We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful good value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra On The Inlet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra On The Inlet
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful good value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Gorgeous apartment room, really attractively furnished and good amenities - cooker, washing machine, balcony, spa bath. Great location and friendly staff. The pool is quite small so not recommended if that is a main focus of the trip, but we didn't actually use it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    44
    35
    14
    6
See reviews for
22
63
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Love the apartment and location makes it easy to get around and enjoy the night markets and nightlife in general. The only downside is the pool is small and the wi fi is very expensive. Staff are reliable and great to help organise tours to the reef.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clatworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi Clatworthy.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here in the heart of beautiful Port Douglas.

Please let me know if we can accommodate you at one of our other Port Douglas Mantra Resorts next time which havea larger pool facilities.

We look forward to seeing back again.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcar,cleveland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Drove up for an overnight stay, from cairns, underground parking free,hotel above the busiest pub in town, it was T bone steak night as well,so we had to have that ( great)thought our room might be noisy , but it was fine, great view ,room was gorgeous, with spa , and balcony ,perfect location to walk home after doing the pubs at night!even the toiletries were divine, lemon grass soap, I took it home!

Room Tip: we wanted a twin room, and the agent phoned and asked for more money as they only had double rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leighrawlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked this online and except for an awkward moment when a staff member phoned and tried to get us to pay more than the internet deal the experience was blissful - a perfect location for a quick trip to Port Douglas, convenient for the pier for the sunset cruise - handy for the shops, restaurants and bars, no need for shuttle buses or finding a parking space.
The room had a separate lounge and dining area and a small kitchenette with microwave, washing machine, large fridge, fully equipped kitchen for making breakfast or light meals - which we didn't need for one night - but perfect if staying longer. Good air-conditioning, or the choice of opening the fold back doors onto the balcony to enjoy a glass of wine or three under the fan...
Would recommend for everyone except those on a new romantic venture as the en-suite bathroom does not have a door and only wooden shutters between it and a large window above the spa bath into the bedroom - so no privacy in this area....blush!
All in all, with the online last minute deal a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollapalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Mantra on the Inlet during the week. The room was well appointed; I found it worked well for us. The tiny kitchenette was great for breakfasts and the balcony proved to be a great place to chill out. I liked the louvered doors to the balcony and to the bedroom, the room was dark at night. I've read other reviews and am surprised by the comments about the noise. We didn't experience any problems, but we were there Monday through Friday.

The Mantra is on the main street, within easy walking distance of the water, restaurants and the many opportunities at the marina. We will definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We absolutely loved our 7 night stay at On The Inlet! We were in a park (inlet) view room with a massive wrap-around balcony which was perfect for relaxing on and watching the boats come in as the sun went down. The room was surprisingly large for a 1 bedder and we loved the way all the doors folded back to make a huge indoor/outdoor space. The only downsides were the scuffed/dirty floor and the amount of noise from the pub, but these things are easily outweighed by the positives.

We didn't see any kids at all during our stay which makes this place ideal for couples. The pool is small, but quaint, and he BBQ is excellent. The receptionist, Wendy was very down to earth and helpful.

Nothing but great memories of this place and will definitely be going back!

Oh p.s we also loved the 2 LCD TVs!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

These apartments are perfect for a week long holiday in Port Douglas. We stayed in room 221, which was the apartment furthest from the bars and pubs. We had a beautiful balcony that we sat at during breakfast, we particularly enjoyed the outdoor fan located above the balcony. The room was spacious and enjoyable to come back to after a long day out. The apartments are in a great spot, we never had to walk far to get anywhere in the town. The only downside was that the room wasn't serviced due to our stay being 6 nights instead of 7 nights. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPMM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi EPMM7.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Mantra On The Inlet.

It really is hard to beat sitting back on the timber deck and relaxing while soaking up the Port Douglas serenity !

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#35 of 44 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#17 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#21 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra in the Village
Mantra in the Village
#33 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Villas Resort
Bay Villas Resort
#22 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On The Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On The Inlet

Property: Mantra On The Inlet
Address: Corner Macrossan & Wharf Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger on the Inlet)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mantra On The Inlet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Port Douglas's entertainment and dining precinct, Mantra on the Inlet is surrounded by outdoor cafes, world class restaurants and some of "Port's" original pubs, as well as boutique shopping to suit every taste. Set against the picturesque backdrop of the Dickson Inlet with stunning views of the surrounding mountain ranges, Mantra on the Inlet offers a range of hotel rooms and self-contained one and two bedroom suites. Featuring traditional colonial-style architecture, modern cedar-accented furnishings, air conditioning, ceiling fans, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and cable TV. Our suites offer the convenience of kitchenette and laundry facilities as well as a private balcony with an indulgent whirlpool spa. The resort offers a range of guest services and facilities to ensure an enjoyable and entertaining holiday including complimentary parking, in-room internet access and a tour desk, while outside we feature a heated pool, spa and barbeque area. Port Douglas is the only place on earth where two World Heritage listed attractions exist, with the Great Barrier Reef on one side and the beautiful Daintree Rainforest on the other. More than just World Heritage listed attractions, Port Douglas is also famed for its dining with over 50 cafes and restaurants with everything from pub food to fine cuisine. Lining the streets you will find great shopping including casual market stalls to boutique fashions. With the marina only 100 metres away and directly opposite Dickson Inlet and Anzac Pack, the site of the famous Sunday Markets, Mantra on the Inlet is the perfect base to start your Port Douglas getaway. Please note there is no lift access, this is a stair only property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra On The Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Inlet Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing