We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well presented room but customer service non existant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra On The Inlet
Ranked #30 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Mantra on the Inlet was conveniently located right in the main street so need for a car, but if you have a car there is underground parking. Noise was minimal. Reception area was quite small. Mantra reception person asked for credit card but I use a debit card more then credit so that was ok. I did not realise that they take money from your account as collateral, they took $200 and did not even tell me. If it had not been for a friend that was with me I would have been none the wiser. That really left me with a bad taste in my mouth, plus inconvenienced me cash wise! No elevators in this complex so lucky there was two of us to lug large luggage up a couple of flights of stairs, Mantra staff did not offer! No Wi-Fi available in hotel.
I will not use Mantra again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind being in the heart of Port Douglas, and don't mind parting with $200 bucks...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julesg0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hi Julesg0610.

I am glad you enjoyed the convenience of staying with us here in the middle of Port Douglas.
The $200 pre authorisation on your credit card is standard procedure and is explained during the check in procedure.
This is held on your account for a maximum of five business days and is then available again.
I am sorry to did not find the luggage lift which is located alongside the stairs for guest convenience.

Regards , Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Mantra On The Inlet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 222 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

I quickly booked this hotel because it was on special. The location is quite good right next to the main street. The pool is a little boring (the Mantra further up the road is a thousand times better if you want to park yourself next to the pool for a couple days). Parking is free under the hotel but unfortunately no free wifi. Not really service at all. We booked a hotel room not an apartment so I just assumed our room would be cleaned or at least we didn't have to take out our own rubbish. Probably just my mistake. I only saw people on reception a few times. Didn't really matter though as we spent most of the time on the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spannng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

So accommodating for all our wedding guests. Everyone loved their rooms and the location is second to none! I was even escorted to the post office to pick up a case of wine we ordered by post.
Such a great location next to the pub. You wouldn't even know it was so close once your in the room, it's so quiet.

See you at our 1 year anniversary!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leilani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hi Leilani B.

I am glad to hear that the big wedding event all went off as planned and all your guests enjoyed Port Douglas for the weekend.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014 !

Regards , Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was a last minute trip to Port Douglas booked through an agency so we had no idea what our options were. The hotel is in a great location for town shopping and beach access. The room was very small but nice, clean and comfortable. Friendly staff and convenient restaurant, pool, bar, etc. I would look into other room options they provide before booking but overall it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hi Dan H.

Good to hear that you enjoyed the convenient loctaion of Mantra On The Inlet.

Please contact us should you be looking at returning as you will find a one bedroom apartment much more spacious with a balcony and kitchette for your convenience.

Regards , Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Initially a tricky reception to find as we arrived after dark, however the phone system and the keys in the safe trick sorted itself out ok. Room on second floor very comfortable but would have liked to have known about luggage lift (only discovered this feature after reading reviews after our stay,)
Very convenient location but the big downer was the incessant noise from the courthouse hotel air con and kitchen exhaust fan, that really did detract from what was otherwise a very pleasant stay. It meant that we had to keep the balcony doors closed to be able to sleep.
On that basis it is unlikely we would stay at the Inlet again, however the Mantra Heritage looks very attractive for our next visit providing we can get a reasonable rate.

Alan R

Room Tip: Make sure your room does not overlook or open out to either of the pubs located on both the north an...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 6 days in one of their one bedroom apartments. We found our room was fully equipped with standard kitchenette, small laundry, balcony and bathroom including spa bath. The combined dining and lounge area was big enough for us to enjoy and we got a room facing the park and historical church. It is a beautiful view. The location is slightly hidden from the street and we passed it a couple of times before we found it. However, the location is in the main street, which has many cafes, bars and restaurants and it is also a short walk to the marina.
We enjoyed our time at Mantra on the Inlet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in July 2013 in a 2 bedroom apartment with another couple. The 2 bedrooms were far enough apart from each other to ensure privacy, although the master only had a wooden screen door to pull across from the living area. The kitchen was very small, really only a kitchenette. The entrance to the hotel was a bit tricky to find, especially as there are 3 Mantra properties all very close together in PD. the location was great, right on Macrossan St and between the town's 2 pubs. However, this meant it was VERY noisy on Friday and Saturday nights until midnight when the live music stopped. After travelling all day Friday we were exhausted but couldn't sleep due to the noise. The pool was nice, but small and in shade for most of the day. The other negative was no lift in the property. Although its only 2 stories high, it was still a pain to be lugging shopping/luggage etc around and up and down stairs. It certainly wasn't the worst place we've ever stayed but would not choose to stay here again for reasons mentioned.

Room Tip: I don't know if any rooms are quieter than others during the weekends as the music from the pubs...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shnooks82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Hi Shnooks82.

Thank you for your feedback.
Great to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location that Mantra On The Inlet offers.
This also means that there is also some noise from the adjacent hotels as you are right on Macrossan Street.
Please let me know directly for any future bookings and I am sure we can accomodate you in one of our many Mantra Port Douglas resorts to minimise any noise
I am sorry to hear that you were unabale to locate the luggage lift located next to the stairs - as this is certainly useful to save any weightlifting on your holiday !

We look forward to seeing you back in Port again soon.

Regards , Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#38 of 42 in Port Douglas
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
#39 of 42 in Port Douglas
74 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#23 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On The Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On The Inlet

Address: Corner Macrossan & Wharf Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger on the Inlet)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $94 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra On The Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Inlet offers hotel rooms or 1 & 2 bedroom spa suites (complete with whirlpool spas and private timber balconies) all our accommodation provides air conditioned comfort and access to facilities like our heated outdoor pool & spa and our BBQ area. And if you don’t feel like cooking, the town’s best pub meals are under your nose – literally. Sitting opposite the Dickson Inlet, the resort also offers direct access to boating facilities as well as the departure point for day trips to the World Heritage listed Great Barrier Reef. Our convenient location is also perfect to enjoy leisurely strolls on the old pier or waterfront and sitting on top of Port Douglas' oldest hotel, The Court House, a great meal is never far away. Port Douglas' boutique stores and chic cafes are also just a short walk down Macrossan Street, the main strip of Port Douglas, or for those days you want to relax at the resort why not wander through our tropical landscaped gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra On The Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Inlet Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing