We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent boutique hotel with great staff - highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel with great staff - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

We have just had 7 nights at the Peninsula Hotel and can highly recommend this place for position, rooms, friendly service and food.
From the start Sheryn and her staff made us very welcome and could not do enough for us.
We had a Coral Suite (number 20) which had views straight across to four mile beach, the room was spacious with separtate living room and a big bathroom complete with a large spa bath. Breakfast was included in the price and was served around the pool. It had a good selection of fresh and hot food. They also have a separate restaurant over looking the beach which is open all day.
I believe this hotel has the best position of all in Port Douglas, as it is a the end of the main street and is the closest of all to the beach (with out being noisy).
We have stayed in many beach side hotels around the world and this would be one of the best.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PierroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    169
    57
    15
    14
See reviews for
51
698
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

My husband and I booked an oceanview suite with breakfast at this hotel.It is a charming and friendly hotel.Although not luxurious, the rooms are quirky and there is everything you could need.The rooms are clean, excellent kitchen with an unusual bathroom.The view is masked by the trees but you can hear and smell the sea.Unfortunately our weather was not the best, be warned when it rains it is torrential but it stays warm although the humidity can be quite debilitating.
The breakfast is excellent with plenty of variety of fresh fruits and hot foodstuffs as well.We did eat in the hotel on one night and the food and presentation was first class.
Port Douglas is charming with a terrific variety of shops and cafes/restaurants for every pocket.The hotel is in a handy location and we were able to walk into the town in less than 10 minutes.
We booked a day at the Barrier Reef with Quiksilver and it was a wonderful experience where we both snorkelled.The trip takes about an hour and half to get to the reef and it can get quite bumpy.The snorkelling is great fun and aimed at all levels.They are very safety conscious and also very helpful.We went in the submarine to look at the coral,if you do not like enclosed spaces this may not suit you so be aware of this althogh the trip is short only about 20 minutes.The staff at the hotel are very informative about local trips so do take their advice.We also booked a trip to the Daintree forest which was brilliant, although it poured the day of the trip it did'nt matter as it is a tropical forest!
There is a pool which is quite small, a jacuzzi and washing machine with tumble drier which is free to use.We found this very handy as the climate can make your clothes feel quite damp and the drier was great to have.
All in all a great hotel and a lovel place to visit which would be even nicer when dry and sunny.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theshannons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snelly123
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

Best located small hotel across from the beach. Ate breakfast overlooking the beach each morning with superb views. Wait staff eager to please.
Ladies at the front desk looked a little overworked though and we felt like we were intruding when we needed to ask the a question.
Rooms clean with nice decor and the bonus is that we could walk everywhere from this hotel. Would come back again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snelly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

We received a $390 per night deal for a 3 nite stay at $290 per night in a one bedroom suite, suite 4. The reviews on TripAdvisor prompted us to stay here, as the service/rooms sounded wonderful. Our first 4 nights were at Sea Temple (also reviewed), as we thought a quiet location would suit us best to begin our trip, then The Peninsula would be a bit closer to the relaxed heartbeat of Port Douglas.

The reason for our 'average/below average' ratings are because of the following:

- Service: We didn't receive much service at all. Nobody asked us if we were keen to book a tour, what we were up to in Port Douglas, how we were enjoying our stay, etc, etc. An unfriendly vibe existed. I know this differs from the reviews below, but a boutique-relaxed hotel experience was not received by us. In fact, as we politely asked if the front desk could mind our bags while we waited for our airport shuttle, we were asked 'are you guests of the property?' Odd, as we ran into this woman at least 5 times during our 3 night stay. There was an unfortunate, stressed/hurried feeling amongst staff.

- Value - At $290 per night, we would have expected a bit more. The room was cozy-not-trendy. On the plus side, breakfast was very good each morning, served by the pool. The wicker furniture could use a little updating, but it was pleasant enough. Our room had ocean views from ground level.

We didn't view our stay as a 'boutique hotel' experience but rather one of an apartment stay with little/no service and a bit overpriced. The vibe...the energy...it was just a bit off.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandNinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

Just had a long weekend at the Peninsula Boutique Hotel in Port Douglas, must say its one of the most enjoyable stays we have ever had at any resort and with super fast and cheerful check in.
The layout of this small complex has to be seen, as modern as tomorrow yet not overdone, the super modern pool on different levels with its large water fall is simply magnificent, the rooms are huge as is the bathroom and decorated in island style with rattan furniture and a huge comfortable king size bed, kitchenette with cooking facilities and good size fridge and a balcony facing the beach opposite, the sound of the small waves from 4 mile beach opposite at night was brilliant.
Breakfast on the pool terrace was spot on as was the excellent food and service.
Can't recommend this property enough!.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Digger1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster East
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

On our arrival we were warmly welcomed and shown to our ground floor room. The room was well appointed and serviced daily. We could see and hear the waves on 4 Mile Beach from our small balcony. All the staff were very friendly and most helpful. A delicious buffet breakfast by the pool every morning was included in the price. The meals available at the in house restaurant were good value and well prepared and presented. We can't wait to go back. This was one of the best facilities we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfiejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

Sharryn made us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived and this continued throughout our stay at the Peninsula. We had a beautiful clean room which overlooked the sea and all the facilities in the room were first class. The restaurant was really nice both for breakfast and evening meal. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.4 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Property: Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Address: 9 - 13 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4 1/2 star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our multi tiered outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise. Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy... All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 Complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel. As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink. To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station. Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings. The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 17 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing