We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mai Tai Resort
Nearby Hotels
Pink Flamingo(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Links Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$110
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Boutique Hotel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$293
$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oaks Lagoons(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$118
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Heritage(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$150
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
QT Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$146
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saltwater Luxury Apartments(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$401
$363
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Port Douglas Motel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$85
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meridian Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$143
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveler rating
448
29
6
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
448
29
6
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerexecutive villaanthony andrebalinese styledogs and catsboutique retreatlotus suiteevery morningperfect hostscane fieldsdaintree rainforestnearby portguest roomsshort drivefresh fruitprivate areathe breakfast area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 493 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We found Mai Tai the most relaxing environment of all the places we stayed in Australia with a special unique atmosphere of its own. Anthony and Andre could not have been more welcoming or helpful and guided us onto some tours that were especially suitable to us which we would not have found by ourselves. We would have liked to have stayed longer - but understandably Mai Tai was heavily booked.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maitairesort, Owner at Mai Tai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Hi Sam & Anne, sorry to hear its grey and raining back in the UK... hopefully we'll see you both back in the tropics soon. Many thanks for chosen to stay with us it was fun having you both here and sorry we couldn't accommodate you for your full stay, but I know Susie & Leo would have looked after you. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in the Villa at Mai Tai Resort for 10 days! I can't emphasise enough how much we truly enjoyed our stay here!!

Andre and Anthony are the most wonderful and obliging hosts that you will ever meet! Right from our arrival to when we sadly had to leave, they were always there to ensure that all our needs were met. They even go above and beyond in their hosting duties.......as an example we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary during our stay, and they surprised us with a beautiful bottle of champagne and a card in our villa to help us celebrate - such a beautiful gesture.They are both a wealth of knowledge on the area, and were so helpful in advising the best restaurants and day trips which helped in making our stay extra special.

The villa...........this has to be the most luxurious accommodation in all of the Port Douglas area! So beautifully appointed and well presented. The willa is huge! The view from the villa is so gorgeous and we loved sitting on our verandah enjoying the views and listening to all the wildlife amongst us! With the villa being set at the back of the property, you have complete privacy and we felt like we were in a world of our own! The plunge pool was beautiful (although the water was just a tad cold at this time of year) we still enjoyed the privilege of having our own pool. The kitchen is self contained and was equipped with all the mod cons you would need. The shower is just huge - a room for itself, and something to see! The bed was very comfortable and the Thai theme throughout the villa (and resort) is so elegantly presented and makes you feel very relaxed and like you're a world away!!

After seeing how the main street in Port Douglas is so commercialised, we were so glad we picked Mai Tai resort for our accommodation! If you're after relaxation, tranquility and a place away from the hustle and bustle to help you chill out, then this is the place to stay! You wont be disappointed! You will need a car, as Mai Tai is about a ten minute drive from Port Douglas and it's amenities. But that didn't bother us and was well worth it when you get to escape to a place like Mai Tai.

We were very sad when our stay came to an end, but we sincerely thank to Andre and Anthony for making our stay so memorable and extra special, and we will definitely be back if we visit the tropics again!

I highly recommend Mai Tai, and by looking at all the other reviews you will see I'm not the only one - stop thinking about it - just do it!! You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maitairesort, Owner at Mai Tai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Hey Garry and Mary ... many thanks for your wonderful review and it was an absolute pleasure having you both here to celebrate your special 30th Anniversary. We miss you both too and hope to see you again at Mai Tai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We just wanted to sincerely thank our hospitable hosts Anthony and Andre for the most beautiful and relaxing 6 nights at Mai Tai Resort. To be nestled amidst the tropical rainforest and to receive such welcoming and warm service, made our getaway truly blissful. Highlights for us were enjoying our tropical brekky outdoors each morning, greeted by morning calls of wildlife and soaking up the most breathtaking views. PRIVATE, PEACEFUL, PARADISE! We really also loved the outdoor shower! Being our first time in Port Douglas, Anthony and Andre offered us local knowledge and advice on the best restaurants, tours and sightseeing. They took care of all bookings with genuine care and attention to detail, and we were blown away by all of our experiences. To spend a full day exploring this beautiful part of our country, and then to drive back through the gates of our slice of serenity at Mai Tai was unbeatable. Thank you again and we’ll be back with the fam!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SophiaKatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maitairesort, Owner at Mai Tai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Many thanks Phillip & Yvonne - it is us who have to thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mai Tai - we are so thankful to have such wonderful guests and thank you so much for the lovely bottle of Moet. We hope to welcome you both back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

What a gem this place really is. An idyllic setting away from tourist hustle and bustle. The sights have to be seen to be believed. We had a few problems on entry to Oz so were almost 2 days late on arrival to Mai Tai, we were so sorry to be leaving so soon as it is such a special place. Andre and Anthony are great guys and helped us out enormously with our baggage problems (another story but suffice to say that they took care of our problem so that we could make the most of what little time we had left) and they are genuinely decent people with the guests interests at heart. The room felt unique and had a great sense of the personal touch, wish we could have stayed longer...next time we are in Australia we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maitairesort, Owner at Mai Tai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Hi Mat & Katherine many thanks for your review ... what with all the problems you guys had with delayed flights and lost luggage and you still managed to smile and have a wonderful time and we totally enjoyed having you both here with us at Mai Tai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Mai Tai understandably receives top rating in Port Douglas. As a frequent traveller to Bali, I was especially looking forward to staying at this 'Bali style mountain retreat'. It's beautifully appointed with amazing attention to detail - gorgeous colours and treasures from Indonesia everywhere. The gardens are lovely and the general ambience is one of tropical style. Most importantly, Andre and Anthony are fabulous hosts and nothing is too much trouble - eg it was no trouble at all to get cutlery and crockery for in room use and they were always ready to offer local advice and to chat about their resort. I really appreciated little touches like fresh coffee with plunger in the room. The ample continental breakfast is served on a terrace with lovely views. We felt very much 'at home' during our 5 day stay and, booking a few weeks before our stay, it was terrific value for money. We hope to return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrequentFlyer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maitairesort, Owner at Mai Tai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Hi Vicki & Philip glad to see your both home safe n sound and thank you for taking the time to place this wonderful review in. We are so blessed to have such wonderful people staying with us at Mai Tai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews