We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Beachfront Terraces(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garrick House(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaches Port Douglas(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Terraces(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mowbray By The Sea(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Douglas Motel(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meridian Port Douglas(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,089)
Filter reviews
1,090 results
Traveler rating
818
184
58
15
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
818
184
58
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi tidefour mile beachan ocean view suitesmall hotelthe main streetopposite the beachhuge bathquiet roadwalk in showerpool areafree laundry facilitiesdifferent levelswonderful hotelcoral seabuffet breakfastperfect locationguest laundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
935 - 940 of 1,090 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I arrived at the reception desk at the Peninsula Hotel at 7am on Saturday morning after a less than satisfactory night at another resort. All I can say is that the service I received was above and beyond anything that I have ever experienced. The team at Peninsula rescued our holiday. By 8am my husband and I were sitting having a coffee at the Peninsula in a beautiful room over looking 4 Mile beach. The room was clean, welcoming and had all the features you need when on holiday. If you are looking for a quite relaxing get away then we would recommend the Peninsula is a must. The entire team are warm and welcoming, professional and respectful. The location is perfect, two minutes to the beach and a short walk to all the shops on the main street. The facilities are excellent, coffee fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kits23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Public Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2011

Dear kits23 - So pleased to read of your kind review and so pleased we could assist last minute with your move to us. I am glad that we could make your holiday memorable in our beautiful part of North QLD and that you got to enjoy our relaxed and ambient Hotel. Our staff are so rewarded to hear of how our guests enjoy the close location to the main street of Port Douglas and beautiful views over the ocean. hi tide cafe-bar-restaurant located in the Hotel specialize in delicious handmade Lavazza coffee and I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our Baristas. Thanks you again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards,
Peninsula Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We are currently staying at the Peninsula Boutique Hotel for our honeymoon and this hotel has inspired us to write a review on trip advisor. As soon as we arrived to the hotel we were greeted with friendly staff and a very interesting pool area. The pool has many levels and little private pools which you can swim seperately from other guests and dont feel like you are all in the same pool. There are many private areas to sunbake in aswell, its great for couples who prefer privacy. The rooms were very clean, modern and have everything we needed such as ... Foxtel, self contained kitchen, large bath, private balcony with direct access to the spa and pool area. The hotel also offer free laundry facilties to catch up on washing, a book case and videos to loan whenever. The room has many little touches like an oil burner, fresh flower arrangement in the entrance, umbrellas ... just those little things that make the hotel stand out from the rest. We have travelled from Mackay (South QLD) to Port Douglas (North QLD) and this is by far the nicest most comfortable place we have stayed so far. We highly reccommend it an will stay here again for sure!!! Come and see for yourself, you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Public Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2011

Dear Smithz, Thank you so much for your positive review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We believe that it is all the special touches that do make a Honeymoon special. We do receive wonderful feedback regarding our pool area as an area to relax, read a book or enjoy a cheeky cocktail! We would love you to contact us for your anniversary and it would be a pleasure to spoil you again.
Kind Regards,
Peninsula Boutique Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Although graded a 5 star this hotel is more like a 3.5/low 4 star. If your stay goes without incident then this hotel is OK. BUT do not be taken in by looks and location. If there is a problem beyond your control then do not expect the Manageress/Owner or her husband to be helpful. In fact they will be rude to the point of being abusive and are not in any way accomodating. Refund does not come into their vocabulary in fact they will charge you for every little thing. Wi Fi is chargeable which is understable, but we had the misfortune to stay when Cyclone Yasi was expected. Paid for 24 hours Wi Fi access, but not advised that it would then be cut off when all the computers were disconnected and moved upstairs for the duration of the Cyclone hence our time ran out. We were not allowed access when it was reconnected, but expected to pay again for another 24 hours. A meeting was held where instructions given for what do when the Cyclone Hit this was well organised and Cyclone Boxes given to all guests, a meal was provided which all guests thought was a nice touch seeing as we were "hotel bound" as the majority of the Port Douglas residents had been evacuated, BUT on checking out were billed for this meal. You can imagine the response they got on that!!! This hotel is opportunist and lacks Customer Service. On the day we were leaving the Manageress/Owner was telling guests who were phoning up to cancel and ask for a refund that all was well with no problems this was a blatant lie as it was still pouring with rain with high winds and no excursions were available until the following Monday. The decision is yours as to whether you stay here, but we will not be recommending this hotel even to our enemies

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leona63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2011

Dear leona63, Thank you for feedback regarding your stay with us and I am sorry and surprised to hear of your feedback regarding your stay, It was unfortunate that your stay with us co-incided with the near miss of Cyclone Yasi but thankfully the town and hotel were missed altogether. We certainly endeavoured to make everybody's stay during this stressful time as comfortable as possible and I am disappointed that you didnt believe this was the case. We believed that 2 meals of 2 full buffets for yourself and travelling partner for $30 (i.e. 4 full buffets with hot and cold dishes including prawns, desserts and alcoholic drinks) was extremely reasonable and was just to cover the cost of the food with no intention of profiteering off this difficult time for us all. We received many compliments from our guests over this time of how flexible and safe they felt staying with us and we have been very appreciative of this. Unfortunately, the Peninsula Boutique Hotel's wifi is not controlled by the Hotel so we were not in a situation to assist you here, As the Hotel did not suffer any damage, we were in full operation once again the following morning and future guests were assured that cancellation was not necessary. Being in a tropical rainforest area, rain and winds can roll through at times and contribute to our area being so beautifully lush and green. Should you be in the area again, please do contact us directly in less less trying times so you can experience the high service and personal touches that we are known for.
Kind Regards,
Peninsula Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We spent three nights after Christmas at this wonderful boutique hotel.There were four of us including a couple in their mid 20s. The Peninsula does not allow children under 18.We chose it because we wanted to be close to, if not on, the beach (no development is allowed right on the famous 4 mile beach in Port Douglas) and so the Peninsula is as close as you can get to the water. Also, it is within walking distance (5 minutes) from all the shops and restaurants. Many hotels are located several miles from town, which is very inconvenient if you don't have a car. Our rooms were attractive, well appointed and very comfortable,as well as having a direct view of the ocean. The staff were all first-rate. We had a terrific experience in Port Douglas and would return to the Peninsula without second thoughts. The only negative is that during the summer months in the Great Barrier region (Nov - March), swimming on the 4 mile Beach is limited due to the dangerous jelly fish in the ocean. However, we still had a great time walking the beautiful beach, snorkeling out on the Great Barrier and touring the Rain Forest. Excellent variety of restaurants in town. Lots to see and do in the Port Douglas area.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmcsylvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2011

Dear gmcsylvan, Thank you for the great feedbank regarding your stay and are so thrilled that you enjoyed our part of the world. We are proud to being the only Hotel in Port Douglas that enjoys direct views over the Coral Sea and combined with being situated at the quiet end of Port Douglas's main street, our guests enjoy the best of both worlds - the serenity of the ocean view but with only a minutes walk to the main Port Douglas area. We are also particulary proud of our staff who have the genuine ethos of enjoying what they do and meeting the variety of guests that we have staying with us. It would be a pleasure to have you again gmcsylvan and please contact us directly if we can assist
Kind Regards,
Peninsula Boutique Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

This is a lovely hotel in a wonderful setting - just metres from the beautiful Four Mile Beach. The rooms are very comfortable and we had an ocean view - a delight to wake up to every morning. The staff (always a hotel's greatest asset) made us welcome on checking in and at all times during our week-long stay. We had the good (or bad?) fortune to stay here during the night Cyclone Yasi (the biggest cyclone to hit Australia in living memory) struck the Mission Beach and Tully areas. We were very impressed by the professional way the owners and staff ensured the safety of us all - providing cyclone packs in case the power went out (it didn't), making sure we knew what to do in the event of a storm surge or structural damage. Luckily, we had none of those problems! There are some wonderful dining establishments nearby - we enjoyed Zinc and Watergate. If we had one minor quibble, it is that the bar and cafe close relatively early in the evening (about 8 - 8:30 pm) but that certainly did not stop us enjoying our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathaycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2011

Dear Cathaycity - Thank you for your time and thoughts regarding your stay with us and in particular, your comment regarding your experience during an interesting time for us here at the Peninsula Boutique Hotel. We certainly wanted all guests to enjoy their stay in Port Douglas during this time despite the weather and most of our guests still got to enjoy a wonderful and relaxing stay with us. We will be sure to pass onto the staff the positive comments from you and recognize how lucky we are to have such a dedicated, professional and caring team. Thank you again and look forward to hearing from you for your next stay.
Kind Regards,
Peninsula Boutique Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews