We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not A Big Luxury Resort but Nice Nonetheless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra On The Inlet
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not A Big Luxury Resort but Nice Nonetheless”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was here for a 4 day business hike and have to say that the Outrigger whilst fine in many respects, lacks the wow factor of other resorts in the Port Douglas area. My room was on the first elevation and looked over the (small) pool. The king sized bed was extremely comfy and I loved the wooden floors, blinds and shutters that gave me the impression that I staying in a big old Queenslander-style home. Whilst my room didn't really have any facilities apart from basic coffee making, it was cool on the couple of hot days that I experienced and there was a nice big LED TV at the foot of the bed for lounging in front of. Fellow travellers commented that they thought the place was a bit dated but the price tag of the nightly stays compared to other hotels in the areas was on the cheaper side. It is only a short walk to the beach and down to the marina area where you take off for charter tours onto the Great Barrier Reef. A number of restaurants are also literally within a couple of minutes walk and the place is genuinely quiet and safe fro lone travellers. Check in/check out was not a hassle with friendly service. The room was serviced each day thoroughly. Only complaint was that the promised wifi was patchy the whole time I was there making work contact a little difficult and mobile service due to being at the back of the building was patchy. I could also hear some of the noise from what I'm guessing was cleaner's room first thing in the morning which woke me and there was some noise from fellow travellers. Overall though this is not a bad place to stay if you're budget conscious but still want somewhere reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    68
    49
    19
    8
See reviews for
45
103
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Coolum, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient and clean. Just a hotel room not an apartment. I had no balcony or view as researched. The blinds/shutters had to be shut 24/7 because of other guests passing by. The pool is very small and shaded most of the day. No daily servicing unless you pay a hefty fee. Would recommend an apartment closer to the main swimming beach with a decent sized swimming pool in the sun. Tropical Reef Apartments looked nice with two pools in a great position.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanelleMountCoolum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi JanelleMountCoolum.

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback after your recent stay with us here at Mantra On The Inlet.
Great to hear that you found your room clean and centrally located.

Our one bedroom units all have balconies and may suit you for a return visit as the hotel rooms do not have a balcony.
Our units are all non serviced but we can certainly offer a daily service if required.

Mantra On The Inlet is popular due to our location but if you would like a larger pool facility next time , Mantra Heritage nearby may suit you better.

Please let me know and I would be happy to find a Mantra Resort that best suits your needs.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed here a few times as it is conveniently positioned opposite the markets and near the pubs/restaurants.
Website said minimum two nights stay so telephoned to book and the receptionist quoted a price, but said she would ring back if she could do better which she did by a large margin!
Quick, efficient checkin and very friendly.
We had a one bed apartment as we find the hotel rooms a bit small and they can be noisey.
Ask for a room overlooking the park as the Lorikeets in the tree on Macrossan can make a hell of a noise if disturbed in the night!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrpigCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

a wonderfull easter and my 50th birthday party in Port Douglas whilst staying at "Mantra on The In Let".
Excellent location with some rooms having direct views of the inlet, nice to have wine and watch the sunset on your own private balcony.
Hotel has no lift so its stairs all the way. Pool is small however perfect for a dip.
Rooms well appoited and nice decor, will be back.

Room Tip: askl for a room over looking the inlet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hervey_Bay_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Booked in at the hotel unaware that there was no lift and 4 flights of stairs to get to our room, when asking one of the staff members they stated they don't advertise as it may turn people away. There were no rooms on the lower levels and could not move me to another mantra (only had knee surgery 3 months ago) the rooms were dirty, i mean rub hand along blinds and grab dust dirty. poky room, only get one bed if booking ever.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BECL798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi BECL798.

Thank you for your feedback.

Mantra On The Inlet does in fact havea luggage lift but does not have an elevator.
We would have been happy to shift you to one of our other Mantra Resorts if we had been able to.
I am sorry to hear that youy did not find the cleaning up to our usual high standard , please always remember to let us know while in house so that we could have attended to this for you.

Please let me know if you are returning to Port Douglas and I would be happy to find a suitable resort for you.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast, australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the mantra was very relaxing and the room we had was really good for the money. It was clean and spacious.
The location was great. Close to everything in the main street and most importantly the courty hotel was right at the door as you came out which served awesome food as well. The mantra on the inlet has a few stairs so if you don't like stairs this wouldn't be a place for you to stay. Overall we has a great holiday.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kyliekris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Booked in via last minute deals no mention that there is no lift on mantra on the inlet site.
Comfy bed, lovely aircond room, very poky but adequate for 1 night.
Would be very difficult for anyone who is disabled in any way or elderly to access rooms
Pool nice if small and corner spa nice touch.
Conveniently situated, office lady very helpful and a pleasure to deal with.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Gail B.

Thank you for your feedback.

Mantra On The Inlet hasa luggage lift but is a walk up resort so apologies for any inconvenience there.

If you would prefer full lift facilities , I can suggest Mantra Heritage or Mantra In The Village resorts which are close by.

The one bedroom units are very spacious compared to the hotel rooms and may suit you better on your next stay.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#25 of 42 in Port Douglas
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#36 of 42 in Port Douglas
195 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bay Villas Resort
Bay Villas Resort
#28 of 42 in Port Douglas
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
#13 of 42 in Port Douglas
394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#23 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On The Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On The Inlet

Property: Mantra On The Inlet
Address: Corner Macrossan & Wharf Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger on the Inlet)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra On The Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Port Douglas's entertainment and dining precinct, Mantra on the Inlet is surrounded by outdoor cafes, world class restaurants and some of "Port's" original pubs, as well as boutique shopping to suit every taste. Set against the picturesque backdrop of the Dickson Inlet with stunning views of the surrounding mountain ranges, Mantra on the Inlet offers a range of hotel rooms and self-contained one and two bedroom suites. Featuring traditional colonial-style architecture, modern cedar-accented furnishings, air conditioning, ceiling fans, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and cable TV. Our suites offer the convenience of kitchenette and laundry facilities as well as a private balcony with an indulgent whirlpool spa. The resort offers a range of guest services and facilities to ensure an enjoyable and entertaining holiday including complimentary parking, in-room internet access and a tour desk, while outside we feature a heated pool, spa and barbeque area. Port Douglas is the only place on earth where two World Heritage listed attractions exist, with the Great Barrier Reef on one side and the beautiful Daintree Rainforest on the other. More than just World Heritage listed attractions, Port Douglas is also famed for its dining with over 50 cafes and restaurants with everything from pub food to fine cuisine. Lining the streets you will find great shopping including casual market stalls to boutique fashions. With the marina only 100 metres away and directly opposite Dickson Inlet and Anzac Pack, the site of the famous Sunday Markets, Mantra on the Inlet is the perfect base to start your Port Douglas getaway. Please note there is no lift access, this is a stair only property. Important information: Sunday 11 June 2017 - Cairns Airport IRONMAN Asia-Pacific Championship Cairns – will involve changed traffic conditions. The Captain Cook Highway between the Cairns Airport and Port Douglas will be closed from 5.30am until 5.30pm due to the annual Cairns Airport Ironman Asia Pacific Championship. For more information visit cairnsadventurefestival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra On The Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Inlet Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing