We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coral Beach Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Pink Flamingo(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Links Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Boutique Hotel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$293
$276
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oaks Lagoons(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$113
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Heritage(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$150
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
QT Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$146
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saltwater Luxury Apartments(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$401
$363
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Port Douglas Motel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$85
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meridian Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$143
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveler rating
295
103
19
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
103
19
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormcommunal kitchenping pongcommunal areastable tennismovie roomfantastic hosteltv areafree wifienjoyed my stayair conown bathroomswimming poolclean roomsstayed here for two nightsgreat place to stayquiet area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 439 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe motel room; basic but colorful and cheerfully decorated. Air conditioning, water pressure, fridge, coffee maker and DVD player worked a charm, and everyone working there was super pleasant and very helpful. David was at the reception desk, and he made us snorkeling reservations on Calypso. His recommendation was spot on. We had a super time at a reasonable price. The beach is a 5 minute walk, and town center is a 15 minute walk. Lots of fun things to do. The communal kitchen was not quite as clean as my home kitchen, but several people used it on the night we cooked, and it was a great convenience and a big money saver in an expensive country. We ate at the bistro one night. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. The free Wifi is also a nice bonus, not often seen in Australia. Overall, this was our favorite experience in Australia and the best priced. I definitely recommend it. We stayed 3 nights, and all of us wished we had stayed longer!

Room Tip: Young singles- go for the dorms; basic rooms looked fine, but for a few dollars more, families are more comfortable in the deluxe room and the little garden patios in back are sweet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Port O Call Lodge / YHA is not a hostel. It is a resort disguised in hostel.
Pros:
- they have a shuttle that picks you up in Cairns and drop you off in the town or at the airport
- the room has two beds and only one bunk bed and that gives you a feeling of more space and air
- the room has a varanda with a table and some chairs where you can appreciate nature (lots of birds)
- the room has plenty of space for the luggage and plenty of power outlets (I counted eight)
- bathroom ensuite with hot water and nice space
- AC and fan
- free wi-fi
- always clean
- TV room, pool and games room
- Steve that shares with you all the knowledge he has from Port Douglas with not a sign of pettiness
- the kitchen is excellent, everything works and all the equipment is there. Always clean. There is place to sit outside to eat.
- Coles supermarket is at a short walk, downtown and the marine as well
- short walk to the 4 mile beach
- they provide tablets
- they have a bistro (we did not use it)
- laundry lines under the sun

Do not forget your insect repellent because nature is all around.
We totally recommend. Nice place for a chill out and some nice views of the Great Barrier Reef.

Room Tip: The YHA rooms are all nice.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Prompt and helpful response to emergency situations. The flight of Jetstar from Sydney to Cairns was firstly delayed and later cancelled. We were supposed to arrive Cairns at 12pm but end up arrive at 10:30 pm. The owner of the lodge helped us to book shuttle service that runs at night.

Professional advice on local tours. The owner of the lodge was able to quickly understand what types of tours we are looking for and suggested the ones that meet our expectation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

This lodge is very well run by Kiri and Peter very helpful polite and knowledgeable a good place to stay a short walk to town and the beach is a five minute walk, can book reef tours from here to the Great Barrier Reef it is closer to 4he reef then Cairns

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyUKandIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here for one night in a dormitory room with 4 beds, but because there were no other guests, I had all the space to myself. Great for privacy, bad for socializing. The room itself was well-equipped, with air conditioning, ceiling fan, fridge, iPod dock (I've never seen this in other YHA's), and ensuite bathroom. There's a sign saying that the AC would work only between 6.30 pm and 5.30 am, but I tried to switch it on from 5 pm and it seemed to work. A few negatives about the room : (1) there's another door that leads almost directly to the street, creating some insecure feeling, and (2) room was a bit dusty.
But other pluses for staying here, such as the free wi-fi and the limited but off-street parking, outweigh the downsides.

The hostel has a small pool and a bistro which seems to have quite a good menu selection, unfortunately it was closed at the time of my visit. Common areas are arranged in several "shacks" (TV lounge, billiard room), but I saw very few people around (strange, because I came during Easter holiday, which I thought would be a peak season). I imagine the place could be much nicer with more guests.

It's about 10 to 15 minutes walk from this YHA to the main street in Port Douglas, where most of the shops and restaurants are located. 7 minutes in another direction will take you to the Four Mile beach, which is stunning particularly at sunrise. Near the hostel there's also a nice, small Japanese restaurant (Zipangu) which seems to be a favorite with the locals.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiceNSpruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews