We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great location, very close to centre of town but still very quiet and just across the road from the beach. A very warm welcome which included being shown the various facilities of both the hotel and the suite which was very spacious and well equipped. Restaurant was excellent quality and value. Overall a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Not sure whether all rooms have an ocean view (and the sea is across the road and largely obscured b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2011

Dear Andrew893,
It is our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed both the hotel and the Hi Tide restaurant. All of our team work so hard to ensure that all parts of your stay with us are memorable and it sounds like we achieved this with your stay.
Unlike other Hotels, one of our staff members personally escorts every guest to their room and not only assists with your luggage if you need it, but tours you through Hotel facilities and the inside of your room with you to ensure you know how to use the television to enjoy the digital and complimentary Cable channels, how to use the inroom safe, the personal stereo system, how to operate the twin bath or spa in your room and all the other features of the hotel and room. We believe this is the personal service that we can offer as a Boutique Hotel that others can't.
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the time to sit and review us.
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

868 - 874 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

Most wonderful accommodation and experience at the Peninnsula. Had booked the Ultimate Indulgence Package and everything about it was 'Ultimate'. Best transport, food, service, location and tours. All arranged and managed for us by Sheryn and her very competent staff.
Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: We had the penthouse had balconies on 3 sides. Overlooking the beach or the pool. Could have sun or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine3134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2011

Dear Geraldine3134,
So pleased you got to enjoy one of our great packages and the "Ultimate Indulgence Package" is certainly one full of spoils. We offer many packages that include our handpicked tours and indulgences that we organize all for you so you can just arrive and enjoy.
i am sure you would have enjoyed our private balcony table with a bottle of Mumm French Champagne with your handcraft 3 course dinner and private waitstaff for the evening - just one of the inclusions with this package. The Peninsula Suite with the balconies on all 3 sides is a massive room with personal spa, lounges and top floor ocean views - certainly worth the upgrade for a special occasion - anniversary, honeymoon or just a personal spoil!
So pleased Geraldine3134 we could organize the very best our region has to offer with this exclusive package - and so glad to hear you enjoyed it all.
Kind Regards,
The Peninsula Boutique Hotel Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We loved staying here and were sad to leave.

Right on the beach and at the end of the main shopping treat, it is a great location.

Our room ended up being a suite with massive bath, kitchenette, our own balcony and very well kitted out.

We enjoyed having breakfast by the pool, drinks and eats in the bar overlooking the beach and sunning ourselves around the pool. All staff we met were really helpful, cheery and keen to do anything they could to make our stay in Port Douglas enjoyable and hastle free e.g. recommended fabulous tours (in small groups with personal service), arranging for us to have a free late departure with full use of our room and posting our postcards.

We'd definitely return here and highly recommend it - thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite - pool side room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisounTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2011

Dear AlisounTigger,
Its our pleasure to thank you in return for staying with us! Sounds like you had a great balance to your holidays of enjoying the great array of wonderful tours in our area to enjoy the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest both on our doorsteps (amongst others) and also go to just unwind with a cheeky cocktail around our heated pool, Jazuzzi, submerged grotto or lap pool (all heated or cooled depending on the time of year:) Combined with a great stay should be great food and drinks - all supplied by our Hi Tide Restaurant. We endeavour to combine both "home style" menu items with cutting edge ModOz cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. This allows guests who are tired of rich restaurant meals after travelling to enjoy some "comfort food" when away from home or alternatively, enjoy the great, modern talent of our innovative Chefs. The choice is yours!
Thanks again AlisounTigger - please do visit again for some more spoiling again one day.
Kind Regards,
The Peninsula Boutique Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Beachfront location, contemporary design, on site bar and restaurant, airport transfers from Cairns and hands-on proprietors ready to help with anything - what more do you need?

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Hello Marion M,
We have so many more plans to implement that we face an exciting 2012 to build upon a Hotel we are already so proud of. All of our members from the Owners down are all "hands on" - the very best way to spoil our guests and make their stay with us memorable and personable. We believe a wonderful holiday is to combine a beautiful, clean and contemporary Hotel and then add staff who are friendly and genuinely interested in going above and beyond with anything they can do to make your stay with us "perfect".
Thank you Marion M- the team will be most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind Regards,
The Peninsula Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This place had everything we needed.

A Boutique hotel that was relaxing, lovely clean rooms and very spacious. We ended up having an Ocean View suite with a verandah.

The staff were very helpful and cheerie - the breakfast by the pool included in the tariff so was the pick up and drop of at Cairns airport which was a bonus for us. We also enjoyed a dinner at the Hotel on the first night.

Easy walk to the main street of Port Douglas. No children under 16 are allowed so it was a very peaceful place.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissDetox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Dear MissDetox,
All of our stays over 3 nights include a return on-coach transfer from Cairns airport which is an additional step our guests do not need to worry about organizing. As well as transfers, our rates include free DVD's, free newspapers and magazines, free laundry, driers and powder, fresh tropical flower arrangements in every suite, free undercover parking, free pool towels, fresh milk, plunger coffee, aromatherapy candles and wax melts in all suites, free tour booking service amongst others. By including these in your room rate, all you need to do is stay and relax. It sounds like you did just that and enjoyed our lush, tropical town as well as the Hotel services.
Thank you for your review MissDetox and so pleased to hear you went back so relaxed.
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

From the moment you arrived the staff were both very helpful & corteous. They were able to provide you with the best deals & advise on tours to take while in Port Douglas. They were very knowledgable about the local area & always available & willing to help. The stay was most enjoyable & very relaxing. We would recommend the Peninsula Boutique to anyone wanting a fabulous place to stay in Port Douglas.

Room Tip: Views overlooking the ocean are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Dear Theresa C,
One of the great benefits (amongst others) about being a Boutique Hotel is that we can tailor your holidays to exactly what you wish it to be. We get to know most of our guests by name and having the benefit of having so many long term local residents with our staff, they know better than all what are the very best experiences to have in and around Port Douglas. We are blessed so so many natural and amazing things to see and do, we encourage all of our guests to stay as long as possible - just so they can get time to fit it all in!
Thank you Theresa C for coming up and enjoying not only our Hotel but our region
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Next time we visit OZ, we'll make this lovely hotel our first stop and stay longer!

Friendly informative staff, wonderful food, superb pool, suite well equiped - nothing more to wish for in a "to die for" location.
Oposite the 4 mile long white sand beach and if you get a sea view suite - go to sleep with the sound of the surf and in the morning, wake up to a beautiful sunshine dawn.

Room Tip: All Suites face either Pool or Sea View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Dear Eve R,
Thankfully your review has summarized what we strive to achieve with our Hotel - that all our guests fall in love with the area and Hotel as we have in a beautiful and relaxing environment. We are spoilt with not only being the only Hotel in Port Douglas with ocean and beach views but also great food in our oceanview licensed Hi Tide Restaurant and our wonderful staff that make us so proud each day.
Thanks you Eve R - we will be sure to pass on your comments
The Peninsula Boutique Hotel Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,725 reviews
7.7 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 - 13 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $230 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4 1/2 star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our multi tiered outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise. Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy... All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 Complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel. As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink. To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station. Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings. The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 17 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing