We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel ... Location, service, on site restaurant it has it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Visited recently for 7 nights ...we are regulars to this hotel...that says it all. I am not going to repeat all the positive comments in other reviews except to say is is a wonderful place to stay. It is great to see that Peninsula is maintaining its excellent customer service(very warm welcome from Amanda) and that the hotel is being maintained in pristine condition.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sueq007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear sueq007,
A week in the warmth of tropical north Queensland certainly would have given you a break from chilly Melbourne! Thank you for your review and comments regarding maintenenace.
We are fastidious about keeping the decor and building well refreshed and highly maintained - we certainly have our challenges with salt and the elements as we are located on the beach but ensure that our Maintenance program keeps us freshly painted each year and the gardens and rooms well looked after! We know how nice it is to be able to relax in a clean and refreshed Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back again for your next break.
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
There are newer reviews for Peninsula Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

701 - 707 of 966 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in July. We were perfectly satisfied with the location - it just does not get better than this. The service was good, the staff were friendly and helpful -can can say no more than that we will return next year.

Room Tip: Front sea facing is a must at this location
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashplans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Ashplans,
Thank you for such a nice review - we do believe that it is service and location that counts when you need a well earned break!
We look forward to welcoming you back again next year - please be sure to book directly with us at the Hotel so we can add some surprises to reward you for staying with us again.
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff opf Peninsula Boutique Hotel & Hi Tide Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just back from spending 9 nights at the Peninsula Hotel and we loved it. Its location right beside the beautiful four-mile beach and yet just a ten minute walk into lovely Port Douglas and its shops, pubs and restaurants is perfect. What really works about this hotel is that everybody is so helpful and friendly but yet not intrusive. You feel welcome as a guest more than as a paying customer. Amanda take a bow, you were born for the hospitality business and your helpfulness about everything from restaurants to tours and trips was spot-on every time. My daughter was passing through on her back-packing odyssey around Australia and was staying in Doogies and Amanda kindly let her use the facilities of the hotel the day she was around. The breakfasts were great, kept us going for the day and I like that they are inclusive in the rate. Our room was very comfortable and the cleaning service was excellent, it was usually all clean and fresh straight after breakfast. If I have one minor quibble it would be that the beds around the pool really are not comfortable and might be upgraded! I don't want to end on a negative note however. Port Douglas is a lovely town for a holiday, with the Great Barrier Reef on the door step and not forgetting the magnificent Daintree Forest and Cape Tribulation, so much to do and see. The Peninsula Hotel is the perfect location and very refreshing and different from the resort experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear rosemary044,
So pleased to read that we could extend our hospitality to you and your visiting guests.
We certainly agree that there is so much to see and do here in the area and the best way to start your day is with the full breakfast buffet around our beautiful pool area extended to all guests complimentary!
Also very pleased to let you know that we have brand new sunlounges arriving any day now - they will all be here to melt into on your next visit.
Amanda will be so pleased to hear that you enjoyed her hospitality and we have passed your feedback on to her.
Thanks so much again rosemary044 and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel and Hi Tide Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

my wife and her mother have just come back from a 5 day stay at the Peninsula. They chose to stay there because my wife and I have been there three times in the past and have enjoyed the experience. This time was no different and they enjoyed the experience so much they want to go back next year staying at the Peninsula again
The staff were helpfull and friendly, My wife lost her glasses on the first day and they printed out notices for my wife to hand out and pin to poles etc . Location on the beach and at the end of Maccrossin St puts everything within walking distance. They enjoyed the breakfasts, and the friendly feel of the hotel

Room Tip: we have aleays preferred a room overlooking the pool because it quieter
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear David255060,
So pleased to hear that your wife and mother again got to enjoy not only our hotel but of the friendly town of Port Douglas. With 4 stays with us, we must be getting something right!!
One of the advantages is that we are so centrally located but at the quiet beach end of the Port Douglas' main street. No need to hire a car or catch the local shuttle in (many hotels are located out of town and valuable holiday time can be wasted either waiting for a bus or being on one!). Our guests get to just wander across to the beach or idle up the main bustling street all within a flat easy stroll. Forget transport - this is your holidays and should be relaxing and at your leisure.
Perhaps you will spoil us with a 5th visit?
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel and Hi Tide Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Perfect location overlooking the beach at the end of the main street and just across the road from 4 mile beach. Hotel was clean and service was good. Felt for $410 pn the room could have been bigger, the bed was pretty ordinary and needed replacing. Decor is a little tired. Given the daily rate, 2hrs complimentary WIFI is a little absurd - it should be unlimited! Breakfast was the standard buffet type you can expect in most hotels, would have loved a bit more variance day to day. Loved the fresh pastries! Enjoyed the pool and hot tub facilities.

Room Tip: Get the best room you can afford. Rooms overlooking the beach can be a bit dark in the afternoon and...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oonallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Oonallee,
We value all reviews and thank you for your honesty to which you write.
It is sometimes difficult for us to extract what we can improve on as everyone's taste is different. Some points you raise such as decor is mostly praised but we have continued to keep the hotel modern and contemporary with upgrades each and every year. We do prefer to be different with our art, colours, landscaping and decor than to be plain and safe. Perhaps you may have found this a little too different?
All of our beds and mattresses are changed as recommended but admit we would never be able to replicate the comfort of your own bed at home. Some love the firmness of one bed, but some prefer to melt into a softer bedding experience.
We prefer to supply full breakfast items each day (but change the types of eggs, fruits, yoghurt flavours and hot items daily). We would not want to "hold" a breakfast item back just so it can be presented on certain days....it doesn't seem fair.
Our Suites are generally about 68 m2 and, to the AAA star rating criteria, award us the top rating for a hotel room size. Open the large glass sliding doors to your verandah and "outside also comes in" adding to the size. Our website gives all guests an idea of the size - generally guests are thrilled with the room not often experienced in hotels.
Regardless Oonallee , we will certainly go through your review thoroughly and see what we can improve on and thank you so much for not only staying with us but sharing your time to post your thoughts here.
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel and Hi Tide Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just spent 4 wonderful days in Port Douglas and staying at the Peninsula was a big part of what made it so good! Found it when looking for a place close to the beach and to our delight, it is right at the beach. Each morning just walked out barefoot for a long walk on the beach which is incredibly smooth and flat.
The Peninsula had everything we wanted. We had a ground floor ocean view studio which is really more like a one bedroom apt. as the bedroom can be closed off. The bathtub is superb - huge - fits 2 people. Our studio had a deck overlooking the ocean. The swimming pool area is on different levels and beautifully maintained. The kitchen is compact but has everything except an oven which we didn't want as there are so many places to eat. One of the best is HiTide right in the hotel where we ate 2 of our dinners, including one by the floodlit pool which was lovely. Breakfast is included and was delicious - different variety each day. Served by the pool but you can take the meal to your room if you wish.
The staff are terrific too - Phil and Sheryn were very helpful when booking and Amanda, who checked us in and showed us around, was amazing with all her travel
tips.
All in all, a lovely hotel, a great room and view and pool and staff who are only too happy to make the stay a good one. We will certainly be back and have already recommended it to friends!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Judy C,
When you want to spoil yourself on a beachside holiday but also want to explore the World Heritage Daintree Rainforest and Great Barrier Reef, why not have a room that overlooks the beautiful beach and ocean? We are the only hotel in Port Douglas that have these views. Next, coupled with a great view, add in smiling, genuine, happy staff who personally want to make your holiday special. Then, add in all the complimentary items you can think of to make your stay smooth and relaxing such as return transfers from Cairns airport for stays of 3 or more nights (one less hassle for you to arrange), free laundries, dryers and powders, free pool towels, DVD's, library, fresh flowers in each Suite, magazines and daily papers, full breakfast each morning around our cascading pools and spas, room service, minibar, fresh milk, full daily room housekeeping, undercover parking etc etc. We have tried to include everything that we personally would want to be treated with when we ourselves go on holidays! There's also a lift to all floors - you shouldn't even have to climb stairs on a relaxing break!
Thanks for the great review Judy C - it would be a pleasure to look after you (and your friends) when next in Port Douglas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Everything the bigger resorts have but in a smaller package. Buffet breakfast by the pool was included or you could order from the Hi tide cafe at extra cost of course. We ate at the cafe for lunch & dinner a number of times during our stay & the food was always fresh & delicious.Our rooms were very clean, had a small 2 burner cooktop - which we didn't use at all, a good size fridge & a microwave. Don't be tempted to shop at the Foodworks s'market it is very expensive ... it is worth the walk to the Coles s'market where prices are reasonable. While we were in PD we visited a number of other accom places in the town to check them out & Peninsula was by far the cleanest & best kept. The staff were very friendly & helpful & Jeremy the bar manager made great coffee & cocktails. The hotel is more a couples hotel not designed for families. It was a very relaxing stay and we would return to stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the beach have a great view but if there is an onshore breeze the balconies can ge...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katorcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear katorcaz,
The title of your review gives us a clue of what sort of stay you had with us - and makes us smile! An observant and complimentary review - thank you so much.
We are proud of our on-site restaurant - Hi Tide - and believe that with a great stay should also come great food and drinks! We have passed your comments on to Jeremy and all of his team and they were so pleased. Our Chefs has designed ever-changing menus and theme nights so you don't get presented with the same ho-hum menu each night as other Hotel restaurants fall into the trap of. Perhaps enjoy Seafood Night on Tuesdays? What about our famous Curry Night towers on Wednesdays? Fresh, local, panfried fish for just $20 on Sundays? (a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon in the tropics!), delicious Tasmanian grain fed 200gm Eye fillets topped with fresh prawns or scallops drizzled in creamy sauces on "Surf and Turf" night on Fridays? The choice is yours! (As you point out, best teamed with a favourite cocktail or Lavazza coffee to finish of course!)
Kind Regards
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel and Hi Tide Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 - 13 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $208 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4 1/2 star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our multi tiered outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise. Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy... All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 Complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel. As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink. To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station. Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings. The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 17 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing