We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serves it's purpose”
Review of Coral Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Serves it's purpose”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I stayed in a deluxe motel room in October 2011 during a diving trip. The room was large and comfortable enough for 4 people, so therefore was more than enough for 1 person. Rooms were clean and tidy. However the fridge did make some loud scraping noises at night. I needed to turn this off at night to sleep properly. Across the road there was a group of birds screeching quite loudly well into the night, which made it a little difficult to fall asleep. There was a problem with locks on the door, and after a while the doors became very difficult to open with the keys. Hopefully they are rectifying this issue.

Overall a comfortable place to stay for a few nights. It was good value for money. I would recommend it for budget travellers. It is only a 15 minute walk from the centre of town.

Room Tip: Room 11 has a dodgy lock, which is difficult to open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ihearteurope10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    97
    18
    14
    7
See reviews for
35
106
147
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

My fiance and I stayed here in late Aug 2011 for one night. Upon seeing the room, we were very glad we'd booked only one night. Stayed in a double room (two single beds pushed together), which contained a couple of bunk beds. The bathroom was very dated, poorly lit and a little dirty. The room itself was extremely basic, had a some stains on the bedding and had a musty smell to it. There was no TV, radio, etc - the only amenity was the tiny bar fridge that seemed to be working so hard in weather which was only 26c, I actually felt sorry for it.

We tried to check in upon arrival around 1pm only to see that the office was closed. To our complete amazement, a sign on the door said "Closed for lunch from 12pm - 3.30pm". I initially thought this was a joke, but realised that it wasn't after passing again later on our way into town. We returned to reception to check in around 6.30pm that night on our way out to dinner, and to our amazement again found the office closed - apparently at 6pm.

Probably the thing that bothered me the most about this room was the fact that the air conditioning cannot be switched on outside of the hours between 7pm - 7am. I was stunned at this. If this is what a guesthouse needs to do to achieve an "eco friendly" commendation, that is absurd! If I pay for a room I expect to be able to use the amenities in it!! If they really want to be environmentally friendly, why not remove the air conditioners completely!? Worse still, when I switched the AC on later that night, the compressor was clearly faulty as it was acting only as a fan. Fortunately it wasn't too warm so the ceiling fan did the job and, as mentioned, we were here only one night.

After returning from dinner at around 10.30pm at night, I was surprised to see all the communal areas locked up and there was ZERO activity about the place - not a backpacker or staff member in sight. Also noticed that the pool was dirty and no BYO drinks were allowed in communal areas.

Now here's my main gripe. If I know I'm staying at a backpackers and paying a reasonable price for a double private room (eg. AU$50-60 p/n) then this place would have been fine. The fact that it was advertised as a hotel and we paid AU$90 p/n in a non-peak season annoyed me. We were extremely disappointed when we entered the room (after locating the key in a mailbox while the reception was closed for a 3.5hr lunch break!). What really highlighted these shortcomings was the fact that we stayed at a 600-guest 4.5 star resort hotel the next 2 nights which was on the same road and only $25 extra per night. There was no comparison!!

In defence of the place however, it did have a well-equipped communal kitchen (which I saw before it was barred-up at night), the bed was surprisingly comfortable (had a king size crater-style mattress on top of the two single beds pushed together). If you were travelling with four people it would be OK value if you got a room under $100pn ($25 each).

Not the worst place I've ever stayed in, but would not recommend considering the range of other options in Port Douglas. Very surprised to see it has such generous ratings!

Room Tip: If travelling as a couple, spend an extra $30 and stay in a proper motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monkey1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here in august. We stayed in a double room which was ok but then had to go for a deluxe room due to availability (even though the place was empty!) it cost us an extra $20 per night and you get next to nothing extra for the money. A crappy DVD player and a flat screen tv with lines across it. Cupboards stank so we couldn't use them. Service was terrible, made to feel unwelcome. Communial kitchen has no doors on it so there were flies everywhere. The only positives were the location and free wifi. If I was to go to port douglas again I would try and get an apartment for a similar cost.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poclodge, Manager at Coral Beach Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
We are disappointed to hear that this guest did not feel that the upgrade to a Deluxe room was worth it. August was a very busy month and all rooms were booked, hence no availability on their original room. The difference between our Budget rooms and Deluxe rooms are that the latter offer 24 hours air conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, DVD/CD player,clock radio, toiletries and a 4 star rating. The flat screen TVs are new, however we are in a remote area and from time to time there can be problems with reception quality. We hope that most people that come to stay in Port Douglas are here for the natural beauty rather than the TV.

Our housekeeping is of a very high standard and all cupboards, rooms and communal areas are kept clean on a daily basis. Most disappointing is the comment on the unfriendly service, we have comments virtually every day from our guests saying how friendly this resort is and how helpful all the staff are, and you will see this reflected in the comments below from other guests.

We hope that if this guest ever returns to Port Douglas they will come back and give Port O Call another go and leave with the same opinion that most of our guests do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights and double room was huge, with iron and board, kettle and toaster. Bed was comfy and had a DVD player to watch films (when going out proves too expensive).

Staff were great, really helpful and the restaurant serves great value and very tasty food!

Would stop again no question!!

Oh and free wifi!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The Port O'Call Eco Lodge is kind of like a motel for hippies. There is a communal kitchen where you can cook, and keep food in a fridge where you have to depend on the other travelers to not take your food and to clean up after themselves. That said, we had no issues with this. There is also a shared TV room and internet room (we didn't make use of these) but they have better cable service than the in-the-room tv. There is also a laundromat. There is a pool, but I never saw anyone in it. It's pretty small.

The front desk is very good about organizing trips for you (e.g., to go to the Great Barrier Reef), and they sell frozen hand-prepared food you can heat up in the shared kitchen. Being vegetarian, we could only get the curry, but it was good!

Also, there is a nice restaurant/bar on-site, but it does close rather early. You need to go into town for the live later-night music. Also, don't get the "thai green curry", as it is just the same frozen curry you can buy at the front desk with some more vegetables thrown in. It does not resemble Thai curry in any way. However, the rest of the food is excellent.

They also provide FREE transportation to and from Cairns. Talk to the driver about his past being a limo driver to Port Douglas for Bill Clinton and Mick Jagger! He and his wife run the lodge for the owner.

The walk to town is a tad long (for an American!), but shouldn't be too much of a deterrent, as I am sure closer-in places cost relatively more...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cogsci_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Came with my eight and five year old children. This place had everything we needed within easy reach. The on site bistro great and good value, so to feed us all if not cooking in the shared kitchen. Enjoyed the company of other travelers and their children.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrietta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Simple ensuite rooms, with basic amenities. Could have been cleaner. Kitchen was very dirty and chose to not to cook for ourselves there.

Office is closed through the middle of the day which can be inconvenient.

Free internet and parking.

Very close to four mile beach, and short walk to the town center which is very handy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilly979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
877 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#23 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Beach Lodge

Property: Coral Beach Lodge
Address: 1-7 Craven CL | Corner of Wharf St., Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Port O'Call Eco Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation with an emphasis on the things that matter - air conditioning, quality beds with the best quality cotton sheets and deep feathered pillows, your own refrigerator and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coral Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing