We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of paradise in the Pacific”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise in the Pacific”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

From the moment we were greeted by Phil and Sheryn, we felt welcome and well cared-for. An excellent 1 bedroom suite with views of the ocean, a lovely pool and hot tub, and an excellent restaurant with a very good breakfast buffet (included) and delicious dinner menu.

Perfect location for the beach and walking into town.

When we get back to Port Douglas, we'll be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipstahlphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear Philipstahlphd,
So glad to hear your enjoyed our stay with us and thank you for the compliments regarding both the Hotel and Hi Tide Restaurant.
All of our team genuinely enjoy providing the Boutique Hotel experience to our guests - where they get to know all of our guests names and even get to know their tour schedules and dining preferences but still allowing peace and privacy. This allows us to really tailor make your holiday experience to exactly how you would like your holiday to be and we are thrilled to hear comments such as this come through.
Thanks again for taking the time to provide the feedback philipstahlphd.
Management of Peninsula Boutique Hotel Port Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    176
    57
    15
    14
See reviews for
54
750
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Harbor, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Lovely view of the extensive white sand beach from our ocean view room (not large, but well designed and very comfortable). Food, ambience, and service very nice for all meals as well as beverages. Attentive staff, very helpful, friendly and accommodating. Nice swimming pool. Good location -- on a quiet stretch of road, but easy walk to all points in "downtown" Port Douglas.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms all seemed to be quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear BobConger,
We are so pleased we could help your holiday feel special whilst you were visiting with us at Peninsula Boutique Hotel in Port Douglas.
We believe that a comfortable room with all the special touches like fresh flowers, oil burners, fresh milk, free laundry facilities and daily servicing help our guests relax and feel just a little spoilt!
Thank you also for the compliments on the beverages and cuisine at Hi Tide Restaurant - surely combined with a comfortable room should also be great meals and tasty cocktails! We do get spoilt in Nth Queensland with delicious ingredients from the land and sea at all times of year that allow us to wieve these through our ever changing menu specials.
Thanks again BobConger - I will be sure to pass all this onto the team which make us so proud.
Kind Regards,
The Management of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. When we checked in, there were iced flannels and iced water provided by the receptionist. Nothing was too much trouble. We were shown to our room which overlooked the ocean. It was a great room spacious with a comfortable bed. I cannot praise the staff of this hotel enough. All went the extra mile. We ate in the restaraunt on one of the nights. Food was excellent. Breakfast was first class, just cannot fault this hotel at all. Most definatley recommended.

Room Tip: Stay here. Its a great hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Humphriesout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear Humpheriesone,
Thank you so much for the glowing review and we are so pleased you were happy with all aspects of the Hotel.
The Management and Staff do strive to ensure that guests get to see and experience not only a beautiful part of the world in Nth Queensland but also the little touches of service, excellent cuisine and tropical but relaxed setting that all combine to help our guests feel relaxed, spoilt and well fed!
It would be a pleasure to look after you again Humphriesone if you were ever in our part of the world again.
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Stayed here for 2nts in March - great apartment style property in a great location and overlooking Four Mile Beach.
Great hosts, great food and lovely setting. Highly recommend and look foward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downundertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear downundertravels,
Thank for your great compliments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the staff, setting and also the hosts! We hope you enjoyed your travels everywhere in our beautiful country.
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

On this occasion we wanted to stay in an hotel in the central part of Port Douglas, and the Peninsula fitted the bill. It is in a quiet position, but just off the main street. Just across the road is Four Mile Beach, and the netted area for swimming is less than 100 yards away.
Our room was enormousand equipped with a fridge containing fresh milk and chilled water as well as a small selection of drinks,and a "kitchen" area. The bathroom was spacious and well equipped,.From our balcony we could access the pool area which was unusual in layout but very welcome on a hot day.
The reception staff were able to advise about activities and book them all, which they did helpfully and willingly.
Because this is a small hotel the bar is small and only open for restricted hours - essentially when the restaurant is open. The restaurant itself was a bit disappointing, with rather "ordinary" food, although it was a pleasant room and the service was good. Breakfast by the pool was all that was needed.
There is a laundry room for free use by guests and this was much appreciated
Overall we enjoyed the Peninsula, although it may not appeal to those who want lavish luxury - and a late bar.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanHYarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear IanHYarm,
Thank you for the lovely review regarding your stay with us. We do feel fortunate to be able to provide the only Hotel in Port Douglas with beach and ocean views.
I will certainly pass on your compliments to both our Reception and Restaurant staff. Hi Tide Restaurant does offer both cutting edge ModOz cuisine and also a selection of more traditional food - we find this is in demand with our guests who tend to sometimes want more reasonably priced, simple, home cooked cuisine after periods of time travelling through Hotels that only offer rich, complex dishes generally only available in Hotel restaurants. We find guests can certainly find something delicious and suitable with the combination of these two.
Thanks again IanHYarm - we look forward to seeing you again in Port Douglas!
Kind Regards,
The Management and staff at Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

This is a very good hotel. Family run with great staff. Close to the town centre with restaurants in walking distance, although they serve a mean meal themselves so you may not want to go to town. Would I return - definately

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Public Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Dear DSB57 - Thank you for the great compliments in particular regarding the hi tide cafe-bar-restaurant cuisine. We have been working particularly hard in the last several months and I am thrilled you enjoyed the new menus utilizing fresh, local ingredients. We receive many compliments regarding the restaurant from our guests and locals alike who enjoy creative and delicious cuisine whilst enjoying the only restaurant in Port Douglas that gazes out over the beautiful Coral Sea. Thanks again DSB57 and I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our Chefs and friendly waitstaff.
Kind Regards,
Peninsula Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I arrived at the reception desk at the Peninsula Hotel at 7am on Saturday morning after a less than satisfactory night at another resort. All I can say is that the service I received was above and beyond anything that I have ever experienced. The team at Peninsula rescued our holiday. By 8am my husband and I were sitting having a coffee at the Peninsula in a beautiful room over looking 4 Mile beach. The room was clean, welcoming and had all the features you need when on holiday. If you are looking for a quite relaxing get away then we would recommend the Peninsula is a must. The entire team are warm and welcoming, professional and respectful. The location is perfect, two minutes to the beach and a short walk to all the shops on the main street. The facilities are excellent, coffee fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kits23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherynpb, Public Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Dear kits23 - So pleased to read of your kind review and so pleased we could assist last minute with your move to us. I am glad that we could make your holiday memorable in our beautiful part of North QLD and that you got to enjoy our relaxed and ambient Hotel. Our staff are so rewarded to hear of how our guests enjoy the close location to the main street of Port Douglas and beautiful views over the ocean. hi tide cafe-bar-restaurant located in the Hotel specialize in delicious handmade Lavazza coffee and I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our Baristas. Thanks you again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards,
Peninsula Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
683 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Property: Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Address: 9 - 13 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4 1/2 star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our multi tiered outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise. Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy... All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 Complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel. As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink. To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station. Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings. The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 17 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing