We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveler rating
505
31
6
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
505
31
6
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower executive villa hosts anthony and andre tropical breakfast dogs and cats balinese decor orchid room homemade jams every morning perfect hosts cane fields mossman gorge short drive private area port douglas area day bed the great barrier reef
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 552 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2020

We were so happy with our stay here. It's one of the most beautiful places we've ever been, in the rainforest right near the coast. Andre and Anthony provided wonderful hospitality and advice on our trip. Our room was beautiful, and the breakfast was great. It's very convenient to Port Douglas and all surrounding activities.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adlygree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony R, Owner at Mai Tai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and hope to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

Having escaped a horrendous experience in another resort not too far from the Mai Tai, this proved to be the perfect place for body and soul to recover and enjoy a fantastic service in lush and beautiful surroundings, Anthony and Andre were great hosts who are dye in the wool professionals with a clear focus on the well being of their guests, providing a fantastic service with a personal touch, As our hastily planned arrival fell on Christmas Day, and no shops were open within a 50km radius, they even ensured that we were properly fed and hydrated.
Our room was stunningly beautiful, clean and spacious, with every detail showing taste and the ability to second guess the needs of their guests (the Molton Brown shower gel was just what I needed at that point!). The place is close to Mossman as well as to Port Douglas, with plenty of restaurants and watering holes in its vicinity: Cairns was approximately an hour away. I can honestly say that this was one of the highlights of our trip to Australia and we'd like to say to big Thank You to the "Double A Team".

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonkraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony R, Owner at Mai Tai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Thanks guys - was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2019

I cannot commend this hotel highly enough. We were in Port Douglas for a week and decided to go for an accommodation away from the crowds. We could not be happier with our choice.

Andre and Anthony are exceptional hosts, always there to help with good insights and local stories. They are a lot of fun to talk to.

The hotel is located in the slope in the middle of the forest so it is very quiet with nature sounds. The swimming pool is very relaxing and has great views.

A car is almost essential to move around, as the nearest restaurant is in Mossman 5 km away. Breakfast is very good at the hotel and it was included for us.

The only minor downside for us was that our room could have had more light during the day. I think all the rooms have an outdoors private area though which largely makes up for the low light in the room.

Once again this was probably the best accommodation I ever had in Australia.

Room tip: The rooms with outside showers are slightly better as they don't accumulate so much water on the floor.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony R, Owner at Mai Tai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2019

Thanks Andre' - were so pleased to hear you had a fab time in the Far North - hope to see you both again - safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2019

Host 10/10
Clean 10/10
Tipps for Tours/Sightseeing 10/10
Service 10/10

A really nice resort up in the hills near Mossman/ Port Douglas. Good hints where to go and what to do or not to go and not to do. Perfect tropical breakfast with fruits and homemade jam.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank PhilippB522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony R, Owner at Mai Tai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2019

Hi Philipp & Sofia - was so nice to meet you both and a shame you couldn't stay longer. All the best with your travels in Sydney xx Anthony & Andre'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2019

We stayed at the Mai Tai resort for five nights and it was a very pleasant time there. The hotel is very nicely furnished an designed and Anthony and Andre will do everything to help you and make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Besides that, Andre speaks perfect german, which might be of interest for german visitors.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sziesche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony R, Owner at Mai Tai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2019

Many thanks Sabastian - absolute pleasure meeting you both and thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews