We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After looking at many accommodation options, we choose the Peninsular and are so glad we did, it lived up to expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We wanted good accommodation in case we spent some time around the pool as my husband has back pain and walking is difficult. The design of this Hotel/Apartments is very clever and attractive, with lovely private nooks and crannies to sit on the lounges and yet be near the pool to cool off, much more interesting than a normal pool with chairs all around looking at each other. We found the staff very friendly and ate there nearly every night, finishing with the French Chef's Coq au Vin which was wonderful. The Manageress, Sherell, suggested we hire a motorised scooter and arranged this for us. This proved to be marvellous and has opened up a whole new avenue for future life. The apartment is very comfortable and the kitchen has everything that you could need. We felt very happy and relaxed at this Hotel and would return, the tariff is on the high side, but it includes a lovely full breakfast for the two of us and room serviced every day, which is a boon and increases the value that you receive, also transfers to and from Cairns. We met several people who had stayed there before and returned so that is always a good recommendation. Have a look at the Peninsular when booking your holiday in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

901 - 907 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for a week in late Juy ... location is exceptional ..just open the balcony doors on your ocean view suite and listen to the waves. The suites are cleverley designed with sliding doors so it can be opened up or if one person wants to have an afternoon nap or early night the beautiful wooden panel louvre doors can slide across. The cane furnishings are cozy and the soft furnishings have recently been updated.
Welcome at reception was great and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The receptionist updated us on all the changes since our last visit.
The breakfast by the pool was good and we particularly enjoyed the morning whent here was an option of 'eggs to order'.
it is a pleasant walk to the restaurants ...if you are not travelling beyond Port Douglas centre you do not need a car.
Overall a great experience .... this is the third time we have been to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueq007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed in Suite33 (a lovely upgrade - thank you) for 7 wonderful days. The room was well set up with all you could need; a kitchenette with hot plates, coffee and plunger, herbal teas and real milk; a bedroom with a very comfortable king bed and a bathroom with a huge spa bath with an aromatherapy burner provided. Each room also had views to the famous 4 mile beach. Going to sleep each evening listening to the waves was just fabulous.
Breakfast which was included each day was great, supplied around the pool with minor changes everyday to prevent boredom. Perhaps my only complaint was that on our second to last day the pepper grinders disappeared and were replaced with little packets of pepper, not the same at all. (I love my ground pepper so happily I had my own grinder to use for this emergency.)
We only ate in the restaurant once but found "The curry night special" to be very tasty and good value.
We loved the pool area for it's funky appeal and still having a lap pool for that bit of exercise if desired. The spa, the fountains and the areas you could sit and soak up the ambience were lovely.
All the staff we came across were helpful and friendly; so we had no complaints there either.
My husband and I would return to the Peninsula in a heart beat! Thank you to all the staff, you were great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Superb! Gorgeous, spacious ground floor room with balcony across the quiet road from beach. Slightly dated lounge (cane), but din't spend much time watching tv. Short stroll up the street to all the pubs, restaurants and shops. Was greeted with a cool towel and glass of water to refresh! Owner couldn't do enough for us. Lovely spa in bathroom, comfy bed, great breakfast by the pool. We also had snacks from Hi Tide cafe and they were lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schnell117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We have just had 7 nights at the Peninsula Hotel and can highly recommend this place for position, rooms, friendly service and food.
From the start Sheryn and her staff made us very welcome and could not do enough for us.
We had a Coral Suite (number 20) which had views straight across to four mile beach, the room was spacious with separtate living room and a big bathroom complete with a large spa bath. Breakfast was included in the price and was served around the pool. It had a good selection of fresh and hot food. They also have a separate restaurant over looking the beach which is open all day.
I believe this hotel has the best position of all in Port Douglas, as it is a the end of the main street and is the closest of all to the beach (with out being noisy).
We have stayed in many beach side hotels around the world and this would be one of the best.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

My husband and I booked an oceanview suite with breakfast at this hotel.It is a charming and friendly hotel.Although not luxurious, the rooms are quirky and there is everything you could need.The rooms are clean, excellent kitchen with an unusual bathroom.The view is masked by the trees but you can hear and smell the sea.Unfortunately our weather was not the best, be warned when it rains it is torrential but it stays warm although the humidity can be quite debilitating.
The breakfast is excellent with plenty of variety of fresh fruits and hot foodstuffs as well.We did eat in the hotel on one night and the food and presentation was first class.
Port Douglas is charming with a terrific variety of shops and cafes/restaurants for every pocket.The hotel is in a handy location and we were able to walk into the town in less than 10 minutes.
We booked a day at the Barrier Reef with Quiksilver and it was a wonderful experience where we both snorkelled.The trip takes about an hour and half to get to the reef and it can get quite bumpy.The snorkelling is great fun and aimed at all levels.They are very safety conscious and also very helpful.We went in the submarine to look at the coral,if you do not like enclosed spaces this may not suit you so be aware of this althogh the trip is short only about 20 minutes.The staff at the hotel are very informative about local trips so do take their advice.We also booked a trip to the Daintree forest which was brilliant, although it poured the day of the trip it did'nt matter as it is a tropical forest!
There is a pool which is quite small, a jacuzzi and washing machine with tumble drier which is free to use.We found this very handy as the climate can make your clothes feel quite damp and the drier was great to have.
All in all a great hotel and a lovel place to visit which would be even nicer when dry and sunny.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theshannons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Best located small hotel across from the beach. Ate breakfast overlooking the beach each morning with superb views. Wait staff eager to please.
Ladies at the front desk looked a little overworked though and we felt like we were intruding when we needed to ask the a question.
Rooms clean with nice decor and the bonus is that we could walk everywhere from this hotel. Would come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snelly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 - 13 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $198 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4 1/2 star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our multi tiered outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise. Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy... All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 Complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel. As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink. To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station. Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings. The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 17 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing