We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calypso Dive Tours”

Calypso Reef Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$174.91*
and up
Calypso Outer Great Barrier Reef Cruise from Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great memories are built on great experiences and Calypso delivers both. From the dive enthusiast to the less experienced swimmer, Calypso Snorkel & Dive provides a unique and personalised experience for each guest. Calypso pride themselves on providing a fast, stable and enjoyable ride to the outer reef without over crowding the vessel. As an advanced eco certified operator, Calypso is committed to the protection of the reef through continual innovation, conservation and preservation processes.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Calypso Dive Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful day with Calypso today. The outer reef is great and the snorkelling tops. All crew were most helpful and courteous. Would recommend to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank PamSpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reef83, Reservations at Calypso Reef Cruises, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi Pam

Thanks for taking the time to write us this review. We are pleased that you had a wonderful experience with us at the out reef and you enjoyed your snorkelling while you were there.

Hopefully we will see you back here one day.

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,374
    245
    51
    31
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome snorkel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Got to see so much of the reef in different locations. Staff were friendly and knowledgable. Complementary snacks are on board too. Had an awesome time !!

Helpful?
Thank Angus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reef83, Reservations at Calypso Reef Cruises, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for your review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your day with us and that you found our crew to be knowledgeable and friendly.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of you stay in FNQ and hope to see you again one day.

Regards

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, SK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best snorkeling ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Snorkeling on the Great Barrier Reef on the Calypso was a dream-come-true! Not only was the snorkeling excellent, the staff were knowledgable and helpful. Paul knows everything there is to know about the Reef, Alex, the photographer, could make one look good, even with a mask and snorkel on! The rest of the crew were very helpful and knowledgeable. As well as seeing multitudes of small fishes and many varieties of coral, we saw a sea turtle and several white-tip reef sharks. Was thrilling! The number of people on the boat was smaller then other companies which ensured that anyone who needed assistance got it and wasn't left out. A head count was done after each of the three snorkel/dive sites. The snacks and lunch were good, too. A highly recommended exclusion all-day excursion!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reef83, Reservations at Calypso Reef Cruises, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review. Its always great to hear that people have had a great day with the crew and that they found the snorkelling excellent!

We hope to see you again someday.

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good reef trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We enjoyed our reef day, although it was incredibly expensive- however, all the trips to the outer reef are. Paul? the onboard biologist did a fantastic talk and answered questions about the marine life. Only negative was when we tried to join in the snorkel "tour" that he led, it was virtually impossible to participate because there were too many people trying to follow him, listen etc. and we got kicked in the face multiple times by other swimmers. No problem, we just snorkeled on our own as we have done lots of snorkeling before and could make things out pretty well alone. Not sure I would recommend this for someone who is not a confident swimmer and snorkeler as you are in the ocean and the water is rough (maybe not always) so there is a lot of water splashing into your snorkel, a lot of wave action bouncing you around etc.
The food offered for lunch was adequate and filling, not gourmet but fine. Staff was nice although the photographer seemed peeved that we didn't want our picture taken before diving in (we had our own camera).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank swimseib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reef83, Reservations at Calypso Reef Cruises, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review.

We are sorry that you didn't get a chance to experience the snorkel tour with Paul, it is unfortunate that you were unable to get close enough to listen to his talks without colliding with other snorkelers. With Pauls wealth of knowledge he does attract a lot of followers.

Its good you are experienced snorkelers so you were able to enjoy your snorkelling adventure without a guide.

Hopefully we will see you again up in FNQ and we can offer you a less windy experience.

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My hubby and I were on the calypso and had a wonderful day. Matty picked us up in the morning and we loved his laid back, happy attitude which continued throughout the day.
The staff were fantastic, Lisa (?) the skipper was extremely friendly and chatty, the photographer was great, got great photos.
Overall we had an amazing day, loved the staffs fun laidback attitudes. Loved it and would recommend it to everyone one of our family and friends.

Helpful?
Thank Nikollay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reef83, Reservations at Calypso Reef Cruises, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review

We are thrilled that both you and your husband had a wonderful day with our crew on the reef.

We are happy that you got some great photo's to take home with you to remind you of your amazing day with us.

We hope to see you up in the Far North again sometime soon.

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Reef Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Calypso Reef Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing