We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra On The Inlet
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“love this hotel”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Had a great stay in this hotel.Fantastic rooms,we had the one bedroom appartment with spa.Had a great view over the inlet,the best room I rekon.The kitchen was well equipped and there was a washing machine,dryer and iron.The bathroom was big with a big spa to relax in.The most comfortable king bed.There is free parking for guests.So many resturants in walking distance.The pool isn't big but nice to cool down in.There are no lifts at this hotel so lots of stairs to climb to your room,we were on the top floor.I would definatly stay here again.We had 3 great nights.

Room Tip: Room 221 facing the inlet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank time0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    68
    49
    19
    8
See reviews for
45
101
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Airport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived and was made welcome, the $200 security was a bit of a suprise as we booked through an agent and this was not explained to us, limited us to what we could use. Husband enjoyed the fact that we could go anywhere without a car and was picked up for any other activites we had organised from the main street without fuss. Reception assisted with making pick up times and checking our schedule this was a bonus as we had the wrong pickup written down. TV was a bit small and you could not watch it from the bed properly due to the positon it was placed. Otherwise the location suited us well. Husband said that he would like to come back to the same place again as he really enjoyed himself, first holiday for a long time it was our 30th Anniversary and first decent break. Next time would book an apartment for the space and kitchen.

Room Tip: Go for an apartment room if staying any longer than 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi Debbie V.

Great to hear that you enjoyed the convenience that Mantra On The Inlet has to offer.
I am glad to hear that our friendly staf were able to complete all your tour reservations as we have some wonderful activities to explore around the Port Douglas area.

I do recomend that you book a one bedroom unit rather than a hotel room for a stay of two nights or more.
The one bedroom unit gives you much more space , a kitchenette and a lovely balcony to enjoy the weather.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Port again soon.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Excellent Location, and room amenities fantastic! Very minimal noise and free parking below! Although you dont need a car as you are so central you can walk anywhere!

Unfortunately though the rooms are not serviced! And there are no spare sheets or towels if you need them! and they wont give them out at reception without payment for house keeping!! So you empty your own bins own in the basement, and there were no clean sheets for the fold out couch, or for us to change our own beds!! We were here for 4 nights, its just a little too long to go without your room being serviced!

Room Tip: No lifts at this place! So be prepared to carry everything up and down the stairs (pack lightly!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebonybridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Ebonybridget.

Great to hear that you found the location of Mantra On The Inlet suitable for your stay.
We do explain on all our inforamtion that our units are not serviced , however you can certainly order a room service at minimal cost.

We do have a luggage lift available to save you carrying bags up and down the stairs.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the one bedroom apartment. First night was a hotel room which we found very small but the helpful staff - Wendy - managed to move us to an apartment which was really lovely - spacious and well appointed with a great balcony. Liked the location right in the heart of town and although the pool was small it was still nice with a spa and too many great things to do in Port Douglas to be wanting to spend time at a hotel pool! Thanks Wendy for looking after us. Julie and Neil.

Room Tip: A lot of stairs so not good for some people. We were on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 515Julie1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Mantra on the Inlet was conveniently located right in the main street so need for a car, but if you have a car there is underground parking. Noise was minimal. Reception area was quite small. Mantra reception person asked for credit card but I use a debit card more then credit so that was ok. I did not realise that they take money from your account as collateral, they took $200 and did not even tell me. If it had not been for a friend that was with me I would have been none the wiser. That really left me with a bad taste in my mouth, plus inconvenienced me cash wise! No elevators in this complex so lucky there was two of us to lug large luggage up a couple of flights of stairs, Mantra staff did not offer! No Wi-Fi available in hotel.
I will not use Mantra again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind being in the heart of Port Douglas, and don't mind parting with $200 bucks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesg0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Julesg0610.

I am glad you enjoyed the convenience of staying with us here in the middle of Port Douglas.
The $200 pre authorisation on your credit card is standard procedure and is explained during the check in procedure.
This is held on your account for a maximum of five business days and is then available again.
I am sorry to did not find the luggage lift which is located alongside the stairs for guest convenience.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Douglas hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I quickly booked this hotel because it was on special. The location is quite good right next to the main street. The pool is a little boring (the Mantra further up the road is a thousand times better if you want to park yourself next to the pool for a couple days). Parking is free under the hotel but unfortunately no free wifi. Not really service at all. We booked a hotel room not an apartment so I just assumed our room would be cleaned or at least we didn't have to take out our own rubbish. Probably just my mistake. I only saw people on reception a few times. Didn't really matter though as we spent most of the time on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spannng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

So accommodating for all our wedding guests. Everyone loved their rooms and the location is second to none! I was even escorted to the post office to pick up a case of wine we ordered by post.
Such a great location next to the pub. You wouldn't even know it was so close once your in the room, it's so quiet.

See you at our 1 year anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leilani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi Leilani B.

I am glad to hear that the big wedding event all went off as planned and all your guests enjoyed Port Douglas for the weekend.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014 !

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 43 in Port Douglas
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#36 of 43 in Port Douglas
194 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
#14 of 43 in Port Douglas
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Villas Resort
Bay Villas Resort
#27 of 43 in Port Douglas
358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#23 of 43 in Port Douglas
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On The Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On The Inlet

Property: Mantra On The Inlet
Address: Corner Macrossan & Wharf Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger on the Inlet)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra On The Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Port Douglas's entertainment and dining precinct, Mantra on the Inlet is surrounded by outdoor cafes, world class restaurants and some of "Port's" original pubs, as well as boutique shopping to suit every taste. Set against the picturesque backdrop of the Dickson Inlet with stunning views of the surrounding mountain ranges, Mantra on the Inlet offers a range of hotel rooms and self-contained one and two bedroom suites. Featuring traditional colonial-style architecture, modern cedar-accented furnishings, air conditioning, ceiling fans, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and cable TV. Our suites offer the convenience of kitchenette and laundry facilities as well as a private balcony with an indulgent whirlpool spa. The resort offers a range of guest services and facilities to ensure an enjoyable and entertaining holiday including complimentary parking, in-room internet access and a tour desk, while outside we feature a heated pool, spa and barbeque area. Port Douglas is the only place on earth where two World Heritage listed attractions exist, with the Great Barrier Reef on one side and the beautiful Daintree Rainforest on the other. More than just World Heritage listed attractions, Port Douglas is also famed for its dining with over 50 cafes and restaurants with everything from pub food to fine cuisine. Lining the streets you will find great shopping including casual market stalls to boutique fashions. With the marina only 100 metres away and directly opposite Dickson Inlet and Anzac Pack, the site of the famous Sunday Markets, Mantra on the Inlet is the perfect base to start your Port Douglas getaway. Please note there is no lift access, this is a stair only property. Important information: Sunday 11 June 2017 - Cairns Airport IRONMAN Asia-Pacific Championship Cairns – will involve changed traffic conditions. The Captain Cook Highway between the Cairns Airport and Port Douglas will be closed from 5.30am until 5.30pm due to the annual Cairns Airport Ironman Asia Pacific Championship. For more information visit cairnsadventurefestival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra On The Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Inlet Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing