We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best choice ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dougies Backpackers Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
“The best choice ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I went to Port Douglas more than a month ago, it was about the 5th of August, and I spend there 10 days.
With a friend we booked in the Dougies few month ago befor coming. I have to say that The Dougies is the best backpacker i ever did ! Really, the employees are so nice, it's incredible, and ever the barkeeper remerbered us every time.

The dougies backpacker has maybe not that clean kitchen, but it's because of the guests than don't clean after cooking !

Sitting around in the ending afternoon is the best moment for metting people. I meet a lot of people at the laundry for exemple ! Or just at thee pool, or next to the bar !

For the roomates, you sometimes can have some really nice guys, sometimes not. But even, there is always a nice guy around that would like to talk all the day long with you.

After leaving the Dougies, we've been in such a crapy backpacker in Mission Beach, that we just choose to cancel the last night there to come back in Port Douglas.

Moreover, the Dougies gave us precious advices about the great barrier reef with Calypso(amazing!) o the Daintree forest.

I would love to come back soon there !

Room Tip: Sometimes it's juste a bit hard to open quietly the door with the keys, so i would tip you to ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    58
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
7
73
73
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

As many people have noted, this hostel has a lot of long termers. This has its good and bad points. Good if you also intend on staying a while and bad if you intend on making a load of new friends as it can be a bit cliquey.

I stayed there for a little over 6 weeks and had an amazing time. There was definitely a bit of party atmosphere about it- probably because its pretty far from town (a decent walk/short bike ride) and theres a decent bar there.
The beach is just across the road and its an excellent place to hang out and play some sports. The sand is nice and flat/firm so theres plenty of things you can do on it.

Port Douglas is a great place to chill out- if you have a car there is the Daintree River not too far away which is a lovely place.

Staff were friendly and always willing to help out and to leave the TV on so I could watch the early morning footie!

All in all you can get a good mix of relaxing and letting your hair down a little.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

If your looking for a place to lie by the pool in a hammock or relax by the bar then dougies is the place to go. Tents are excellent value for money however in the warmer months I would suggest a dorm.

Warm friendly staff always willing to help. Good value food and drink. A perfect place to base yourself and check out the awesome tours port douglas has to offer or relax with a good book :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillykiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you're not a 20 year old party animal, this is not the place for you. Definitely not for families.

Up front it's nice. Employees are very friendly. Out back it's a different story. People packed into a tent village like sardines, overloaded 10amp extension leads running to most tents. Constant smell of cigarettes and marijuana. Over zealous lovers in surrounding tents waking everyone up through the night. Loud music, vomit-covered toilets, etc.

I like to party a bit and have never been accused of being uptight, but it was all just a bit much. BUT, I will offer the caveat that I'm over 30.

It's just not really like Australia. Instead of greeting people with a friendly "G'day" most people seem to divert their eyes and slip past. It's a different story I suppose for the so-called "long termers."

If you're a young backpacker looking to party it up, get drunk, stoned, and/or laid, this is probably the place for you.

To all else, though the place is definitely affordable, it's just not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigDig2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I would highly recommend this place for anyone caravanning or looking to camp in Port Douglas on a budget. In addition to them being the cheapest accommodation I've found in Port Douglas, they have super friendly service, clean shared areas, cheap bar specials and the camping area is a mini village of it's own. Many long-term campers have set up complete outside living rooms and are happy to welcome backpackers in for a cup of tea or friendly beer. Great energy all around! Dougies is where it's at.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linney_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Got a really good vibe as soon as we entered. People seemed very chilled out and the place seemed busy. Really good first impressions but then It was sort of hard to talk to people though because there were a lot of long-term stayers. Staff were friendly. Kitchen was pretty dirty and always busy so good idea to have early or late meals. Bathrooms seemed to be dirty all the time, they had a real 'public toilet' feel about them. We stayed in a four bed dorm. Rooms were ok but keys on lockers worked for all locks so kind of pointless! Location could be more convenient but at the same time its only a 20min walk or so to town/the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed in 5 hostels in 1 week in the Cairns/Port Douglas area and this one had the best customer service by far. Bed very comfy-stayed in a Stylie tent, facilities average but customer service really stood out to me

Room Tip: Stayed in Stylie tent- comfy bed, electricity and fan provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMac18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#2 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
#39 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Port Douglas Backpackers
Port Douglas Backpackers
#25 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coral Beach Lodge
Coral Beach Lodge
#7 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.9 mi away
Global Backpackers
Global Backpackers
#38 of 56 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lychee Tree Holiday Apartments
Lychee Tree Holiday Apartments
#27 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dougies Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dougies Backpackers Resort

Property: Dougies Backpackers Resort
Address: 111 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dougies is run by a bunch of us who had lots of fun backpacking around places of the world before, so we decided to start a hostel ourselves. We have the pretty relaxed atmosphere, without all of the formal procedures that some hostels have. Our philosophy is 'kick back and relax at Dougies'. We have all of the facilities that a fun loving backpacker could ever need, including a bar, refreshing swimming pool, free bbq facilities, shop (coke, ice-creams, chockies, etc), a huge self-cook kitchen, laundry, internet, satellite TV (really big one), hire bikes, fishing rods, tour desk and of course accommodation (doubles, twins, share rooms, camping, van sites and our own stylish canvas tents). But once you see our tropical gardens and cruisy front lawn you might just want to lay back and relax under a palm tree, kick back in a hammock, by the pool or you may even like to unwind on the grass and soak up some of the Far North's warm tropical sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dougies Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dougies Backpackers Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing