We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem-- best meal in town!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coral Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem-- best meal in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

We loved staying at the Port O'Call Janine and Ryan were always helpful nothing is too much trouble.

Rooms are very nice everything is very clean, cleaning staff are very good.
We loved having the communal kitchen to make breakfast and lunch.

We ate most nights at the bar, they have the best meals better then the pubs in town prices very reasonable..
Good size meals, make great parma, we loved all the meals Great Chefs.

We did not mind the 10 minute walk to town, close to the Wharf and Beach.

if you stay more then 2 nights you get a free shuttle to Cairns which we really appreciated considering we paid $70 from the airport.

Janine and Ryan only have taken over this place the last couple of months but just by talking to them this place is going to just get better and better.

Even if you do not stay at the premises I stress that you have a meal here.

We look forward to going back next year.

Diana & John



.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gradgirl2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    95
    18
    14
    7
See reviews for
30
105
146
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

I had a wonderful time, the friendly staff were so helpfull with assisting me to organise my days outings.
I slept like a baby !!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Port O'Call is a bit off the main drag in Port Douglas, no problem with a bike or car but a bit of walking without.

This is a mix of motel & hostel rooms complete with a fantastic HUGE shared kitchen, common areas, indoor & outdoor eating areas, restaurant & pub, Internet room, and laundry.

We stayed in one of the motel rooms, which was clean and nice: in-room fridge, TV, A/C, lots of space, and extra tables & chairs. Plenty of room to spread out -- much moreso than in a regular hostel room.

We cooked our meals in the shared kitchen, which was spacious and clean.

We'd stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AWeekOrAWeekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

This was by far the most expensive hostel we found in Australia and I'm still not sure why. The rooms and bathrooms were fine, but the air con was ridiculously rattley. Unfortunately though you had to have it on. We tried opening the doors on the first night but as there were no mosquito nets on the windows, we got eaten alive. Although we didn't use the pool and bar, they did look very nice, unlike the communal eating area, which felt like a windowless shed.

What really wound me up however were the signs plastered all over the (well stocked) kitchen. All hostels have signs up saying 'please wash up after yourself'. Fair enough. Port O Call however has signs who's general gist is 'we have cctv. if our spies catch you leaving your washing up, you will be thrown out of the hostel'. This made it feel more like we were in a prison than a hostel.

Overall, there was nothing wrong with this hostel. However, for $20 extra, we could have got stand-by rates at the spa down the road. It is NOT value for money. Oh, and because it's a liscened restaurant, you can only drink their over priced drinks in the hostel. A fact which you are again reminded of by numerous rude posters plastered up everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights. Reception people were mostly friendly except for one woman which was very abrupt - I think she runs the place. You'll know which one one when if you go there. A bit of walk into town or the Marina. About 15-20 mins. The rooms were clean but a little tired around the edges. They have refurbished them though. Next time I would go to a hostel closer to town.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colinjAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

This hostel was lovely, one of the best we´ve stayed in. The rooms were spotless and comfortable and the staff were extremely helpful. Free pick up from Cairns was great. A bit of a walk from town is the only minor downside but then a bit of exercise never killed anyone!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay, Devon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

Booked this hotel through the YHA website. It was more like a budget hotel than a hostel and we were really pleased. It is a few minutes walk from the beach and about a 15 minute walk into town. There is a small pool at the hostel but not really anywhere else to sit/relax outside. We were so pleased with our room having stayed in some dodgy hostels - it was like a hotel with a reasonable en suite bathroom, clean room, clean bedding and a TV.
Port Douglas is a lovely place and this is really good value budget accommodation.
There is a reasonable menu at the hostel as they serve some evening meals but if you have the money its probably better to go into town.

  • Liked — Hotel standard
  • Disliked — Nothing much to do at the hostel either day or night
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurapoo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 58 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Beach Lodge

Property: Coral Beach Lodge
Address: 1-7 Craven CL | Corner of Wharf St., Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Port O'Call Eco Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation with an emphasis on the things that matter - air conditioning, quality beds with the best quality cotton sheets and deep feathered pillows, your own refrigerator and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Coral Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing