been included and there was a bit of a problem as we even requested them and they weren't there for our departure to the reef. The pool was very nice and was quiet during our stay. I would hope that when the word "luxury" is used in the title you would take it a bit of a higher level.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacqB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My sisters, mother and I were lucky enough to have a holiday in Far North Queensland recently and stayed at the most beautiful Mandalay Apartments in Port Douglas. The 3 bedroom unit was amazing, so well appointed, faultless it had absolutely everything we needed. The location and access was perfect for our mum (92yo) as there were no stairs in or around the unit. The lush tropical gardens are stunning and wished we could have stayed longer. We could not rate our experience highly enough, wonderful, friendly team who all ensured we had a most memorable holiday, Thank You from all the Turner Family

Room Tip: 3 bedroom ground floor apartment has excellent access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandalayluxury, Front Office Manager at Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hi Turner Family,

We are so pleased we could make your holiday a special one and cater to the needs of your mum to ensure she enjoyed her time with us also. We hope to see you all again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.6 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Coconut Grove Apartments
Coconut Grove Apartments
#4 of 55 in Port Douglas
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments

Property: Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Address: Corner Garrick & Beryl Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay Port Douglas Accommodation offers luxury beachfront apartments surrounded by lush gardens, directly across from Four Mile Beach and only a five minute stroll to the centre of Port Douglas. With an exclusive walkway direct to the Four Mile Beach, Mandalay Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments offer the opportunity to relax in five star comfort. Spacious resort surroundings, tennis courts and a large swimming pool are features of the two and three bedroom luxurious holiday apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay And Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing