We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reight good hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dougies Backpackers Resort
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed for three days (paid for a block week at a discount price but found an apartment, they refunded the days we hadn't stayed!) We used one of the parking spots but were able to use all facilities, decent kitchen facilities, on site bar and restaurant, large, clean toilets, staff were dead friendly and helped with any questions. Even pointed us to a notice board with daily job opportunities (if you're in Port Douglas to work). Many guests are working in PD but also many travellers too. Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 261 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Dougies in Port Dougie isn't bad. Pin was in a 4 bed dorm, beds were clean enough, although room was quite small and at night got very stuffy, it did come with a ceiling mounted fan and 'air con' but it didn't help much.

Toilet/shower area were clean, and there was a good washer/dryer area behind toilet block.

Bar/kitchen was good and decent prices on food & drinks.

Hostel is about a 20/25 min walk to centre of port douglas.

Does seem like slot of long termers at dougies, however they're all cools you get speaking to them.

Special mention goes out to Lindsay on reception who assisted me with a terrible hangover. Legend.

Overall, not a bad place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muzzdog3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Not only did we get a free round trip ride from and to Cairns (we went on a Saturday and left on Monday) but the bus driver also gave us a quick tour to show us where the beach, shopping and lookout all were. Very nice and facilities, pool seems like it has half chlorine and half saltwater. They also have some pretty scrumptious paninis!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Bianca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We just stay here for a night and we booked for a 4 beds dorm room.
The staff is friendly and helpful and we take the shuttle bus from Port Douglas to Cairns for free :)

The hostel is nice but little bit dirty due to many people I think..

I will recommend to stay here and it's close to 4 miles beach, just little bit far away from town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We got the free bus from Cairns (what a bonus!!) and happened to arrive on the night of there 15th birthday and halloween party. We were staying in the double room, very nice it was, but a little close to the bar. The music was loud but we fell asleep quickly as we were still jet lagged. The rest of the week was good, fun vibrant atmosphere, friendly helpful staff would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We only stopped here overnight on our way through to Cairns from Cape Tribulation. Some of our group stayed in the tents which seemed much nicer than the dorm beds. Electric lighting and real beds in the tents which are permanent fixtures, more like teepees. Will definitely try this next time, this was also the cheapest option. Was given a discount for being a YHA member but only $1 pppn.

Quite a walk into town but they may have a courtesy bus, we were driving so had no need for this service.

The toilets and showers were a big luxury with lots of space for changing in the cubicles and nicely decorated with huge mirrors!!

There is a café on site that gives a 10% discount for Dougie’s guests. Had breakfast for $4.95!! It felt like the bar had a good vibe and there was lots of space for socializing.

Staff were very helpful and provided us with maps for our further travel.

Room Tip: Try the teepees for something a bit out of the box
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

For anyone looking into travelling to Port Douglas, Dougies is the place to stay!! They also offer a free transfer from Cairns to Port Douglas a few times a week. The atmosphere is really relaxed and anything you could expect from a hostel is made available. They also offer camp sites and van parking in the back. I had an amazing experience here!! Please visit my blog at breakyourcage.com for more info on travelling australia and Europe. Thank You!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. The only downfall is the dampness from the humidity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breakyourcage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Global Backpackers
Global Backpackers
#50 of 57 in Port Douglas
34 reviews
0.8 mi away
Port Douglas Backpackers
Port Douglas Backpackers
#28 of 57 in Port Douglas
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Beach Lodge
Coral Beach Lodge
#9 of 57 in Port Douglas
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
7.3 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
0.6 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dougies Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dougies Backpackers Resort

Address: 111 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $27 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dougies is run by a bunch of us who had lots of fun backpacking around places of the world before, so we decided to start a hostel ourselves. We have the pretty relaxed atmosphere, without all of the formal procedures that some hostels have. Our philosophy is 'kick back and relax at Dougies'. We have all of the facilities that a fun loving backpacker could ever need, including a bar, refreshing swimming pool, free bbq facilities, shop (coke, ice-creams, chockies, etc), a huge self-cook kitchen, laundry, internet, satellite TV (really big one), hire bikes, fishing rods, tour desk and of course accommodation (doubles, twins, share rooms, camping, van sites and our own stylish canvas tents). But once you see our tropical gardens and cruisy front lawn you might just want to lay back and relax under a palm tree, kick back in a hammock, by the pool or you may even like to unwind on the grass and soak up some of the Far North's warm tropical sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dougies Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dougies Backpackers Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing