We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality - thanks Theresa and Steph”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality - thanks Theresa and Steph”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Thanks to Phil and Sheryn for a welcoming stay. This small hotel was really lovely and a refreshing change from large city hotels; all staff without exception were incredibly helpful, friendly and professional. The hotel is on the edge of Port Douglas, at the top of 4-mile beach, a mere 20 metres away. Our suite with an ocean view was superb, listening to the sea crashing on the beach was heaven! The suite was clean, roomy and comfortable with good facilities. The sun rise was perfect and the balcony was a comfortable temperature in the afternoon heat. The pool facilities were excellent and creatively laid out with flora and waterfalls. Peace and tranquility could be found at any time of day. The retraurant offered excellent choice. brekfasting outdoors by the pool was relaxing with good choice of both hot and cold food. Easy walking to alternative restraurants as well. Thank you. Wish we were there still!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view above ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheresaArdley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear TheresaArdley,
We are humbled and so pleased to get 5 out of 5 stars for all parts of your stay - it certainly lets us know that we are on the right track to providing our guests with the ultimate tropical escape. As we are the only Hotel in Port Douglas with beach and ocean views, the serenity that comes with listening to the waves on the sand and the beautiful sunrises over the water has to be experienced to be believed. The very best way to enjoy a holiday to a tropical location!
We were so pleased to look after you and glad you take home fond memories of our beautiful North Queensland.

The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    176
    57
    15
    14
See reviews for
54
748
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is just on the edge of Port Douglas town and just across a quiet road from the beach. We stayed in an Ocean view suite which was roomy and comfortable. The downside was that our room was on the ground floor which kind of restricted the view of the beach - the odd parked car etc. We never were able to compare views from higher floors but if we went back I would ask for a room on one of those. There is a lift.
Otherwise the hotel is very good, free use of washing machines & tumble driers which if your doing a 3 or 4 week trip can be a useful. There was an iron and ironing board in the room.
The breakfasts, as others have remarked are excellent As were the two evening meals taken in the restaurant.
One slight niggle was a problem logging on/off to the Wifi, you get free access for the first 2 hours. We had an Ipad and it was a bit tricky to log off, we were assured that it logs you out after 10 minutes of no activity but not straight forward. The management spent quite a bit of time trying to sort this out with the people who supplied the service and I think we all learnt a lot from the experience.
Free towels for beach, pool or taking to Great Barrier Reef, (QuickSilver) booked at reception, we also booked to go to Kuranda, thank you Amanda for your help and recommendations.
All the staff were great, would go back.
Thankyou.

Room Tip: Try and get a 1st or 2nd floor room if the see view is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homersignalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Homersignalman,
Firstly, we really appreciate the time you took to review us - we rely on feedback such as yours to make sure we are on the right track to spoiling all of our guests.
Your review is very complimentary - thank you so much. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary laundries, full hot buffet breakfasts each morning and the WIFI. You will be pleased to note that we now include complimentary WIFI for your whole stay and we have a new WIFI system so no more challenges...
It also sounds you got to enjoy our beautiful North Queensland - from the ecclectic Kuranda Village to the Great Barrier Reef and surrounds. These are just a few things to do in and around Port Douglas - a solid week is needed to see and experience the natural wonders of the area.
Thank you so much again.

The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hotel was really lovely, staff friendly and very helpful. Rooms very well equipped, comfortable and sea view was great, although rooms with views to the pool were great too. Easy walk to all the shops and bars. Excellent all round. thank you!

Room Tip: Beach views great but pool views also great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevvy11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Bevvy11_12,
Thank you for your kind words and choosing to stay with us! We are proud of both the Oceanview and the Poolview rooms - we actually don't have any rooms that don't have a lovely aspect! Hopefully we will get to see you again in our beautiful part of the world!

The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights on the penultimate leg of a 3 week trip to
Australia and the Far East. Having stayed in large hotels for most of our
trip, this was a lovely change.
Small hotel, opposite 4 mile beach with staff who were incredibly helpful and friendly, without being intrusive.
Toni at the front desk was fantastic and very knowledgeable. In the dining
area Aaron was very friendly and welcoming and Krystal is the Queen of
Cocktails!
Accommodation is a large studio type room with balcony or patio, living area
with incredibly well equipped kitchen, a bedroom and bathroom. Areas within
can be sectioned off with large floor to ceiling sliding wooden doors.
Bathroom consisted of sink unit, sunken bath, separate shower and a loo.
(The loo has no door.) Slight downside of this arrangement is that at night
you or your other half is likely to get disturbed by either the light from
the bathroom or the sound of the sliding door (or both.)
We had a couple of very minor issues in the room (light not working, no "do
not disturb sign") and these were dealt with very promptly.
We dined in the restaurant on 2 evenings and had great food. Breakfasts were
included with our rate and were good.
There are laundry facilities including tumble dryers and detergent is
provided free. As we'd been travelling for 2 weeks this was a very welcome
facility.
Towels are available for beach / pool use, or can be taken out if going on a
trip.
2 hours (per stay) free wi-fi is provided with additional 24 hours costing
$10.There is a PC available for use by guests, (time spent on it is deducted
from your 2 hr allowance).
Although this hotel may not fulfil your expectation of a boutique hotel as known in the UK, we would highly recommend it for the friendly staff and great service and facilities.
We also dined at Salsa, (booking by e mail 2 weeks + in advance from the UK
and getting the last free table for a Saturday night!) and Zinc.
We took an Aquarius tour on a catamaran to the Low Isles, which was an
excellent day out. Andy and Claire the staff were amazingly helpful and
informative.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs Picky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Mrs Picky,
Thank you so much for your thorough review - it sounds as if you really got out and enjoyed the area! We are also so pleased that you enjoyed the cuisine in Hi Tide Restaurant and that all staff looked after you during your stay. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to Toni, Aaron, Krystal and all of the team.
Hopefully we will get to look after you again one day when visiting the tropics!

The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We arrived in Port Douglas late, and with other accomodation full, we got the last room available thru a cancellation at this property. We were welcomed, shown the room and proceeded to settle in for the night before strolling down to the bars for dinner.
The room was of good size, fittings, furnishings and cleanliness was excellent. Beach views, and balcony seating was very nice. Staff were extemely helpful, lots of advice about surrounding Port Douglas, and what the facilities had to offer.
Our room rate included a buffet breakfast - excellent, plenty of fruit, cereals, and a nice array of hot cooked food which was delicious. Not the cheapest but extmely good value
We were sorry to leave, as we were touring, and will certainly look at this property when returning to PD. Excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach over the esplanade side of the building, have nice outlook ovr the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Trixta,
Thank you so much for such a complimentary review.... It is great to hear that you enjoyed all the inclusions with your stay and you believed that the Hotel was great value for money. We will be sure to pass on your great comments to all our team members here - hi to our of our NZ friends!

The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have holidayed in Port Douglas every year since the 1980s!!! We have stayed in many apartments and holiday rentals and have now returned for our second visit to the Peninsula which we first visited in 2000. We highly recommend this lovely hotel. It is situated very close to the four mile beach and the main shopping/restaurant areas. The pool view room we stayed in was spacious,comfortable, very clean and serviced daily. We found all the staff so helpful and friendly. This hotel is sheltered from the sometimes windy conditions from the east and is very quiet with an amazing swim pool and spa. We highly recommend it for old and young couples who want a quite relaxing holiday. We will return. Rose M

Room Tip: pool views quiet and great value in october as the wind from the east can impact on balcony use on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear rosemary m,
Thank you so much for such a nice review - we got to spoil you twice!
So many guest do request the pool view rooms - they are lovely and light with a view over the multilevelled pools, mountains and tree llined hills of Flagstaff Hill.
All of our stays include daily room servicing, full breakfast, free guest laundries, plunger coffee and so many more....
Thank you for your kind words... we hope to see you back again soon. Say hello to all our lovely NZ friends for us.
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel and Hi Tide Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent five wonderful days at the Peninsular in Port Douglas. We had a well-appointed room opening on to a view of Four Mile Beach so woke up to sunrise over the sea. Warm welcome and excellent service throughout. Situation of hotel is excellent - on the ocean beach with only a short walk in the other direction to the main street of Port Douglas with its shops and restaurants.
Excellent buffet breakfast, evening meal on the poolside terrace was a delight! Our favourite hotel in Australia, so far!

Room Tip: Ocean view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Public Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Paul D,
Firstly, thank you for your time to sit and review us. We value all feedback and strive to improve wherever we can.
It certainly sounds like you enjoyed the Oceanview room and also the beachside location. The best way to start an adventurous day is with a full hot and cold buffet breakfast - offered to every guest who stays with us.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels around our beautiful country!
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel and Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
679 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 43 in Port Douglas
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Property: Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Address: 9 - 13 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4 1/2 star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our multi tiered outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise. Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy... All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 Complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel. As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink. To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station. Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings. The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 17 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing