We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caravan Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dougies Backpackers Resort
St Kilda, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Caravan Paradise!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I would highly recommend this place for anyone caravanning or looking to camp in Port Douglas on a budget. In addition to them being the cheapest accommodation I've found in Port Douglas, they have super friendly service, clean shared areas, cheap bar specials and the camping area is a mini village of it's own. Many long-term campers have set up complete outside living rooms and are happy to welcome backpackers in for a cup of tea or friendly beer. Great energy all around! Dougies is where it's at.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linney_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    59
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
7
75
74
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Got a really good vibe as soon as we entered. People seemed very chilled out and the place seemed busy. Really good first impressions but then It was sort of hard to talk to people though because there were a lot of long-term stayers. Staff were friendly. Kitchen was pretty dirty and always busy so good idea to have early or late meals. Bathrooms seemed to be dirty all the time, they had a real 'public toilet' feel about them. We stayed in a four bed dorm. Rooms were ok but keys on lockers worked for all locks so kind of pointless! Location could be more convenient but at the same time its only a 20min walk or so to town/the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed in 5 hostels in 1 week in the Cairns/Port Douglas area and this one had the best customer service by far. Bed very comfy-stayed in a Stylie tent, facilities average but customer service really stood out to me

Room Tip: Stayed in Stylie tent- comfy bed, electricity and fan provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMac18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I arrived at Dougies as a lone traveller, and was booked in for a week having heard good things about PD. Unfortunately neither the town nor the hostel was what i had expected. The bedroom was very clean & inviting, and the bed was comfy if wobbly and difficult to climb up to. However the bathrooms was abominable. Somebody earlier likened them to a club toilet at 3am, and i can only agree. Diarrhea and vomit choked a couple up, used toilet paper scattered the floor, tampons and their wrappers were choking up the bins and flying onto the floor, and the showers had lots of dirt/sand all over the place. I know some people won't be bothered by this, but i am particular about bathroom hygiene and this was too much for me. The common areas looked very nice, and staff were pretty friendly- unlike the long-term stayers in my room who completely ignored me while being extremely loud and making me feel utterly uncomfortable. I wound up leaving the next day. I feel i could have had a different experience had i been with friends or in a different room; but ultimately the toilets were the deal sealer! Laid back partiers will like this place, at any rate!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garlic_prawn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Recently stayed at Dougies, decent hostel accommodation besides cleanliness, the shared bathrooms were the worst ive seen. Nasty. Reminded me of a washroom at a Club by the end of the night, piss & tolietpaper and hair everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keelan970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This hostel has beautiful grounds (walkways, gardens, hammocks and pool). We stayed in a double room right next to the bar (if you find it hard sleeping with noise you might have troubles) and although noisy, it wasn't a problem for us. The bathrooms are great, my only complaint is that my shower went cold half way through on both my showers. There seems to be a lot of guests who live at the hostel and therefore there is a bit of a clique that hangs around the bar so could be hard to make friends if on your own. The location is fine but be prepared to walk 15-20 minutes to town however $2 bike for an hour is a great help if you're feeling lazy. All in all a great hostel with friendly staff and clean rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erinbarnett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We parked our campervan here for one night ($28) and decided not to stay longer. The spot we were given was very small and really just a patch of dirt/parking spot, and the kitchen was extremely dirty with barely any plates, cutlery etc. There were only 3 people cooking yet there were not enough cooking implements. People were also really lazy and left dirty dishes everywhere, which was pretty inconsiderate considering the lack of stuff available. I noticed that many people had their own plates etc in their cupboards. Also, I couldn't see a recycling bin anywhere, people were just throwing everything in the normal bin. I think this is a bit irresponsible of Dougies - I prefer hostels that are more environmentally conscious. The hostel is also right next to the main road. It was an average hostel, but nothing special about it, and not really worth $28 a night for a patch of dirt and filthy/inadequate facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taranoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
579 reviews
0.8 mi away
Port Douglas Backpackers
Port Douglas Backpackers
#25 of 55 in Port Douglas
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Beach Lodge
Coral Beach Lodge
#8 of 55 in Port Douglas
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Global Backpackers
Global Backpackers
#41 of 55 in Port Douglas
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Tropical Nites
Tropical Nites
#30 of 55 in Port Douglas
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dougies Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dougies Backpackers Resort

Property: Dougies Backpackers Resort
Address: 111 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dougies is run by a bunch of us who had lots of fun backpacking around places of the world before, so we decided to start a hostel ourselves. We have the pretty relaxed atmosphere, without all of the formal procedures that some hostels have. Our philosophy is 'kick back and relax at Dougies'. We have all of the facilities that a fun loving backpacker could ever need, including a bar, refreshing swimming pool, free bbq facilities, shop (coke, ice-creams, chockies, etc), a huge self-cook kitchen, laundry, internet, satellite TV (really big one), hire bikes, fishing rods, tour desk and of course accommodation (doubles, twins, share rooms, camping, van sites and our own stylish canvas tents). But once you see our tropical gardens and cruisy front lawn you might just want to lay back and relax under a palm tree, kick back in a hammock, by the pool or you may even like to unwind on the grass and soak up some of the Far North's warm tropical sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dougies Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dougies Backpackers Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing