We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Far From Four Mile Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Reef Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reef Club Resort
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not Far From Four Mile Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at the Reef Club resort in June for 10 days. Two couples, all of us over 55. The 2 bedroom apartment on the top floor had a good aspect over the internal gardens and pool area. However, it was on the small size for 4 people so thank goodness we all got on well together especially as there was only 1 bathroom to share! The apartment was clean; the beds comfortable as was the sofa once we had used the cushions found on the beds but the overall ambience was that of "average". The kitchen was adequate but we felt that a few extra things could have been provided, like some storage containers and certainly more than four forks and four knives and one salad server? A little more care and attention to the overall decor could really lift the standard to "very good". We did find that the apartment block could be a little bit noisey with the shutting of apartment doors as well as loud children in the pool area and garden which seemed to be amplified between the 2 buildings that make up the complex. The lights on the balconies and the garden/bbq area go out at 9.30pm so noise is less of a problem later at night. The one big negative is that guests are allowed to smoke on the balconies. We enjoyed the fact that it was not far to walk from the Reef Club Resort to the beach. It was great to walk to town this way or walk to the flags for a swim or in the other direction for a bit of exercise. The view from the walkway up the side of the hill at the "town" end of the beach was absolutely beautiful and well worth the effort. Some may find the location a little far away from the town but as we are all walkers this did not bother us. We did not find the walk arduous which took approx 7 or 8 minutes to the start of Macrossan Street. Perhaps at hotter times of the year this could be a problem.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor (third floor) have a more "open" aspect but bear in mind that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeatPackage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefclub64, Manager at Reef Club Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear NeatPackage - We are so glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay at the Reef Club and those energetic walks up to the spectacular lookout ! We would love to welcome you back to the Reef Club and if you feel short of anything in the kitchen or the room - be sure to ask - we have plenty of everything you could need to make sure you can whip up a storm in the kitchen or by the BBQ on your nights off from the fab restaurants in the village.
Many of rooms have been undergoing make overs and by your next visit - this should be throughout the resort but they do and will still be great value. Regards - the Reef Club Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    84
    42
    16
    13
See reviews for
85
61
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here in April and enjoyed the Reef Club. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I loved the gardens and the pool area, it's a great place to cool down after a day of sightseeing. The apartment was nice and breakfast on the balcony a good way to start the day. It is a ten minute walk from the main shopping/entertainment strip. Just far enough away to be peaceful and quiet at night.
I would recomend the Reef Club for couples or families looking for a nice place to stay in Port Douglas

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefclub64, Manager at Reef Club Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Hiya Beedub, Location Location, Location - we agree our spot so close to the beach and the village of Port Douglas is hard to beat - especialy when you grab a great spot by the pool to sunbake and stare up at the several different palm tree species onsite :) hanks so much for taking the time to share your kind words - especially for our staff. Regards - The Reef Club Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We have just arrrived home from our family holiday to Port Douglas were we stayed at the Reef Club Resort and I have to say we couldnt have been happier. From the time we arrived the service was great the friendly staff were more than happy to help us out with any requests we had and were also very upto date with all current tours that were on offer - The room was excellent great size and very clean and comfiortable. We have a 2 year old so the BBQ area and Pool was a huge + for us. all around a great holiday and we will definatly be going back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MichaelLL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefclub64, Manager at Reef Club Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Hey MichaelLL2012 - WOW - it was so great to read your helpful review for families staying at the Reef Club. Thanks for taking the time to write - it always makes our day :) Hope to see your family back relaxing around our pool again sometime. Regards - the Reef Club Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had a great stay here, the staff were very helpful, the pool was great and had pretty much everything we needed.
We had unit 8, which was very clean, didn't have any mildew smell as some reviewers have mentioned, so maybe we were lucky!
I guess the only downside to the room was the bathroom fittings were a bit old, but everything was clean and worked fine.
One other little issue really was when drying washing on the airdrier on the balcony, because we were close to the BBQ area, your clothes ended up smelling of BBQ. There are washers and driers in the laundry, which is situated in the carpark below, which is $3 a time.

It was a little drive into town, but there was also a regular shuttle bus that pulled up outside the resort and dropped you into town for about $3 I think, (we didn't use it, but our neighbours did and they said it was great), which is ideal if you fancy having a couple of drinks or don't feel like driving.

We did have some inconsiderate guests one night that decided to have a laugh and a joke at the tops of their voices, out on their balcony above us, at 3am, so we asked them to keep it down and we mentioned this to reception in the morning and they said we should have called them and they would have sorted it out, as they are there for you 24/7, which was very good, and they had a word with the room occupants that day and we never heard a peep after that.

This place was ideal for our family, great pool, close to the beach, not far from town and most of all, nice and quiet, I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We had unit 8, which was close to the BBQ, which was ideal for cooking your food, but could get a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefclub64, Manager at Reef Club Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Carrob1 - it was so kind of you to make time to review the Reef Club and our team are delighted you had a good time and they were able to assist you throughout your stay.
We would love to see you back in the beautiful topics again soon - remember to contact us directl to get the best returning guest deal available. Regards - the Reef Club Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

The nicest thing I can say about this place is that the staff were friendly and tried to please. This is no four star resort, although some units are better than others judging by these reviews. My first impression of unit 8 was the overwhelming stink of mildew. I know it's the tropics, but this was just too much of a health concern for me to stay there. Forget opening the place up to air, as there are no insect screens on any of the units. Next we were shown a unit in Tower 2 which didn't smell of mildew, but had builders at work in the unit above and the same sorry furniture. We ended up staying in a third unit, which had newer furniture and less stink. There is no dining table inside, so expect to eat with your plate on your lap unless you want to brave the mossies outside on your balcony. Water pressure in the shower was very poor and the kitchen provisions are extremely basic. Laundry facilities are provided in the basement carpark, but you have to pay to use washers and dryers. If the place had a 2 or 3 star rating, you'd be satisfied. But if you are expecting 4 star, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Rooms
Helpful?
5 Thank 807Anna_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefclub64, Manager at Reef Club Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear 807Anna-B - We were sorry to hear you were disapointed with your stay at the Reef Club and trust that our team did endeavour to make you comfortable.
We do feel that it is incorrect to state the rooms have mildew in them and there are many other reviews complimenting the cleanliness of our rooms. The tropics do have a certain air about them and a closed a room will benefit from being opened up if you are especially sensitive.
The kitchens have AAA standard supplies of crockery, cutlery, saucepans, frypans, utencils and servingwear. If there is something inparticular missing - it can usually be swiftly replaced or sourced if requested from our onsite team.
I've not received poor feedback regarding waterpressure before - so I can only assume this was temporary & was remedied.
The resort was awarded a 4 star rating by AAA in December so we are confident in our stars.
Regards - the Reef Club Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Douglas hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Good clean quite accommodation with a nice pool.
Staff are very helpful!
The 1 bed has everything you need and is quite spacious.
Modern bathroom.
Nice bed.
We payed $307 for 4 nights in a 1 bedroom in Mid December so well worth it. Given the walk in and out of town I wouldnt pay more than $100 a night unless you have your own car.

Downfalls
- during jellyfish season the walk to swim in the ocean is a fast 10 minutes.
- if you dont have a car the town can be quite far away (especially for disable or with a family) supermarket is 15 minutes walk along main road with no footpath.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JS5071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefclub64, Manager at Reef Club Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Hi JS5071 - thanks for your great comments for the Reef Club and that really special 'low season' deal you enjoyed. Just to clarify for other travellers - there actually is a footpath all the way into town and also out of town on the opposite side of the road to the resort - where you also can jump on the local shuttle bus which runs in and out of town every 15 minutes. Outside of stinger season Reef Cub guests - love that the beach is just 100m out the back door of the resort where you can jump right in or head of on a walk of gorgeous Four Mile Beach. So glad you had a great sleep here too :) Regards - the Reef Club Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter in February 2012. When we first arrived, I was a little disappointed, and I am not even sure why. The property is a bit older, and our view was of a buidling across the parking lot... but there were palm trees. By the time we left, I was more than pleased. It is by no means a first class property, but it is clean and comfortable and the staff is very accommodating. I especially loved our walk into "town" every evening. It offered everything we needed, although sometimes you have to ask. It is simple, and inviting, and I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Port Douglas. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myoyster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reefclub64, Manager at Reef Club Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Hi Myoyster2 - thanks for taking some time out to give the Reef Club your big "thumbs up" - it is so rewarding for our hardworking team to know you had a greeat time here. We agree that our location so close to the beach and town, our super friendly & helpful crew and our clean great value rooms are the perfect base to explore the beautiful tropical Far North. We hope you can visit us again. Regards - the Reef Club Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
2.1 mi away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#35 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#18 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#23 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Villas Resort
Bay Villas Resort
#25 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#24 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Club Resort

Property: Reef Club Resort
Address: 62-64 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#29 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing the perfect base to explore the nearby Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, Reef Club Resort offers quality 4 Star accommodation in an excellent location. Reef Club is just a minute's walk from the world famous 4 Mile Beach and a 10 min stroll from the vibrant Cafes, Bars and Restaurants of Macrossan St. The self-contained apartments have a rustic Mediterranean feel with terracotta floors, timber louvers and earthy tones reflecting the tropical style of North Queensland. Offering one and two bedroom apartments, Reef Club is the perfect getaway for couples and families. After a day taking in the sights and sounds of the many Port Douglas attractions and tours, Reef Club provides a private ambience and cool retreat in the tropics. Surrounded by tropical foliage and shady palms the swimming pool and outdoor spa is the perfect place to bask in the tropical sun or have a barbeque where you can enjoy fresh local seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Club Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing