We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, fabulous people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Kewarra Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, fabulous people”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly. The hotel's facilities are great from the outdoor spas and pools to the complimentary use of washing machines and driers, along with free parking. Access to the beach is a short walk across the road, the views are good and sitting on the terrace with an afternoon drink is very relaxing. Breakfast by the pools in the morning is a great way to start the day. If you are into relaxing rather then sightseeing there are books and DVDs provided. Rooms are well set out and spacious, even umbrellas are provided, in the rooms, for those sunny or rainy days. Great location, great hotel. A return visit is planned.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rix_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear Rix_11,
It is all the little things that we provide that we believe add up to make your holiday a special experience and again so pleased to hear that you enjoyed these during your stay with us.
We dont believe in the experience of having to pay for every little extra when you stay in Hotels and it is our pleasure to provide so many complimentary services as part of your stay with us. Whether your stay was to relax and enjoy the rooms by sitting on your verandah with a cocktail and gazing out to the Coral Sea or getting out with activities in and around the local beaches, reef and rainforests, I am pleased that we could assist with planning a memorable holiday for you.
We look forward to seeing you again next year Rix_11
Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    176
    57
    15
    14
See reviews for
54
739
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My wife and I have just spent 6 nights at the Peninsula. The hotel is the only resort that overlooks 4 mile beach. It is also located at the start of the main street (Macrossan) of Port Douglas, which is full of excellent restaurants, cafes and shops, all within walking distance. It is a true "boutique resort" with only about 20 rooms and is for adults only.
This is our second visit and we decided this time to spend a little more and book the Peninsula suite (only one in the resort) .Our suite was at the front of the complex and had great views across the beach. It had three balconies so that you have sun all day. The room is large with a kitchenette and great bathroom with large spa. You can also have a shower and look out to sea at the same time. A king bedroom leads to a spacious lounge that then opens to the front deck with the amazing views. Although the room has airconditioning, it was not required as it had lots of little louvered windows that provide plenty of cross breezes.
Buffet breakfast is inlcuded in the price and is served around the resort pool. There is a wide selection of cold and hot food and great espresso coffee. The pool area is on two levels with a top level spa that cascades down to the pool below.
This place is classy but yet understated with great staff who will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. It is a place to recoup and relax.
While we were there, the resort was awarded the "best 4.5 star hotel accomodation in Australia. This is so well deserved.
We have stayed in many great hotels in the world and this would be in our top 10.
Thanks to Sheryn and Phil and staff for a great stay, we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PierroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you so much PedroSydney for such a positive review and your recognition of all the unique things we can offer that no other Hotel in Port Douglas can.
We were certainly so proud to recently win Gold as the "Best 4.5 Star / Luxury Accommodation in Australia" award from the Industry's own Accommodation Association of Australia. We were so proud of our great team and property as we were up against many of the known Hotel brands and properties nationwide in Australia! We believe it was a big achievement for a Boutique Hotel in North Queensland. It is also reviews such as yours that combine with this to make us feel we are helping to provide a great holiday experience to guests such as yourself.
Thanks again PedroSydney and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

From the moment you arrive, you are made to feel welcome and very special. This is the fifth time we have stayed at Peninsula and the hotel is definitely our favourite. Phil, Sherryn and all the staff go out of their way to look after you and make sure that you holiday is one to remember.
We were celebrating a significant birthday on this occasion and travelling with a group of friends. Our hosts went to great lengths to ensure that the everything was coordinated smoothly and that all our special requirements and requests were met. They guaranteed that everyone had the most fantastic experience.
As always, the rooms were perfectly kept, the buffet breakfasts by the pool were special, and the beautiful child-free swimming pool area felt like it was our own. The location right on the beach is perfect requiring only a short stroll to all the great restaurants that Port Douglas has to offer.
We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian261638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear Ian261638,
Go glad you visited us and our special area again this year and that you felt looked after whilst you were here.
One of the great advantages of being a Boutique Hotel with a caring team is that we can provide and cater for any special requests and I am confident that our team got to enjoy your holidays as much as you did! We are rewarded to hear of experiences such as yours Ian261638 and we look forward to your next stay so we can spoil you again!
Kind Regards,
Peninsula Boutique Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Excellent service, Sherryn and Phil and staff were friendly and went over and above to provide us with a fantastic week. Rooms and surrounds clean and tidy at all times. Fantastic views opposite pristine beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear Lyn40
We believe there are two main things amongst many others that you should experience when on holidays to shout yourself a break - one is that the team go above and beyond to ensure you have a great, spoilt, relaxing and peaceful time and the other is that the entire Hotel from the public areas to the guest rooms are kept clean and immaculate at all times. Our guests seem to relax and enjoy our beautiful tropical weather day and night around our pool, jacuzzi, spa, restaurant and sunlounge area. The whole team works so hard to create the best holiday experience for all our guests and thank you Lyn40 for recognition that we are achieving this!
Kind Regards,
Peninsula Boutique Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We've been to this small, family-run hotel a half dozen times over the past few years and usually stay for three days. The rooms are beautiful, newly-decorated this year, and either look out onto the pool area or the Coral Sea. Breakfasts on the poolside patio are consistently delicious, but we've had mixed experience with dinner at the hotel restaurant. The hotel offers washers and dryers to guests at no charge (although drying our clothes seemed to take forever this year). Phil and Sharyn, the proprietors, are very helpful and gracious. Spas in many rooms. Special bonus: during the warmer months the trees are filled with beautiful lorikeets!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCritesBorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Hi JohnCritesBorak,
Was great to see you back again this year and hopefully we'll have many more years ahead of your annual event!
We are fortunate to enjoy the company of many guests who make their stay with us an annual holiday and it is great to hear of their updates and see them again.
Thanks again JohnCritesBorak - have a great year!
Management and Staff - Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

From the moment we were greeted by Phil and Sheryn, we felt welcome and well cared-for. An excellent 1 bedroom suite with views of the ocean, a lovely pool and hot tub, and an excellent restaurant with a very good breakfast buffet (included) and delicious dinner menu.

Perfect location for the beach and walking into town.

When we get back to Port Douglas, we'll be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipstahlphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear Philipstahlphd,
So glad to hear your enjoyed our stay with us and thank you for the compliments regarding both the Hotel and Hi Tide Restaurant.
All of our team genuinely enjoy providing the Boutique Hotel experience to our guests - where they get to know all of our guests names and even get to know their tour schedules and dining preferences but still allowing peace and privacy. This allows us to really tailor make your holiday experience to exactly how you would like your holiday to be and we are thrilled to hear comments such as this come through.
Thanks again for taking the time to provide the feedback philipstahlphd.
Management of Peninsula Boutique Hotel Port Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Lovely view of the extensive white sand beach from our ocean view room (not large, but well designed and very comfortable). Food, ambience, and service very nice for all meals as well as beverages. Attentive staff, very helpful, friendly and accommodating. Nice swimming pool. Good location -- on a quiet stretch of road, but easy walk to all points in "downtown" Port Douglas.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms all seemed to be quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear BobConger,
We are so pleased we could help your holiday feel special whilst you were visiting with us at Peninsula Boutique Hotel in Port Douglas.
We believe that a comfortable room with all the special touches like fresh flowers, oil burners, fresh milk, free laundry facilities and daily servicing help our guests relax and feel just a little spoilt!
Thank you also for the compliments on the beverages and cuisine at Hi Tide Restaurant - surely combined with a comfortable room should also be great meals and tasty cocktails! We do get spoilt in Nth Queensland with delicious ingredients from the land and sea at all times of year that allow us to wieve these through our ever changing menu specials.
Thanks again BobConger - I will be sure to pass all this onto the team which make us so proud.
Kind Regards,
The Management of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
676 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 43 in Port Douglas
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Property: Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Address: 9 - 13 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4 1/2 star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our multi tiered outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise. Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy... All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 Complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel. As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink. To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station. Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings. The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 17 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing