We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired Hotel, Tired Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Tropical Resort
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Adelaide
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tired Hotel, Tired Staff.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Where to start? We have stayed at Club Tropical back in 1999 and took a gamble when booking to stay here again. We read the reviews others had left and thought if we were in one of the renovated one bedroom apartments that things would be o.k.

The good point is the location. Our room was away from the main street and the noise from the Courthouse Hotel (live bands most nights). That is about where the positives end unfortunately.

Yes the room was renovated, but a long time ago. If the room is not ideal then the main thing is for the room to be clean, this was not the case. The shower area was mouldy. There were hairs in the bathroom from previous guests. There was soap left for us to use from the previous guests. The air conditioning ducts were chock-a-block with dust and grime. The rug was filthy with stains. The cushion on the couch was held together with a safety pin and all of the inside bits are busting to get out. Numerous light bulbs did not work. Two of the three remote controls in the room needed new batteries. There is an alarm clock next to the bed on the wall that has batteries that look like they have not been replaced for years, they are welded into the machine. The fridge was rusty. The microwave had broken glass on the dial from someone poking there finger into it too hard. There is dust all over the ceiling fans. The outside table had been cleaned on top but underneath the glass surface was another story. Down at the pool area there is a sauna that had the same level of care and attention, and the mens shower had a bolt jutting from the wall that was very unsafe.

Guest's are asked to put any rubbish in various bins placed around the hotel communal areas. Because there is self catering these bins tend to get full very quickly and guests then get to walk past rubbish tips every time they leave their room, as rubbish is placed around the bins.

Our air conditioner stopped working at about 1am and there was no one to call as the reception seems to close at about 6pm every evening. Given that this is tropical north Queensland, an air conditioner is a handy thing to have working. The next morning when I inquired at reception about the air conditioner I was basically shot down in flames because "it is working down here at reception". Later it was discovered that a circuit breaker had tripped for one of the fans. No sorry or apology.

The staff at the Hotel don't seem interested in their jobs. They actually seem put out if you request something. I asked for batteries in the remote control and I am still waiting. When we asked about the air conditioning that stopped, it actually nearly ended up in an argument, it was such an imposition for staff to help someone. Any complaint seems to be water off a ducks back.
We spoke to others staying at the hotel (as you do) and they were all getting the same sort of experience.

Overall the location is good, but that is where it ends.

This place is tired and so are the staff. There are plenty of other places to stay in Port Douglas. There is no need to stay in Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AdelaideAussieAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    60
    39
    19
    13
See reviews for
43
83
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed at the Club Trop (as it's locally known) for 9 days. Our room (114) was clean and comfortable and for those not used to the tropical heat, the airconditioning was a real blessing although a little noisy but that didn't stop us from having a great nights sleep. We were a little surprised at the fact that although the apartments were supposed to be serviced weekly, we did not even get fresh towels as we expected after a week.. We didn't mind taking out trash etc but surely fresh towels would not have been asking too much. We asked for a remote to use the DVD player, which was supposed to have been in the room so that we could watch a CD of pictures from our Reef trip. Are still waiting for this ( and we have now returned home to NZ).
Although our stay was booked and payed for by others,we would possibly stay here again, although we noticed lots of places with excellent standyby rates. We liked the pool and spa. We also loved being able to eat breakfast on our patio and being away from the street noise. We loved the fact that the resort was so central to everything and we could walk to most places we wanted to get to in Central Port Douglas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadyladynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tintenbar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This once lively and well cared for resort is In a central location in Port Douglas. We have stayed a few times in the past. Reasonable rates and good access to restaurants etc. Unfortunately it has deteriorated. I wouldn't recommend this accommodation. The condition is poor and we were shocked by the poor service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Douglas hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We returned to Club Tropical after a 17 year absence and with some trepidation as our last stay had been so good when the hotel was new. Now painted white and with a canopy on the street corner where the coffee shop and book shop once sat amongst the garden on the corner, sadly no longer there, we and our children really enjoyed our stay. The pool and the stepping stones are still fabulous and romantic and our room 118 was comfortable although a little cave like which we found OK as a retreat from the hustle and bustle of Port Douglas in school holidays mode. The rooms are varying in quality now as individual owners spend differing amounts with varying taste but overall the experience was a good one and we would return again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Beautiful resort on macrossin street. In the middle of town with a feeling of being more isolated. Our room didn't look over macrossin street so none of the street noise. The pool gets heaps of sun and feels very tropical. The apartment are comfortable and clean and private. Thoroughly enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEELONG
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We first went to Club Tropical 16 years ago and it was state of the art. We have been back 7 times but now unfortunately the old girl is getting a bit run down. It is perfectly located and with a big pool but maintenance has slipped badly in some areas, but we still enjoy it. It is great value, make sure you ring and book direct and ask for one of the renovated rooms which are very good.

Room Tip: Book direct and ask for a renovated room, not one overlooking Marcross St which can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FIZZYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed two nights at the apartment in June. Apartment was large compared to other apartments I stayed during my 12-day holiday in Cairns and surroundings. Very clean and modern, homely feel. Well-equipped kitchenette, which suited us as we had planned to do a bit of our own cooking. The apartment is also well located with shops and eateries nearby. Coles was just round the corner and it stocked everything we needed to cook our dinner. My experience there is certainly not like what I see in some of the photographs attached to the reviews given in this web site.
Will use the apartment again on my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dclk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#32 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachfront Terraces
Beachfront Terraces
#37 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Newport on Macrossan
The Newport on Macrossan
#21 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
#14 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tropical Resort

Property: Club Tropical Resort
Address: 2 Macrossan Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Tropical Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Tropical Resort is located on vibrant Macrossan Street. It offers studio rooms and 1, 2 and 4 bedroom apartments. Each self contained apartment and studio rooms have a private balcony or terrace enjoying views out the Coral Sea, overlooking the tranquil water gardens or village views. The resort has a free form swimming pool and 2 hot Jacuzzi spas as well as sauna for guests to use. There is also a bbq area with seating for in house guests during their stay. The location of Club Tropical means that you do not need a car but if you do hire one there is secure undercover parking provided on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Tropical Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing