We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Tropical Resort
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed June 28, 2013

On the corner of MacRossan & Wharf Sts is probably the best location in PD. Although I would NOT want to be in apartment facing onto MacRossan ST because of the bands at the pub. We booked a studio apartment & we were generally happy with it. However, maintenance & cleaning around the resort is noticably lacking with the resort showing signs of being tired. Cleaning of the rooms is also poor - the shower recess in our room had not been scrubbed for some time with the grout black with mould in places. Also if you look under beds there is thick dust. We stayed here 20+ years ago & note the management is allowing the place to deteriorate (sadly). If you can get the standby rate of $89 out of school holidays, I think it is good value but needs some TLC from management.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms overlooking MacRossan St because of late night band noise from the pub.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goferit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Club Tropical Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 207 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had booked to stay at the resort for 5 days however after 4 nights of the most rowdy guest you can imagine we decided to leave a day early and forfeit the last nights accommodation. After raising our concerns with the management they said " oh i suppose we can give them a warning", what, give them a warning so they can keep up with their drunken behavior to all hours of the night. We didnt manage to get a full nights sleep at all and the onsite management seemed to be non existent when there was an issue to deal with! This was all topped off with having to pay for toilet paper and towels after you used the first one, a very dated and old fashioned room (apparently some have been refurbished) really not a good experience at all. The photos on the net do not do it justice, I am sure that there is better places to stay in PD than this one!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

If we had known they were renovating we wouldn't have stayed. The noise from drills to tradies day time was appalling. Then the night time begins locals or people staying arriving back late ready to party, no one toning any noise down at all. Then the towels what no fresh towels, just told we need to pay $4 a towel to change. The person upstairs doesnt sleep so all we hear all night is open and shutting a sliding door - wears shoes all night so all we here is the footsteps. Great ! Had a look around to locate the pool and spa, all so very tired and dated. Nothing has been done to the place. Wouldnt recoomend place at all.

Room Tip: high floor so noise above doesnt affect you .
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My Mother had made a late decision to come with us to PD and wanted to stay where she stayed previously. Unfortunately, I did not know this and was not involved in the decision.
It is in a great location as you are a step away from all the action. This is fine unless you are a light sleeper on the nights where the bands are live at the Court Yard Hotel. I suppose for the price you pay, this property is OK but trying to get a smile and conversation from the staff was a struggle and they didn't seem to care that I was assisting my Mother who has eye sight issues. Overall the room looked like it is badly in need of renovation and felt grimy to me. Mum was unaware that there is no room service (that is clean towels etc.) unless you ask for it and pay extra. That would have been fine if someone had mentioned it to me at the beginning.
However it was a large room compared to most resort apartments.
Am I a two bob snob? Definitely, worth more than two bob, don't need help thanks,proud of it and I would not let my Mother or anyone else I know, stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marimbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I can't believe people would write badly of this place. It is awesome. The location is second to none. Walk across the road and you are standing in a beautiful park with stunning views to Cape Tribulation. Situated at the top of the street, you walk out the front and the vast array of restaurants, cafes and shops are at your fingertips. The room was terrific and the pool/spa area was magic. The people running the place were cheeful, helpful and welcoming. They helped us book our various outings and nothing was too much trouble. Value for money, this place is the best we have stayed at in our 26 years of marriage and we've stayed at plenty. If you are considering staying at Port Douglas you would be a fool not to try this place. If you are a two-bob-snob, well, there would no helping you would there?

Room Tip: Room 116 is fabulous. Great location, away from pool, private and you can't see another room fro...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Club tropical is a great place to stay and the location sublime..... In the Main Street close to everything ... Has lovely pond and ocean views also Main Street views to watch the goings on... My only complaint was the bathrooms and pool area...In desperate need of a good clean and bleach... And pool area needs some work ... Overall a great place to stay...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foxyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a beautiful little resort! We had a normal standard room and wow it was HUGE! The bathroom is big enough to fit a double bed. We were pleasantly surprised by how big it is. And then there are the walk ways. So interesting if you do not want to stick to the normal boring halls. Out in the garden over water. Really loved it and close to everything. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we will go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SanelleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#30 of 42 in Port Douglas
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
498 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 42 in Port Douglas
599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
#22 of 42 in Port Douglas
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tropical Resort

Address: 2 Macrossan Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range: $98 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Tropical Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Tropical Resort is located on vibrant Macrossan Street. It offers studio rooms and 1, 2 and 4 bedroom apartments. Each self contained apartment and studio rooms have a private balcony or terrace enjoying views out the Coral Sea, overlooking the tranquil water gardens or village views. The resort has a free form swimming pool and 2 hot Jacuzzi spas as well as sauna for guests to use. There is also a bbq area with seating for in house guests during their stay. The location of Club Tropical means that you do not need a car but if you do hire one there is secure undercover parking provided on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Tropical Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing