We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked by our agent
It was just at the end of the main drag, easy access to town etc.. Staff friendly, breakfast good rooms neat and clean. Since it was a part of a package cost is not known but it is very nice and would recommend unless it is over the top expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John890000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear John890000,
If we can supply a clean and comfortable Hotel and service with a smile to be the base for all your touring and activites in Port Douglas, we believe this is a good start!
Reviews such as your that compliment the service, the food/cuisine and the cleansiness makes us smile know that we have helped you (in our small way) enjoy your holidays.
Many thanks for your review
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff at Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    176
    57
    15
    14
See reviews for
56
755
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Across the world, almost exactly. Love luxury but also want that small hotel vibe that makes you feel like a local. All that at the Peninsula. Really great space in a great location. We walked to everything important. Wonderful service yet discreet, respectful. Lots of catch phrases but all in all I only wish for more time at this gem of a place. 5 stars- would have been 6 (lol) for just a down pillow. Xo

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJfoodiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear NJfoodiemom,
Wow - so pleasing to read such a kind review but moreso that you enjoyed your visit to Port Douglas!
Whilst we never claim to be luzurious 5 star hotel (we are 4.5), we do try and spoil every single guest with facilities and service to ensure they leave with fond memories about not only our Hotel but also the area.
We do have down pillows - I can only imagine that you didnt request one! The catchcry for any stay in a Boutique Hotel is "Just ask!" - you would be amazed at how much we can tailor and personalize your stay so it is exactly the holiday you are after! (a six star experience for you :) )
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff at Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a tremendous place to stay. The hotel is well designed, with decent rooms and attractive common areas, and the service provided by the staff is friendly and very efficient. The food is all fresh and seemd to us to be very good value. A good location, too, with easy access to the town and to 4 mile beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGrubmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear scgs56,
We like to call ourselves "tropically stylish" - we try and bring the natural colours, feel and lightness of the tropics into our rooms. The very last thing we would like is to be another branded, safe and boringly styled hotel! From the comtemporary art in the public areas, the use of bright colours to compliment our surroundings plus some added stylishings with a "twist", we are proud of the presentation of the Hotel and so pleased you enjoyed it too.
We will also be sure to pass on your compliment to the Chefs and Waitstaff regarding your positive experience with Hi Tide Restaurant's cuisine and service.
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff at Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We spent seven nights in the Peninsular Hotel this year, and couldn't fault it.
Our room was well laid out and spacious with a balcony that looked out over the white sand and the sea, just a few yards away.
Although the Peninsular is sited close to the main street of Porty Douglas, it couldn't have been more peaceful, and our morning visits to the breakfast buffet around the pool were the perfect way to start another sunny day.
Sheryn, Phil and their team couldn't have been more helpful in guiding us to the best trips to consider, and the best areas to explore.
They even keep two electcric bikes to take visitors around the immediate area, or, in our case to glide along the beach.
Recommended to all

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manorlodge14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear manorlodge14,
It certainly sounds like you got out-and-about and enjoyed our beautiful part of the world - from the Daintree Rainforest, the Great Barrier Reef, Low Isles, the Atherton Tablelands etc.. there is so much to see and do here that it is easy to fill more than a week - and that is without the relaxing time!
We do believe also though that when you are in the Hotel it should be immaculately clean, with high quailty linen, mattresses and thick mattress toppers so you can melt into your bed at night for a great sleep.
We are so fortunate to have the location that we do - no car needed! (maybe a spin on the electric bikes to explore the area may be the exception).
Thanks so much for your review and please say Hi to all our UK friends for us.

Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff at Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I were visiting Australia from Canada and were referred here by our travel agent. What a find!!! This is a great property with lovely spacious suites kept in immaculate condition with every attention to detail that you can imagine. The location is next to the ocean and is spectacular. The service and staff were far beyond what we could have wished for and their dining was excellent. Breakfast every day by the pool couldn't be beat. They even had complimentary laundry facilities. No problem recommending the Peninsula to anyone that I wanted to impress.

Room Tip: Don't know if there is a bad room in the place. All seem quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Gerry D,
All of our hard working Chefs and Waitstaff will be so pleased to read the lovely feedback regarding Hi Tide Restaurant & Bar.
Apart from our innovative a la carte menu, we run different theme nights such as Tuesday Seafood Night, Wednesday Curry Night, Sunday Night $20 Fish and Chips etc... something different each night based on the freshest local produce we can get!
Thank you also for your comments regarding the Breakfast buffet around the pool area - every single guest has a full hot and cold buffet included daily with your stay - another bonus for staying with us!
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff at Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Aus
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for three days over the Easter weekend with my daughter and her husband. This is a simple but comfortable hotel with a very easy going style. The staff were friendly and helpful but never obtrusive. Our rooms, which overlooked the beach, were spacious and well equipped- you could have self catered if you wished- with high levels of cleanliness and maintenance. The food was good but not exceptional.
The location is outstanding, just across the road from the beach and just around the corner from Macrossan Street, the main drag. The best feature of the hotel itself is the pool complex with multiple levels, waterfalls and a jacuzzi- great for enjoying Happy Hour cocktails.
Our room rate included breakfast and free transfers from and to Cairns, which helped with value for money. On our last day we were given (without having to ask) an extended checkout until our departure at 2pm.
In summary, if you want quiet comfort you should enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 20 which overlooked the beach and had an extra large balcony area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jahMelbourneAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear jahMelbourneAus,
One of the things we like to get right is to be able to read if our guests want the full and personal service of a Boutique Hotel or want their privacy for a romantic or quiet time away - so pleased we go the balance right for your stay!
We are often complimented on our unique pool area, jacuzzi, spa and even underwater sunlounges! So many places to bask in the sun and truely relax in tropical North Queensland.
We believe the discreet self-contained kitchen is perfect if you feel like a casual night in - sometimes a simple meal and curled up on the couch with a complimentary DVD (all suites come with Digital, cable TV as well as access to the help-yourself DVD library in our lobby) is exactly what you need after a big day of touring and activities.
Thanks for such a positive review and thanks again for staying with us!
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff at Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here whilst in Port Douglas it really is a great hotel. Location is excellent next to the beach and in the centre of Port Douglas with parking. We has a sea front room which had lots of space and was very quiet. The hotel has some very good facilities including a pool, free washing machines and driers and free wifi. The staff and very helpful and gave us directions to anywhere we needed. The breakfast is not bad, a good selection of food available to eat near the pool side. If we came back would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: sea front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie66Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear katie66Uk,
We just sat down and tried to think of all the inclusions we could think of so you dont have to pull your wallet/purse out and pay extra for everything - some of which you have kindly listed.
There is such a long list of things that are complimentary at our hotel that are inclusive of all rates - one of which is the arrival transfer at Cairns airport so you can step off the plane and meet one of our drivers that take you along a beautiful coastal road with breahtaking views and arrival straight to the front door of our Hotel. We know it can be harrowing to arrive in an unfamiliar place and this is just one of many things we can do to take the stress out of travelling.
Thank you again for such a complimentary review!
Kind Regards,
The Staff and Management of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#7 of 42 in Port Douglas
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Property: Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Address: 9 - 13 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4 1/2 star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our multi tiered outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise. Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy... All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 Complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel. As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink. To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station. Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings. The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 17 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing