We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What else can I say?”
Review of Mai Tai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mai Tai Resort
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“What else can I say?”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The boys are friendly, professional and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable.

Every time we returned from an outing we were greeted like VIPs at the front stairs. They went out one evening for a well deserved break and even left me a phone message apologising because they wouldn't be there on our return to make sure we were ok ! Hows that for service !

A light breakfast every morning in beautiful surrounds was a great start to the day, it's fresh and healthy. Certainly if you want to eat large for brekky, there's no shortage of food. It's just not piles of greasy bacon and eggs.
Its the small touches like this that make it a wonderful, personable place to stay.

If I have one small complaint, our room had no blind on the rear doors so whilst it was wonderful to wake to the tropical view, it was hard (for us anyway) to sleep in after sunrise. Having said that, if I had asked I'm sure the boys would have fixed something up. Silly me for not asking.

If you're after something special and a little different, with a great personal touch to make you feel special, you won't be disappointed. It's boutique and it's beautiful.
I really can't say anything more than others here have already said, read the other reviews and make up your own mind.

Room Tip: If you can afford the new villa up the back, it's all class. Go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rroger_rramjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    28
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
24
368
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

What can I say that hasn't been said? Staying at Mai Tai is an amazing experience that anyone would be foolish to miss out on. From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave you are made to feel special and not like just another guest. My husbands birthday fell on one of the days we stayed at Mai Tai, on arriving back after a day out we were greeted with a lovely bottle of champagne on ice. What a treat! All the wonderful aspects of Mai Tai have been covered in previous reviews, the breakfasts, the views, the peace, the atmosphere, the rooms, the lovely dogs and last but not least the amazing hosts, Andre and Anthony. I totally agree with all these positive reviews and can't really add much more to them other than to thank our hosts once again for a totally amazing three days full of relaxation and quite a few laughs. We have stayed in many really nice places all over Australia, and other parts of the world, and have come away talking about how nice they were but not thought about them again, nearly one month after our stay at Mai Tai we are still reliving our stay and talking with friends and family about our awesome experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Of the three places we stayed at in Port Douglas, this was by far the best.
Spectacular views, fresh and healthy breakfasts, decor in rooms sublime, wonderful hosts and the ambience addictive. Will definitely be back.
Was very surprised to read the negative comment posted earlier, so pleased we chose to ignore it.
Loved, loved , loved the dogs!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SydneyZamboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel/resort - its different, luxurious and you will not regret it!!!

Stuff you need to know to go with it:
Andre and Anthony are great hosts along with their friendly pets - pick their brains for tour and restaurant tips.
Mai Tai is out of town so you need a car - worth the sacrifice.
Free Wifi just to keep you in touch with the real world from paradise and make your friends jealous.
Continental breakfast is delicious.

Fully agree with every other 5 star review but in summary this place is amazing!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kev_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Mai Tai is located a short distance from Port Douglas on the Mosman/Mt Malloy Road on the side of a mountain surrounded by lush rain forest. You will need a car if you are going to stay here and need to accept that if you go out for a meal in the evening one of you is going to have to stay sober. However this disadvantage is more than offset by the sheer peace and tranquility that you would not get in Port Douglas itself.

The entrance is a little difficult to spot at first. We called in advance and were advised to measure exactly 2.7km from the Mt Malloy turnoff. Access is via a steep track up to a small car park and the resort itself. As soon as you step out the car you are greeted with fantastic views and the sounds of the rain forest.

Andre and Anthony are great hosts and we were made to feel immediately welcome. Andre in particular spent considerable time listening to what we were interested in and then advising us on trips and activities. He happily booked all our tours and arranged restaurant bookings whenever we asked him to. The restaurant recommendations were spot on!

The rooms are very unique and all the furnishings have been personally sourced from Bali. The rooms are spacious, clean and very private. The beds are extremely comfortable and feature a decorative curtain. A small sofa is positioned in front of a large TV complete with DVD player. Anthony and Andre gladly let us into their private quarters to borrow a selection of DVDs (very welcome to anyone who has experienced Aussie TV). There is an en-suite toilet and basin. The shower is actually located outside in the room's private garden area under a canopy. This is quite an experience and feels great. Don't be surprised to see a few sunbirds trying to fight with their reflection in the mirror by the shower. There are no glass windows to the rooms but there are shutters that can be closed and all the openings have mesh vents to keep the beasties out. There is aircon but unless its really hot we would advise simply using the room fan and keeping the shutters open so that you can enjoy the wonderful night-time sounds coming from the jungle.

Breakfast is served on the veranda where you can sit and watch the morning mist slowly clearing over the hills with distant views out to the sea. The tropical breakfast is delicious and includes fruit, yoghurt, cereals, croissants etc.

There are two resident dogs (plus a visitor) and cats. Andre asked if we had an issue with them. Despite one of us having a pet allergy this was not a problem. The dogs are very docile and do not jump up at you, nor are they allowed in guest rooms. The only contact we had was in the outside area. You might also spot the odd snake or lizard hanging around - all part of the rain forest experience.

The swimming pool is small but adequate and like the rest of the resort has views over the forest. No-body else seemed to use it apart from us anyway.

Overall this was a very memorable experience and such a contrast after staying in the heart of Sydney. There are a small number of negative reviews on here but they seem to be based on false expectations. Although it's called a resort don't expect cabaret, bingo and poolside games. This is a quiet retreat. Our advice would be for anyone to be clear about what they are looking for. This is a small business, that delivers personal service and in their own words is a niche resort. If you fit that niche you will not want to leave!

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you only like bland, corporate rooms cut off from the outside environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlanClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. Andre and Anthony were very helpful in recommending tours as it was our first time in Port Douglas. The room we stayed in was very clean and stylish. The views from the mountain/rain forest was amazing and a great alternative to the usual water views you see in coastal resorts. They also had 2 of the friendliest dogs (well 1 really friendly and 1 i'd say very calm) around. I'd definitely recommend Mai Tai to any couples who are looking for a great stay in Port Douglas.
Just a tip: Remember that it is 2.8km from the turn off from the main road as we did miss the sign to the resort

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We've just returned from staying at Mai Tai for 3 nights.
Its a lovely Balinese style retreat with amazing views across the surrounding rainforest.
Dispite the name (and as their website makes clear) this is not a large impersonal resort, but rather an intimate, tranquil retreat - away from the hubub of the coastal resorts - while still being close enough to make the most of the area.
Anthony and Andre were perfect hosts, providing a wealth of local information and really made our stay there very special - always willing to help or give advice.
They clearly have an eye for detail and interior design, and their collection of Balinese furnishings is exquisite.
Our room was spotless - crisp white sheets and towels, with our own private outside space in the garden.
Breakfast was great - a range of fresh fruits, yoghurt, fresh warm croissants and conserves. A range of cereals and breads available all served with a cafetiere of fresh coffee or tea. Eating our breakfast on the veranda with its amazing views over the rainforest and watching the honey birds flitting from flower to flower was a magical experience.
Port Douglas is only a 10 min drive away - with lots of good restaurants (and amazing sunsets on the waterfront).
Would we stay there again?
Absolutely!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
5.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Tai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Tai Resort

Property: Mai Tai Resort
Address: 292 Mossman-Mt Molloy Rd | Cassowary, Port Douglas, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mai Tai Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai Tai is a small adults only boutique Resort / Retreat set in the Port Douglas Hinterlands just 10 minutes North from the Port Douglas entrance. - With only 6 rooms - 2 Superior Rooms / 2 Deluxe Rooms and One 2 bedroom Executive Villa it's sure to guarantee you privacy and excellent service. Mai Tai commands some of the most spectacular views within the region across the Rainforest towards Thornton's Peak and the Coral Coast. With our high altitude you can always be guaranteed of peaceful days and cool breezes. Mai Tai is the perfect location away from the hustle and bustle of big cities, traffic and people offering a stress free environment and total relaxation. Mai Tai is within easy reach of beautiful beaches, fine dining, shopping and all local tours and attractions the region has to offer. This exclusive retreat caters for a maximum of only 12 discerning guests at any one time. Consisting of four romantic Balinese influenced rooms (2 Superior / 2 Deluxe), which have been carefully designed with hand carved furnishings and fittings from around Asia. Plus our Exclusive 2 bedroom Executive Villa set high above the Mai Tai Resort - Hidden amongst the Rainforest with it's own private plunge pool. Escape to Paradise and discover our hidden treasure, amidst the mountains, with cool sea breeze while relaxing around the saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Mai Tai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Tai Hotel Port Douglas
Mai Tai Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing