We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway for couples!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great getaway for couples!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Peninsula for our honeymoon in 2011. Ocean view top floor suite has excellent view of ocean (note-you can hear the ocean 24/7 from these rooms). Room had TV and DVD player however the DVD we chose from the hotel's collection appeared to be pirated.

Wonderful restaurant facing the ocean, easily among the best in Port Douglas. Jeremy the restaurant manager was second to none and he is a credit to the establishment.

Exquisite pool area and excellent breakfast buffet. Hospitality was excellent with helpful and friendly staff at all times.

The only bitter taste we experienced was being promised a romance bubble 'n bath package upon arrival but didn't receive. We didn't want to remind the staff as we didn't want to seem greedy or rude.

Overall a 9/10 experience and we would stay there again as it was a child-free hotel and a great spot for couples to go to get away from children :)

Room Tip: Check if the hotel is currently undertaking any renovations to avoid noise level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Bron L,
So pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your honeymoon and congratulations again!
Apologies for the movie you selected did not operate - we regularly go through the library and cull out any that don't operate. We still proudly offer the DVD library as a complimentary addition to your stay and it operates on a "honesty" basis - 24 hr a day "help yourself" system.
As best we plan and organize every guests stay in the Hotel and all the different elements that comes with them, it appears that somehow we overlooked your bath package on this occasion but sincerely wish you had flagged it with any of our staff. It certainly wouldn't have been greedy or rude ..... we could have had one to you instantly. Please accept our deepest apologies for this.
We have passed on your compliments to Jeremy and his team and overall, it is great to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and all the dealing you have had with the team.
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    171
    57
    15
    14
See reviews for
52
716
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We were guests at this small hotel during their "low season" in early March. What a delight this was. While the hotel was minimally booked, the staff was friendly, helpful and generous with their time and knowledge of the area. Used Elaine's recommendations for a Reef and a Rainforest trip; she was spot on in terms of their excellence. Our young adult daughter, who did not stay at the hotel, was welcomed wholeheartedly when she did join us for a meal or a swim. The hotel restaurant was convenient, overlooking 4 Mile Beach, and the food was delicious. Pool is creative and relaxing. Overall, other than an annoying sliding door in our suite, the accomodations were top notch. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking 4 Mile Beach. The pool view rooms were fine too; just cannot go wrong at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soljaz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear soljaz65,
Thank you so much for your time to review us and it is pleasing to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have so many wonderful tours and things to see and do in Port Douglas and our friendly reception staff are more than happy to recommend the best of the best!
We are equally proud of our Hi Tide Restaurant - seeing our guests gaze out to the ocean and beach whilst enjoying the freshest seafood from the Coral Sea and fruit and vegetables from the Atherton tablelands nearby, our Chefs love to create and highlight the in-season offerings with their daily Chefs Specials - new creations every day!
Thanks again and so pleased that yourself and adult daughters enjoyed your stay
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

A nice hotel; clean, great location, great staff, though it lacked something, and I'm not sure what it was.

It was our honeymoon break, so perhaps our expectations were set high from the outset?

We did note upon booking it was a honeymoon getaway and purchased the romance package, though we had to ask for the bottle of bubbles and fruit platter, while the package stated it would be there upon arrival.

We had the room on the ground floor right next to the reception/bar area, which was a very high traffic area and the noise of cutlery clanging in the morning for the breakfast run could be heard through our walls.

That being said, it was a nice place perfectly situated in the heart of town and across the road from the beach. All the basics were within walking distance. We ate at the restaurant once or twice and found it a very pleasant dining experience, with good food and reasonable prices.

It sounds like a negative review, though just highlighting some of the things we weren't happy with for the price paid. Take all other things not mentioned here as excellent, such as the breakfast buffet each morning by the pool area. The general facilities, locations, staff etc were all excellent.

I would still recommend it to friends and family, though would also offer a note to ensure expectations are not disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms are generally well equipped, though seek a room in the furthest end of the complex away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimsyAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear SimsyAu,
Thank you for all the positive aspects you have mentioned in your review such as the breakfast by the pool, the staff, facilities, location etc...
With many of our Honeymoon Getaways, we often opt to ask the Honeymooners (particularly if they are arriving late) on check in if they do want the bubbles and fruit platter straight away. We have often found that some couple plan a picnic on the beach or have eaten / drank for the day and prefer us to supply it later in their stay at their leisure. Our apologies if this was disappointing.
As the Hotel environs are so very quiet at night and early morning, our staff do strive to move quietly about late at night / early morning (breakfast buffet is served ina lovely open setting around the pool area) and we would have been more than happy to relocate you instantly if you were not happy with the location. The Suite you stayed in is a popular one - close to the facilities, beach, bar etc and also with a large twin spa bath (it was a Coral Spa Suite). My sincerest apologies if you were not totally happy with it but do hope you gave us an opportunity to move you. I have since spoken with all team members about being silent at all times - particularly in such a peaceful and serene environment.
All feedback is go greatly appreciated and SimsyAu - we really appreciate yout time to review us.
We do hope to see you again for an anniversary spoil!
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Excellent staff, particularly Jeremy, the manager, who greeted us, after a delay at the airport, with ice cold drinks and towels, then took us to our lovely suite, and gave us all the necessary info. The hotel was superb, swimming pool, spa, spotlessly clean, as were the rooms. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Could not have had a better end to our holiday in Australia and we wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Karen K,
So pleased to read that your last stop in Australia was our Boutique Hotel and that is rounded a great trip for you. All of our staff (including Jeremy) come together and help us spoil all of our guests - every day. It is hard to beat the feeling after a day of touring of opening your door to a clean and fresh room and then being about to sip on a cocktail whilst trying our spa, heated jacuzzi, lap pool and lounge pools across several layers in the hotel.
Thank you for your review Karen K - we'll always be here if you make it back "Down Under"
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

The Peninsular Boutique Hotel, what a gem! I have to be honest I was a little worried about what we would find, but we worried needlessly. Our every whim is catered for and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. We stayed in 5* hotels whilst on our trip to Australia, but none of them came up to the standard of this hotel. The attention to detail at this hotel is pure perfection. Glasses of iced water and chilled damp cloths impregnated with lavandar to fresh up on arrival, aromatherapy candles in the bathroom, free library of books, DVD's, to name just a few of the facilities that this hotel provides. The staff, without exception were friendly, informative and our every need was dealt with efficiently, nothing was too much trouble for them. Thank you all for a wonderful stay,we take memories back to the UK that we will remember for the rest of our lives.
FC and C whittingham

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear carole w,
Thank you so sincerely for such a complimentary review and so pleased to read that you enjoyed all the little touches that make our Hotel so special. Whilst we never claim to be 5 *, we do try and go above and beyond what other hotels can offer. But fundamentally it is our team that make us so proud every day - each of them have a natural friendliness and genuine interest in spoiling you on your holiday that they complete the experience further than us just providing a nicely appointed hotel. We will be sure to share your review with them all - and thank you carole w for choosing to stay with us.
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Pleasant owners and room was nice. There was a DVD collection you could use which was good. Don't get that most places. Only problem was the DVD's are all pirated and either are poor quality or just plain don't work. Breakfast would have been nice but it wasn't busy so the buffet just sits there going yucky. The hash browns suffered the most. Soggy hash browns are horrible. The hotel restaurant is closed on Saturday night. I just dont understand that business decision as it would be the busiest night of the week. Paid $250 for the night which is overpriced. There are plenty of other venues which are similar that are plenty cheaper. $180/night tops is what they should be charging.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 02infinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear 02infinity,
Certainly a mixed review and firstly we really appreciate the honesty to which you write.
We'll briefly respond to your points.
DVD's - the absolute majority of our DVDs are in fact authentic but as with our library system, we find international guests are welcome to leave DVDs if they no longer wish to travel with them. With this, we do try and cull out the non-authentic ones. Breakfast - as mentioned in a previous reply, we are very happy to cook-to-order just for you if you prefer and I hope you did take advantage of that. Items such as hash browns are so very very quick to soften after frying - one of our friendly staff would have been most appreciative to instantly change those for you so sincerely hope you did point his out. We can fix almost anything if we know about it.
The hotel restaurant does close on Saturday Nights - we find the majority of guests appreciate going into town on the night of the week that all other restaurants are guaranteed to be open, bustling and with live entertainment etc. Alternatively, we are open every other night of the week when many others do close (such as Sunday or Monday or both). We find working in opposite is appreciated by our guests.
We do remember your stay and our surprise at your review is that you booked your room at the front counter on the day (not prebooked). You were shown the room before purchasing, knew the restaurant wasn't open for the one night (Saturday) that you stayed and certainly had the opportunity to further explore the accommodation options in the area but chose to stay with us The very last minute rate that was extended to you was a super special one day deal - the room that you stayed generally sells for approx $400 per evening.
It is unfortunate that you only spend one evening with us and didnt get a chance to enjoy all of our services and facilities. It still however disappoints us that you didnt thoroughly love your stay and all points you mention will certainly be considered and explored to see if there is something we can improve on.
Thank you again 02infinity for your review - it is sincerely appreciated.
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

I think it might help that Port Douglas was our favourite part of Australia, but this hotel was great. Warmly welcomed, it had a lovely relaxing feel to the whole place. The rooms were stylish and comfortable. And the pool was extremely unique with many layers. Many an afternoon was spent lazing in the jacuzzi with a cocktail. All our trips were organised by the front desk and we made sure that we attended curry night in the restaurant.

All around, a lovely place to stay in this fine part of Queensland. If only it wasn't so far away!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Worems,
Does sound like you got out and about and enjoyed our unique area...Did you know that this area is the only place in the world where two World Heritage Areas meet? (The Daintree Rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park). ? The Daintree Rainforest is also the oldest continuous rainforest in the world - 40 million years older than the Amazon! We feel so priviledged that both of these are on our doorstep and that Port Douglas is the base of which to explore these magnificent areas.
Curry Night is certainly a very popular night in Hi Tide Restaurant and combined with some of our other theme nights (such as Seafood Night, Surf and Turf Night, Fish and Chips Night etc) there is always something new to explore. Of course, we have our a la carte menu on these theme nights too- so many things to choose from! (keeping our chefs very busy!).
Thank you for all 5 stars in your review in all areas of your stay - so pleased you visited us.
The Staff and Management of Peninsula Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.4 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Property: Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Address: 9 - 13 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4 1/2 star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our multi tiered outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise. Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy... All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 Complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel. As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink. To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station. Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings. The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 17 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing