We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra in the Village
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We weren't sure what to expect with this mantra but were pleasantly surprised when we found our room clean, neat and pre-cooled! The bathroom was a good size and clean. There was a bit of dust but I'm not fussed about that. The balcony was cute, though the view was just of the street. The pool was gorgeous and clean.
My only complaint would be that reception hours are very limited and it seemed unattended even when open. we had to call someone to come down for us to check out at 10am! She was very friendly though. Location was great, easy walk anywhere. We got 3 nights for thw price of 2 and I would say that it was great value for money.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    69
    35
    20
    7
See reviews for
48
81
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Caboolture, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed in room 17 on first floor. Spa was nice but water continually leaked down the drain so had to keep the tap running.Could not get the cooktop to work. Compendium needs to inform novices like us that an isolating swich at entry needs to be pushed down to activate the A/C and cooktop. When we told reception the stove didn't work they sent a maintenance man who said they would have to call an electrician, After a few more days with no action, no stove, and no electric fry pan (eating salads) we accidently worked out that the cooktop is isolated by that switch at the entry. No one could tell us that, nor was there any info in the compendium. As declared luxury units, the ceiling fans in the bedroom and living room look terrible: corroded, and dirty. Not good when looking up from the bed.
Wooden slats on bedroom door and internal window were dusty with lint. Reception need to be reminded to to re-energise patron's access cards when patrons extend their stay. We returned from a day out to find we were locked out of our room; just got to the reception before they closed at 4:30. Don't know what would have happened if we had arrived later that night. Other than this negativity we mostly enjoyed our stay because of the central location, but for the four star price, management need to renew the compendium, upgrade worn out fittings and keep staff informed about technical issues.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room facing the street not the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi Sarah M.

I am glad that enjoyed the convenience that Mantra In The Village has to offer.

Apologies for the electrical issues you had during your stay.
I have followed up to ensure that staff are aware of the easy fix to the issue.
Thnk you for letting me know and please remember that we always have 24 hour after hours service should you evr have an issue. Just ring through on the phone located. at reception.

Let me know when you are looking at returning to Port and i would love to personally organise the booking for you.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Spent 6 nights here in a 2 bedroom apartment on the second floor. The rooms were quite spartan but comfortable with each room having its own bathroom. We did not pay for additional cleaning We felt the apartment had not been cleaned properly at the start of our stay.

However, the reception were very helpful in all matters including booking excursions, providing additional items such as replacement towels and kitchen provisions. The pool was small but we able to use the pool at the Heritage next door which was much bigger.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay due to the excellent location right in the heart of Port Douglas but could not really justify the price paid for the apartment when daily servicing is not included.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hi Roger767.

Thank you for your feedback.
I am glad you anjoyed your stay with us and found our friendly staff able to book all our great local tours.

All Mantra In The Village units do not include a daily service but can be booked for a minimal cost during your stay.
Please always feel free to advise us of any cleaning issues when you check in next time as we will be more than happy to address any issues immediately.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in a large two bedroom apartment,even the the second bedroom had a kitchenette. Both rooms had spa baths and balconys.In the main room was a microwave, hotplates and all basic kitchen equipment, more than adequet for self catering. Tbags, soaps etc readily replaced by reception on request. There is an underground carpark, although it was not secure while we were there. The pool is a bit odd a grecian/roman theme with a waterfall, adequet but not fantastic. Good BBQ by the pool. A lift went from the basement carpark to the second floor.A laundry is available on the second floor. Our room faced toward the pool, although it was generally quiet noise carried from other rooms. Coles supermarket is convenient, just around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamnothome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I should have read more into this 'resort' before I booked, because at $220 a night I expected a serviced room. I would have liked a fresh towel and made bed each day but couldn't justify paying $31 a day for the service (not when I could buy a new set of towels and a few toiletries at that price). I'm not sure if it's considered as self catering because we only had a kettle and a few tea cups and glasses. So it's not all that practical if you want to do a shop at Coles for breakfast items, because there's nothing to eat with.

The walls are also a little thin - I actually woke up on the first morning to hear the person next door stirring their tea cup and pouring their cereal. I thought of mentioning this at the time but throught it wouldn't make a difference - the building structure would be the same everywhere else.

Having said that, it is in a very convenient spot right in the middle of town where either the beach or the marina was a short 10 minute walk in each direction. It's definitely not a noisy spot as you're off the main street and Port Douglas is generally sleepy after 11pm. If like us, you checked in at 11pm (after hours), it was no fuss - simply use the phone on the wall and the nearby Mantra receptionist guides you to opening the safe where your key is stored in an envelope.

It was great for my partner and I as we weren't in our room for all that much during the stay, but I would have had higher expectations for the price, even if we were staying in peak season.

Room Tip: Check your room is not by the pool - you can look straight into these rooms and there's no priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Mel R.

Thank you for your feedback.
I am glad that you enjoyed the convenience of Mantra In The Village.
I would recommend that you contact us to book a one bedroom unit , rather than a hotel room for you next stay.
The one bedroom has kitchen facilties included whereas the hotel room or studio style does not.
All of our units receive a weekly service for stays of eight nightsor more.
Our units are dual key style with an interconnecting door.

Please let me know directly if you are looking at returning to Port and i would be happy to get you into romm that suits you better.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Myself and Partner spent two nights here. This was a bday present, as we are Cairns locals it is always nice to get away for the wkd. We booked this direct with the hotel, no discounts for being local i'm sad to say. Hotel room was the cheapest with a massive price increase for the 1 bed apartment which had the spa on balcony this would have been nice to have booked.
Overall though our stay was lovely. Room was clean and spacious enough, bit noisy being situated on the main street but located to everything. Secure underground parking. Reception not manned but this was not an issue as someone is on call 24 hours anyway. We asked for a late checkout and they were happy to oblige.
Would stay again and also would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sellyg20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived at the hotel to find the Reception closed ( it closes at 5pm) a telephone on the wall has to be used to call Reception in the other Mantra hotel around the corner who gave us the code for the key safe on the wall. We found our room and it was fine ( not sure what we would have done if not)
There was a notice informing us that the room would not be serviced as we were only staying three nights, this was a surprise to us as was the fact that the Reception hours were 9-5 , it was not mentioned in the brochure it was booked from ( Infinity from Flight Centre). We were not unduly bothered and the staff on Reception were friendly and helpful when we met them! Some travellers, however might have been. The pool in the hotel is pretty awful - and unfortunately we were not informed until our third day that it was possible to use the pool of the Mantra round the corner which was lovely!,
The majority of rooms face the street and noise was a problem to us on the Saturday night - revellers returning home until well into the early hours. Our room however, was large and comfortable and we managed to dry our towels overnight so the lack of change was only slightly annoying. We didn't pay a fortune and the location of the hotel is excellent so we're not really complaining just pointing out the facts for others to make up their own minds. As with most things you get what you pay for, and overall I'd say the Hotel is not bad value at all!

Room Tip: Ring up before you book and get all the details
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eileenappleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hi eileenappleby.

Thank you for your feedback.
Our reception hours are actually 9am till 4.30pm but we are available 24hours as you have mentioned.
Stays of eight nights or more do receive a room service , and they are also available for a small cost during your stay.
Also please note that we do have a guest laundry in the building.

I am glad you enjoyed the friendly and helpful service added to your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Port Douglas again.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#32 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Newport on Macrossan
The Newport on Macrossan
#21 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pavilions Port Douglas - Boutique Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments
0.2 mi away
Regal Port Douglas
Regal Port Douglas
#17 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra in the Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra in the Village

Property: Mantra in the Village
Address: Corner Grant & Warner Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra in the Village 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Port Douglas, Mantra in the Village characterises the sophisticated yet casual atmosphere of this seaside boutique style accommodation. Mantra in the Village has been designed to enhance the airy Tropical North Queensland climate, with all-weather verandas, slide back louvres and timber shutters all prominent features. Offering a range of accommodation from hotel rooms to self-contained one and two bedroom suites, all rooms include air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and cable TV. Our one and two bedroom suites offer the extra convenience of kitchenette facilities as a private balcony complete with whirlpool spa. Featuring a large Roman-inspired pool and spa with mosaic tiling, cascading waterfalls and fountains set amongst tropical landscaped gardens. The resort offers complimentary parking, in-room internet connection and lift for easy access to the car park, rooms and apartments and street level. Port Douglas provides plenty of attractions and entertainment, including local markets on Sundays, the Marina Mirage complex with over 40 specialty shops, restaurants and galleries, and the famous Four Mile Beach. At Mantra in the Village you are perfectly located to explore everything Port Douglas has on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra in the Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra In The Village Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing