We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and accomodation”
Review of Regal Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regal Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Seaford, East Sussex
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent location and accomodation”
Reviewed February 12, 2006

We stayed at the Regal for seven nights at the end of a trip around Australia and it was a fantastic place to stay. The accommodation was excellent, everything you could want in an apartment; the staff were friendly and very helpful; and the location was perfect. We would recommend these apartments without a second thought and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cazeejackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    123
    28
    13
    6
See reviews for
44
209
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 8, 2005

We chose to stay at the Regal after many hours of contemplation and we knew we had made the right decision as soon as we checked in. The apartment is spacious with all the neccessary living requirements you need whether your staying a few days or longer, i.e, washer and dryer, fridge, microwave and stovetop, plus crockery, cutlery and cable T.V. The room was also airconditioned with ceiling fans which is vital in the heat of Tropical north Queensland. We had a balcony with a jacuzzi which was very private due to wooden venetian blinds and shutters all round (though you can actually open these like doors if you wish). The location was fantastic also, a five minute walk to 4 mile beach and a two minute walk to the shops, and the pool at the resort, though small, was very private and comfortable. There were not too many people staying at the resort at this time and no children that we were aware of, making this place ideal for honeymooners and couples, there is also free internet access in the lounge downstairs. The staff were extremely accommodating, friendly and relaxed and organised all our tours for us; i don't believe iv'e stayed at a resort with better staff.
If your looking for some peace and quiet but don't want to be staying in the middle of nowhere, i urge you to stay at The Regal, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2005

The Regal is in a great location-right by the main street in Port Douglas and only a 2 minute walk to the beach. Our first impression when walking into the apartment was "wow"! It was very spacious and clean, there was a lovely large bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and a very powerful shower (a bit too powerful-the water did tend to spray everywhere if you weren't careful!) The bedroom has air conditioning which was needed and there were ceiling fans in the bedroom and main linving area which helped keep it cool. The kitchen had a couple of hobs, microwave, toaster and kettle and was well equipped with pots and pans and cutlery etc... There is a large supermarket 5 minute walk away. Also useful was a large washing machine and dryer which was great after 2 weeks of travelling in other parts of Australia.

The front desk was extremely helpful in planning tours-they had been on alot of them and so had an honest opinion and even advised self drive options with maps and a detailed itinerary if you needed it. They could book the tour up there and then, chraging it to your room. There is even a lovely lounge if you are waiting for a flight or tour which has free internet access and a selection of books and magazines you can borrow throughout your holiday.

We loved our stay at the Regal, it was the nicest hotel of our holiday.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank aust2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2005

I stayed here with my fiancé back in February 2005, what a fantastic resort! The rooms are very spacious and the shower is big enough to hold a party in.
We had a 1 bedroom apartment with Jacuzzi on the balcony, a fantastic room with everything you need; my only regret is not staying longer.
We have our honeymoon due August 2006 and we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CABUTLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2005

We stayed at the Regal Resort in February 2005, and I've just been reading through the reviews on this page, out of interest, to ascertain if other travellers enjoyed the place as much as we did?

I don't normally write reviews. However, this place has come under critisism slightly, in one of the reviews and it's clearly a one off bad experience, given the glowing reports in all the other reviews. Please don't let that put you off, we had a wonderful time here.

Yes there is no lift (although there may be one now, as we travelled earlier this year and they were making plans for the installation of one?).

However, if you read the earlier reviews carefully, this is mentioned.

Also, yes, the pool area isn't huge but the photos on the hotel website clearly show that.
With the beach a ten minute walk away, who cares? If you want an infinity pool to olympic size proportions, then choose a chain like The Royal Meridian or The Radisson!

The location of these apartments is wonderful, the size fabulous and they are spotlessly clean.

We travel the world regularly and have the priviledge of staying in some of the most luxurious hotels. Sometimes even the top hotels can't accomodate your every need, due to being fully booked.

These apartments are, in our opinion, extremely good value for money and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JSWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 20, 2005

Stayed 7 nights. Had previously tried to get into the Radisson but are now glad we were diverted to the Regal. The hotel is nicely located around a corner from the quiet end of Macrossan, with most rooms, certainly ours, located on a quiet street (a few are over Macrossan shops). This combination of being in town but being in a quiet and very comfortable hotel 3 mins from the beach is a winner - most people have to rely on shuttle buses. The rooms are large and comfortable - we had a double unit which was fine for 2 parents and 2 teenagers, with the benefit of 2 TVs! Rooms can be a bit dark in the afternoon as most face east, but this is a minor problem. Altogether would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
930 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#5 of 55 in Port Douglas
960 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#6 of 55 in Port Douglas
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Port Douglas

Property: Regal Port Douglas
Address: 51 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regal Port Douglas is ideally situated just off the main street of Port Douglas, this 4 star property boasts spacious, well appointed apartments at excellent value. Situated at the quieter end of Macrossan St, and just a short stroll to Four Mile Beach, Marina Mirage and the Sunday Markets. Regal has a solar heated lagoon pool, BBQ, free internet in the transit lounge, plenty of free car parking available, a conference room seating 8-10 persons, 24/7 checkin available and stair access only to all 3 levels.With a variety of accommodation options on offer, the Studio's have tea, coffee & toaster facilities only, suitable for the short stay with laundry available in the garage. All 1 & 2 Bedroom Apartments are self contained with Microwave, hotplates (pots & pans), washing machine and dryer, separate bedroom to living and dining areas and balcony. All units have balconies, AUSTAR, wireless internet (payable), and offering the true Port Douglas experience at an affordable price and for a tropical holiday in Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regal Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing