We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great location with good facilities. Found the other guests very unfriendly & rude at breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tazzieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Dear Tassieg,
Hopefully the title of your post says it all! Glad you enjoyed the facilities and the peaceful environment.
Some of our guests at breakfast may just need that essential hot coffee from our full buffet breakfast that is extended to all of our guests before warming to the day to enjoy our beautiful part of the world? Perhaps exhausted from all experiencing the vast array of tours to enjoy here including the magnificent Great Barrier Reef, Atherton Tablelands, Cape Tribulation, Kuranda and World heritage listed Daintree Rainforest? :)
Thanks again Tassieg for your time and review.
Kind Regards,
The Peninsula Boutique Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
There are newer reviews for Peninsula Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 975 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

I travel regularly in Australia and overseas and spent a week at this boutique hotel...a warm friendly comfortable hotel. I booked the Peninsula fairly quickly due to view, position, balcony, spa bath, breakfast included together with transfers from Cairns. I was not disappointed by my decision but pleasantly surprised by the wonderful staff, great breakfast, fantastic position both to the beach and short walk into town for restaurants and shopping. I would definitely recommend highly to my friends. I felt safe and enjoyed the great service. Staff were only too happy to meet my individual needs. My holiday was exactly what I wanted!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naturalwellness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Dear naturalwellness,
So pleased to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by your experience with us here at the Hotel.
The combination of being at the quiet end of the main street (Macrossan) and the only Hotel overlooking Four Mile Beach and the Coral Sea in Port Douglas helps us set the scene for a unique and personalized stay for all of our guests. So many of our guests get to enjoy the main Port Douglas area and the beach within a few easy minutes walk - no need for a car or bus! So glad you went back happy and relaxed and please be sure to let us know when you are here again so we can spoil you a little more!
Kind Regards,
Peninsula Boutique Hotel Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

This lovely boutique hotel by the beach provided a luxury holiday in quiet and idyllic surroundings. The staff were outstanding in their service and worked so well as a happy team no doubt due to the management skills of Sheryn and Phil Blundstone - the owners/hosts. The meals we had at the Hi Tide Beach cafe were quite as good as any we had in other restaurants in Port Douglas. Thanks. Lorna & Bill Speight

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Dear lmlauren,
Thank you so much for such a complimentary post and so pleased you felt the service was outstanding. All of our team love meeting guests both from Australia and all the interesting places from around the world which makes it very easy for us to extend a warm welcome. Our Chefs will be so appreciative of your comments regarding the standard of cuisine - they work so hard to help us offer such high quality and personalized experience that goes hand in hand with our accommodation.
Thanks again lmlauren for your time to share your positive stay with us.
The Peninsula Boutique Hotel and Hi Tide Restaurant Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We had booked for 6 nights but when the taxi pulled up and we saw a shabby plastic sofa at the entrance we thought the driver had made a mistake. For 'boutique' read 'small, expensive and dated'. It was not at all what we expected from their photographs. We took one look at our suite and phoned the Sheraton Mirage and asked them to send a taxi for us. The Sheraton Mirage was very comfortable, with beautiful grounds and amenities... and it actually cost less than the Peninsula!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
3  Thank Shonnie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2011

Dear Shonnie1,
We were dismayed and disappointed to read your review regarding your recent planned stay with us.
Although the building is still quite new, we did have a full renovation last year just to freshen, maintain our modern appearance and remain a unique and contemporary Hotel. We are thrilled to often hear guests comment on the high standard of facilities and service that we are known for (including reviews on this site). Other Resorts in town have had no renovations in over 20 years so we are saddened that you did not believe this was the case.
We do also understand however that some travellers do prefer a 200+ room Resort rather than the personal and friendly Boutique Hotel experience.
We were also surprised at your expression regarding photographs. Both our own and the independant traveller pictures on this site are exactly the high standard and modern furnishings that we offer. It is unfortunate that the Peninsula was not as you were expecting for your holiday.
Shonnie1 - We do appreciate the feedback and thank you for time for the review.
Peninsula Boutique Hotel Management and Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly. The hotel's facilities are great from the outdoor spas and pools to the complimentary use of washing machines and driers, along with free parking. Access to the beach is a short walk across the road, the views are good and sitting on the terrace with an afternoon drink is very relaxing. Breakfast by the pools in the morning is a great way to start the day. If you are into relaxing rather then sightseeing there are books and DVDs provided. Rooms are well set out and spacious, even umbrellas are provided, in the rooms, for those sunny or rainy days. Great location, great hotel. A return visit is planned.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rix_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2011

Dear Rix_11,
It is all the little things that we provide that we believe add up to make your holiday a special experience and again so pleased to hear that you enjoyed these during your stay with us.
We dont believe in the experience of having to pay for every little extra when you stay in Hotels and it is our pleasure to provide so many complimentary services as part of your stay with us. Whether your stay was to relax and enjoy the rooms by sitting on your verandah with a cocktail and gazing out to the Coral Sea or getting out with activities in and around the local beaches, reef and rainforests, I am pleased that we could assist with planning a memorable holiday for you.
We look forward to seeing you again next year Rix_11
Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My wife and I have just spent 6 nights at the Peninsula. The hotel is the only resort that overlooks 4 mile beach. It is also located at the start of the main street (Macrossan) of Port Douglas, which is full of excellent restaurants, cafes and shops, all within walking distance. It is a true "boutique resort" with only about 20 rooms and is for adults only.
This is our second visit and we decided this time to spend a little more and book the Peninsula suite (only one in the resort) .Our suite was at the front of the complex and had great views across the beach. It had three balconies so that you have sun all day. The room is large with a kitchenette and great bathroom with large spa. You can also have a shower and look out to sea at the same time. A king bedroom leads to a spacious lounge that then opens to the front deck with the amazing views. Although the room has airconditioning, it was not required as it had lots of little louvered windows that provide plenty of cross breezes.
Buffet breakfast is inlcuded in the price and is served around the resort pool. There is a wide selection of cold and hot food and great espresso coffee. The pool area is on two levels with a top level spa that cascades down to the pool below.
This place is classy but yet understated with great staff who will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. It is a place to recoup and relax.
While we were there, the resort was awarded the "best 4.5 star hotel accomodation in Australia. This is so well deserved.
We have stayed in many great hotels in the world and this would be in our top 10.
Thanks to Sheryn and Phil and staff for a great stay, we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PierroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2011

Thank you so much PedroSydney for such a positive review and your recognition of all the unique things we can offer that no other Hotel in Port Douglas can.
We were certainly so proud to recently win Gold as the "Best 4.5 Star / Luxury Accommodation in Australia" award from the Industry's own Accommodation Association of Australia. We were so proud of our great team and property as we were up against many of the known Hotel brands and properties nationwide in Australia! We believe it was a big achievement for a Boutique Hotel in North Queensland. It is also reviews such as yours that combine with this to make us feel we are helping to provide a great holiday experience to guests such as yourself.
Thanks again PedroSydney and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

From the moment you arrive, you are made to feel welcome and very special. This is the fifth time we have stayed at Peninsula and the hotel is definitely our favourite. Phil, Sherryn and all the staff go out of their way to look after you and make sure that you holiday is one to remember.
We were celebrating a significant birthday on this occasion and travelling with a group of friends. Our hosts went to great lengths to ensure that the everything was coordinated smoothly and that all our special requirements and requests were met. They guaranteed that everyone had the most fantastic experience.
As always, the rooms were perfectly kept, the buffet breakfasts by the pool were special, and the beautiful child-free swimming pool area felt like it was our own. The location right on the beach is perfect requiring only a short stroll to all the great restaurants that Port Douglas has to offer.
We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian261638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2011

Dear Ian261638,
Go glad you visited us and our special area again this year and that you felt looked after whilst you were here.
One of the great advantages of being a Boutique Hotel with a caring team is that we can provide and cater for any special requests and I am confident that our team got to enjoy your holidays as much as you did! We are rewarded to hear of experiences such as yours Ian261638 and we look forward to your next stay so we can spoil you again!
Kind Regards,
Peninsula Boutique Hotel Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
698 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 - 13 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $209 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4 1/2 star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our multi tiered outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise. Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy... All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 Complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel. As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink. To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station. Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings. The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 17 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing