We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definatley worth a call” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coral Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Definatley worth a call”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2006

This hostel was great value as it also included a free of charge coach trip from Cairns to Port Douglas. The room was large with with a huge bed, en suite facilities, fridge and private patio with outdoor dining chairs. The staff were friendly and they can prepare a breakfast which is delivered to your room in a basket.Port Douglas is a charming town with multiple diving trips to the reef.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    95
    18
    14
    7
See reviews for
30
105
146
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2006

BEWARE: the staff are useless, patronising and unfriendly; the facilities are unpleasant and the atmosphere is one of distrust - a far cry from the warm, welcoming and incredibly helpful hostels that we have come to love across Australia so far. Upon entering our double ensuite room (number 18) we found that the toilet was completely blocked (how could this have not been noticed when it was cleaned??). I trotted over to the reception and the lady swapped us into the room next door (number 17) - luckily I checked the toilet there before we moved all our stuff and found that it had exactly the same problem. So off I went again to reception and this time they laughed and said "oh it must be the rain - this happens quite a lot" as if the explanation would make up for not having a toilet... I left the matter, assuming that there would be a lot of communal toilets for the dormitory rooms which we could use - of course I was wrong (they were all locked). After a few hours in the town centre we returned, and the toilet seemed even worse, so I took the now very familiar route to the reception and asked the lady what was going on (different lady this time). She wasn’t in the least bit bothered about this problem, and when I asked her whether this was affecting the whole place, or perhaps just the two rooms she was very patronising and rudely said that "she didn’t have the time to check all the toilets as she had much better things to do" (I had interrupted her reading her book and I was the only person there). Any reasonable person might have replied "sorry about this problem sir, we have not had any other complaints so it is probably just the two rooms - I will call out a plumber and get the problem fixed as soon as possible". Because it was clear to her that I wasn’t leaving without a slightly better resolution to the problem she begrudgingly agreed to call out a plumber. Hours later when the plumber did come, I had a chat to him and it transpired that: a) this problem had been going on for some time - it was due to some nearby tree roots b) it only involved the rooms 17 and 18 and c) they all knew about it. Bear in mind, that when booking my room (a few weeks before) I decided to pay the higher $100 a night rate for a ‘deluxe double’ for the very reason that it had an ensuite - the normal doubles were a lot cheaper. I spoke to another lady, who was talking to the plumber and asked if I could get some deduction for having paid for a deluxe ensuite without a working toilet. This lady was again very rude, said "NO" in a raised voice and immediately walked away almost in disgust! As for the facilities, the kitchen was unhygienic, smelt bad, had rusting fridge shelves and there were signs everywhere saying "you are being watched on cctv". The hairdryer in the toilet didnt work. The bikes we hired were in very bad condition with brakes that wouldnt stop a fly and missing spokes. The pool table didn’t even have a full set of balls (three yellows have been replaced with three whites - very useful!). All in all, I would avoid this hostel at all costs.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2006

We were very disappointed by the room given to us during our stay in Port O Call and also with the attitude of the staff. I had asked for a Budget double room almost a month before our arrival and had made a reservations. Inspite of this we were given a very small room (room 30) in the corner of their bunkhouse building. The room seemed like it had been made as an afterthought outside the building. The regular price was $59 and we were charged $69 since "it had a private courtyard and that was the rate quoted". The courtyard was a dump to be frank.. the table and chair were covered in mud - even before the rain. Supposedly the other "bunkhouse rooms" are even smaller than that room!!!

We were given another much better room the next day after we asked for it. The difference was only $8 and this budget room was much better with private bathroom and a fridge! We felt cheated and duped and discriminated against that we were not even offered this budget room in the first place inspite of having the reservation. We felt $69 is too much to charge for the dump of room that was given to us on the first night. That room is not worth even $40. the air conditioner was so loud that we could hardly sleep a wink! When we expressed our displeasure and mentioned this to the staff, the reply we got was "I just work here". not a word of apology!!!

BTW the rates advertised on their website and quoted for reservations are much higher than the rates they offer to walk-ins! (Thats how the better room was $77 while on website and initial quote was $89)

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2005

We stayed here for 5 nights in a motel room and loved it. The room was well kitted out and the communal kitchen was handy. The bistro served excellent food at very reasonable prices and seemed popular with the locals. The pool area was small but very nice and there was a nice atmosphere generally. Would definitely recommend it to any travellers to Port Douglas.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
Thank Bubbachumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2005

Stayed here for 2 nights in one of their motel rooms. Was quite impressed, not at all what I'd imagined for a YHA! The room was clean and large and came complete with tv, DVD player and air-con. The hostel is reasonably well located for both the town and the marina (where many of the reef cruises seemed to go from). The hostel has a great bistro restaurant with fantastic and reasonably priced food which seems to be used a lot by people not staying there and very little by the people who are actually staying there (!), probably because the prices aren't aimed at the average backpacker. This is a bit odd because it seemed to alienate them from using the on-site restaurant and bar. In summary - great hostel, good value for money and lovely food!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2005

I couldn't disagree more with the previous review!

We had never stayed in Youth Hostel accommodation before and we very pleasantly surprised.

We stayed in a "motel" room as well. The bedroom was a very generous size, with air con and a fan, a fridge, kettle, toaster, and crockery/cutlery. The decor is, I suppose, modern-tropical - it reminded me a bit of Travelodge/Holiday Inn Express - but very clean. The small patio table and chairs was a thoughtful addition. The bathroom was nothing special, but was clean and roomy with good shower pressure.

The pool area was very small, but well kept and the bar/restaurant served great value food and drink and is also very popular with locals escaping the more chi-chi of Port Douglas' restaurants.

Finally, we found the staff very helpful, especially in recommending various excursions and answering our questions about the location, town, etc. The free shuttle bus to and from Cairns, with photo opportunities aplenty, was also a Godsend for travellers on a budget.

This is a hostel as opposed to a motel or hotel, but I would recommend it highly - it is certainly better than many B&Bs that I have stayed in the UK!

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2005

The Port O Call seems to have got its priorities confused. The motel room we stayed in had surround sound TV/DVD but an outdated bathroom. The room was large and comfortable but the staff were very unhelpful bordering on rude. As the Port O Call has a backpacker dorms they treat every guest in the same way even when staying in an expensive room. I would not recommend this place.

Helpful?
4 Thank rctaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 58 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Beach Lodge

Property: Coral Beach Lodge
Address: 1-7 Craven CL | Corner of Wharf St., Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Port O'Call Eco Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation with an emphasis on the things that matter - air conditioning, quality beds with the best quality cotton sheets and deep feathered pillows, your own refrigerator and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Coral Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing