We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow. A wonderful, restful, paradise with outstanding customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mai Tai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mai Tai Resort
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wow. A wonderful, restful, paradise with outstanding customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife Vicki and I have just had the most relaxing and enjoyable holiday ever, thanks to the wonderful hospitality of Andre and the beautiful piece of paradise he and Anthony have so passionately created at the Mai Tai Resort.

After a lot of searching for somewhere very special, as a surprise mystery vacation to celebrate Vicki’s birthday, I eventually stumbling upon the umpteen excellent TripAdvisor reviews for the Mai Tai resort, and then booked the Orchid Suite. We couldn’t have been more thrilled with the outcome. Like so many holidaymakers before us, I was looking for somewhere different to the typical commercial resort. Mai Tai easily ticked all the boxes for us. We stayed 9 nights, but wish we stayed longer.

We love children, but we were so pleased that Mai Tai is an adults only resort so that we could truly relax and enjoy the sounds of the rainforest. We also loved the many unique features that make this resort so special, such as the amazing and authentic Balinese theme throughout, the huge comfy bed and nice pillows, the lovely views from our very private room and courtyard, the romantic outdoor (yet private) shower, the wonderful breakfasts on the terrace with spectacular views, the lovely pool area, and perhaps best of all the outstanding customer service from Andre, one of the owners. (Anthony, the other owner was away at the time of our stay, but was really helpful and patient with my many questions at the time I made the reservation). It’s so true what so many other past reviewers have said: ‘You arrive as guests and leave as friends’. It’s no wonder that Mai Tai has won so many well-deserved awards.

There are just four suites and a separate executive villa here at this resort, so it is so peaceful and secluded. The Orchid Suite is by far the best suite (in our opinion). Apart from the romantic outdoor shower, it has a huge outdoor (yet very private) courtyard and garden area with spectacular distant views. Due to the private location, we didn’t need to draw the curtains, and with the screens and fans preferred most of the time not to use the air conditioner. That way we could be gently woken in the morning with the sounds of the birds in the rainforest, at which point we’d lay on the outdoor lounges for an hour or so before breakfast, enjoying this special time of the day. We also loved lounging in the shade there at other parts of the day too. By the way, there is another suite there with an outdoor shower too, as well as two other suites with the shower inside in case you’d prefer it that way. All have their own lovely outdoor garden patio area.

Every morning Andre prepared the tastiest, healthiest, most interesting and filling ‘light’ breakfasts I think we’ve ever had. On arrival Andre will ask if you have any particular preferences or dietary requirements, and then surprise you. In our case, every morning our ‘light’ breakfast consisted of a glass of juice, a choice of cereals, a platter of about 9 or 10 different types of diced tropical fruits, yoghurt, a warm croissant and roll, and a plunger of tea or coffee. The wonderful terrace setting and views for breakfast helped breakfast time to be a great start to the day. Sometimes we’d get to meet other guests at breakfast time, or if there were just us we’d ask Andre to sit with us for a chat over breakfast. Being pet-lovers, we encouraged Andre to also bring out his lovely, huge, friendly Bernese Swiss Mountain dogs to join us too (as otherwise he tends to keep them indoors in case any of the guests might mind). Andre knows so much about the local tourist attractions and eateries that his knowledge and spot-on recommendations helped to round out our enjoyable stay here. We also found the TripAdvisor reviews for eateries and attractions to be helpful. For lunch we especially enjoyed Ospreys Restaurant at the Thala Beach Lodge (just south of Port Douglas), On the Turps Restaurant at the Heritage Lodge & Spa (in the Daintree) and the Treehouse Restaurant at the Silky Oakes Lodge (in the Mossman Gorge area). Each of these venues had fantastic views, great food, and excellent customer service. Mojos in Mossman was our favourite for dinner, though we did also enjoy dining at Nautilus and Harrisons in Port Douglas too. As a courtesy and to avoid disappointment we recommend making a reservation. Another treat we recommend (despite it being fairly expensive) is the “Flames of the Forest” Aboriginal Heritage culture evening. The illuminated forest setting, fantastic food, interesting story telling, sounds of the didgeridoo, great customer service and meeting other travellers made for a wonderful experience. Of course something involving the reef is a must too, as are self drive day-trips of the region from Kuranda in the south to Cape Trib in the north – but best of all is returning to the Mai Tai after your day’s adventures. You will of course need a car if staying at the Mai Tai, but you will appreciate the freedom a car provides for exploring anyway.

Just a minor little tip, which I learned from Andre: if your skin is a bit sensitive with respect to mozzies etc (which mine is inclined to be), use an aerosol style tropical strength insect repellent rather than a regular roll-on or non-aerosol type spray for better results. (Provided your aerosol cans are capped and declared you can apparently carry them on most domestic flights). Also, coils (lit with a match) are very effective too in the garden courtyard area. Mozzies and various other insects are a part of the tropical environment anywhere in this region – and the great outdoors in general for that matter, but with this simple preventative measure they shouldn’t spoil your amazing holiday here. Don’t forget your sunscreen either, be sure to carry water on your day trips and be careful about where you swim – the pool at the Mai Tai is the best place.

Thank you Andre and Anthony for daring to be different with the paradise you have created here. Thank you too Andre for your wonderful hospitality and friendship. We look forward to meeting you next time Anthony. Now that we have discovered Mai Tai, we hope to have the opportunity to stay there many times in the future, though as more people discover this paradise we’ll need to book well in advance – especially to get the Orchid Suite.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil_and_Vicki_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maitairesort, Manager at Mai Tai Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Neil & Vicky what more can I say than two beautiful sole's what an absolute pleasure it was to have you staying here at Mai Tai Resort. It was a delight to wake up each morning and have our chats over breakfast - two beautiful, positive happy people whom I will miss heaps. I'm hoping we will see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    28
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
365
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a really pretty boutique resort away from the usual hotels, with great views and lush greenery. Be aware some attitude problems that totally ruined it for me!
And they have 3 large dogs hanging around (st Bernard's I think) and a couple of cats- it's a small place so you can't get distance and it wasn't mentioned to us before. I'm not allergic but found the dog smell overwhelming, especially over breakfast. And the cats found their way into our room sometimes- I usually love animals!
We had to actively ask for toilet roll to be replaced each time, and they would sigh and give us one roll. they kept re-arranging our things and towels etc when we asked them not to, and then had a go at us for not folding our towels neatly on the hand rail?! They also 'told us off' for leaving a lamp on, and other petty things.
Me and my friend felt patronised by them, and they commented and judged us quite a bit. I noticed they treated couples with more respect and didn't comment or judge them in the same way.
I also got really sick whilst I was there with gastro, and they we're very unhelpful and flippant, making a joke about how weak I was after I fainted.the usual banter is one thing but these guys were not putting their customer service skills into practise!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
14 Thank EbbsAndFlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for 3 nights! This resort is truly unique in every way, right from the friendly host, to the rooms, pool and the views over breakfast.

Andre is the most gracious host tending to your every need. He welcomes you personally and gets to know each and every guest. This personal service allows him to recommend activities suited specifically for you such as which reef cruise to take or rainforest trip to do.

The rooms are beautifully appointed with the best furnishings. There is attention to detail in everything. The 4 post beds are just luxury.

The pool area is special, we had the pool to ourselves on each visit. The views are stunning and there are plenty of sun loungers and even a cabana to relax in.

The breakfast with fresh fruit, bread, croissants etc... is excellent not to mention the breathtaking view while you are eating.

If you want to get away from it all in a peaceful and tranquil setting, would thoroughly recommend! Way better than any of the big resorts! Can't wait to come back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dach1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I've been meaning to come back to trip advisor to write this as I couldn't recommend this place enough. My Fiance and I stayed for 3 nights in October and had the BEST time. We chose Mai Tai Resort based on the fantastic reviews here and we were delighted. Andre and Anthony were the most welcoming hosts and made us feel right at home. We stayed in one of the deluxe suites with the outdoor shower (Loved it). The view was amazing and the breakfast and room were perfect. The attention to detail at Mai Tai sets it apart from other '5 star' establishments. Absolutely exceeded out expectations and we cannot wait to return! Perfect place to unwind.

Room Tip: Go the Deluxe suites, you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andie_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed 4 nights and loved it. Was debating between here and a couple of the larger 5 star places but this was just sooo cool. Loved the fantastic view with brekky and in fact usually sat out there with a few drinks after returning back for the day to chat with Anthony and Andre, who were awesome hosts. Rooms were gorgeous and clean. Would stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend them to anyone going up that way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquaticaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I loved our stay here - we were there for 4 nights. The whole place is beautifully stylish and the beds really comfortable. The view from the veranda is breathtaking and overall it's perfect for those looking for somewhere peaceful, calm and secluded.
Andre and Anthony are wonderful hosts and so helpful in terms of recommendations for tours, restaurants etc.
You do definitely need a car but that comes as expected with the uniqueness and seclusion of the location. As long as you are prepared to drive to restaurants for dinner each evening it's totally worth it.
Also - we love animals so the cats and dogs were a big plus! But probably something to consider if you have bad allergies as I know some people do (but they are never in the rooms etc, just the outside veranda area).
Overall we loved it, and would definitely recommend it to anyone.
Thank you Andre and Anthony for a wonderful stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank auntierach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

There is not a lot to add to what has already been said. Small, quiet and excellent.
Andre and Anthony were away for our first three days, but Dave, their stand-in, was excellent. Nothing was to much trouble.

If you want peace and quiet, charm and a fantastic view with your breakfast look no further.

The only criticisms I have relates to maintenance. Guys, check the room for sticking doors and the shower room cupboard top could do with varnishing. Picky I know, but to be the best etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edcullatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
5.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#2 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Tai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Tai Resort

Property: Mai Tai Resort
Address: 292 Mossman-Mt Molloy Rd | Cassowary, Port Douglas, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mai Tai Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai Tai is a small adults only boutique Resort / Retreat set in the Port Douglas Hinterlands just 10 minutes North from the Port Douglas entrance. - With only 6 rooms - 2 Superior Rooms / 2 Deluxe Rooms and One 2 bedroom Executive Villa it's sure to guarantee you privacy and excellent service. Mai Tai commands some of the most spectacular views within the region across the Rainforest towards Thornton's Peak and the Coral Coast. With our high altitude you can always be guaranteed of peaceful days and cool breezes. Mai Tai is the perfect location away from the hustle and bustle of big cities, traffic and people offering a stress free environment and total relaxation. Mai Tai is within easy reach of beautiful beaches, fine dining, shopping and all local tours and attractions the region has to offer. This exclusive retreat caters for a maximum of only 12 discerning guests at any one time. Consisting of four romantic Balinese influenced rooms (2 Superior / 2 Deluxe), which have been carefully designed with hand carved furnishings and fittings from around Asia. Plus our Exclusive 2 bedroom Executive Villa set high above the Mai Tai Resort - Hidden amongst the Rainforest with it's own private plunge pool. Escape to Paradise and discover our hidden treasure, amidst the mountains, with cool sea breeze while relaxing around the saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mai Tai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Tai Hotel Port Douglas
Mai Tai Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing