We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed at the peninsula for a week in October. This was the second time we had stayed there. Had a fantastic time again. Service is exceptional, staff are so friendly and make your stay so enjoyable. We arrived very early and they were great in allowing us into our room early. Also received a complementary bottle of wine because we had stayed with them before, much appreciated. Highly recommend this hotel for a great relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 990 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

First of all, lets follow up on the title of this review. I believe it is the only hotel that has direct access to their famous beach as it is located directed across from the beautiful sandy four mile beach. Second, it is located at the end of the main street into town. You can walk to all of the restaurants, farmers market, the marina and of course the beach in minutes.

We had one of their ocean front suites which had a great wooden deck looking at the beach. You are looking between trees to see the sea and there is a small not too traveled road in front, but the view is still good.

The hotel serves a nice full buffet breakfast which is included. Since we were leaving early one morning they delivered a fruit tray the night before that they put into our in-room refrigerator.

The pool sitting area is small but they have made the best of it. You can rent chairs on the beach.

Room Tip: First floor ocean view suite with large wooden deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baja1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I have stayed regularly for 10+ years, and have always enjoyed it. The setup is excellent - the accomodation is spacious, comfortable, and clean, the location is absolutely premium, being right on Four Mile Beach and only a few minutes' walk to the centre of town, the buffet breakfast by the pool is always good, and the service is very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had a great 4day stay here. Was a bit concerned as it has roads on all 3 sides, but no traffic, so very quiet. Apartment was large, with ocean view balcony, well equipped kitchen, comfortable bed, and bathroom with huge corner bath and separate shower. Hotel had laundry facilities too, but we did not use them
Breakfast fine, but sometimes things not replenished quickly.
Lovely to be in child-free hotel. Pool small but well maintained. No gardens to speak of, but right on the beach. Easy walk to Main Street with lots of restaurants- but beware, none accept bookings after 8.30. We ate in hotel for curry night, really good and excellent value.
Efficient pick up and return to Cairns airport appreciated, as was free wi-fi.n

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week in a first floor Ocean View Room. Having the ability to sit on our balcony in warm weather, chat and have a glass of wine over-looking the ocean was absolutely fantastic. Being only a few minutes walk to the main street the location of this hotel is excellent. In terms of other aspects, however, it is not a 4.5 Star hotel.

We booked this hotel based on its good reviews and were expecting luxury (except for hard beds which seemed to be consistent feedback). If we had expected a 3-4 star hotel then we would have been impressed but for 4-5 star it is underwhelming. The decor is outdated and tired. Our dishwasher didn't work (apparently many of them don't), our balcony door rattled badly in the wind (we fixed this with pieces of folded cardboard) and the ceiling fans rattled intermittently during the night. The pool area looks beautiful and is well designed, but the pool had cracked and missing tiles and one of the large ceramic pot plants was falling apart.

For the price, I was expecting a full room clean every day. While sheets were changed every 2 days it might have been nice to offer daily because of the temp and humidity. The floor tiles were always very dirty and gritty and there was visible mould in the bathroom.

The buffet breakfast is home style and a few times key items such as eggs and plates were missing.

The initial service on arrival is very good and welcoming but service more generally is mixed. While all requests are attended to very politely, all service is reactive (i.e. no servers will ask you if you want a drink or food while sitting around the pool) and some staff mope around looking very unhappy which is not what you want on a holiday!

Overall we really enjoyed our ocean views, privacy and the quiet but it was well over priced for what it delivered.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms on first floor and above are best, not ground floor or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noodles1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Peninsula Boutique is perfectly located just two blocks from the downtown area and the beautiful Four Mile Beach is right across the street! In five minutes you can be in either location. The rooms are comfortable. We had an oceanfront room with a balcony and I highly recommend it. The rooms have a mini-kitchen and there is a good continental breakfast served each day on the pool deck. The people who run the hotel are very helpful and always available to assist.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms have balconies that face Four Mile Beach and you can watch the sunrise from your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I wanted ocean front and close to everything.......this was the perfect choice. Amazing staff, to boot! A two minute walk to beach and two minute walk in the other direction gets you to the main strip of PD for restaurants/bars. Overall, a great stay!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank sweetgirlhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 - 13 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $201 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4 1/2 star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our multi tiered outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise. Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy... All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 Complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel. As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink. To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station. Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings. The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 17 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing