We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not go for a deluxe room - not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Coral Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coral Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do not go for a deluxe room - not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here in august. We stayed in a double room which was ok but then had to go for a deluxe room due to availability (even though the place was empty!) it cost us an extra $20 per night and you get next to nothing extra for the money. A crappy DVD player and a flat screen tv with lines across it. Cupboards stank so we couldn't use them. Service was terrible, made to feel unwelcome. Communial kitchen has no doors on it so there were flies everywhere. The only positives were the location and free wifi. If I was to go to port douglas again I would try and get an apartment for a similar cost.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poclodge, Manager at Coral Beach Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
We are disappointed to hear that this guest did not feel that the upgrade to a Deluxe room was worth it. August was a very busy month and all rooms were booked, hence no availability on their original room. The difference between our Budget rooms and Deluxe rooms are that the latter offer 24 hours air conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, DVD/CD player,clock radio, toiletries and a 4 star rating. The flat screen TVs are new, however we are in a remote area and from time to time there can be problems with reception quality. We hope that most people that come to stay in Port Douglas are here for the natural beauty rather than the TV.

Our housekeeping is of a very high standard and all cupboards, rooms and communal areas are kept clean on a daily basis. Most disappointing is the comment on the unfriendly service, we have comments virtually every day from our guests saying how friendly this resort is and how helpful all the staff are, and you will see this reflected in the comments below from other guests.

We hope that if this guest ever returns to Port Douglas they will come back and give Port O Call another go and leave with the same opinion that most of our guests do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    96
    18
    14
    7
See reviews for
33
105
146
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights and double room was huge, with iron and board, kettle and toaster. Bed was comfy and had a DVD player to watch films (when going out proves too expensive).

Staff were great, really helpful and the restaurant serves great value and very tasty food!

Would stop again no question!!

Oh and free wifi!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

The Port O'Call Eco Lodge is kind of like a motel for hippies. There is a communal kitchen where you can cook, and keep food in a fridge where you have to depend on the other travelers to not take your food and to clean up after themselves. That said, we had no issues with this. There is also a shared TV room and internet room (we didn't make use of these) but they have better cable service than the in-the-room tv. There is also a laundromat. There is a pool, but I never saw anyone in it. It's pretty small.

The front desk is very good about organizing trips for you (e.g., to go to the Great Barrier Reef), and they sell frozen hand-prepared food you can heat up in the shared kitchen. Being vegetarian, we could only get the curry, but it was good!

Also, there is a nice restaurant/bar on-site, but it does close rather early. You need to go into town for the live later-night music. Also, don't get the "thai green curry", as it is just the same frozen curry you can buy at the front desk with some more vegetables thrown in. It does not resemble Thai curry in any way. However, the rest of the food is excellent.

They also provide FREE transportation to and from Cairns. Talk to the driver about his past being a limo driver to Port Douglas for Bill Clinton and Mick Jagger! He and his wife run the lodge for the owner.

The walk to town is a tad long (for an American!), but shouldn't be too much of a deterrent, as I am sure closer-in places cost relatively more...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cogsci_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Came with my eight and five year old children. This place had everything we needed within easy reach. The on site bistro great and good value, so to feed us all if not cooking in the shared kitchen. Enjoyed the company of other travelers and their children.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrietta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

Simple ensuite rooms, with basic amenities. Could have been cleaner. Kitchen was very dirty and chose to not to cook for ourselves there.

Office is closed through the middle of the day which can be inconvenient.

Free internet and parking.

Very close to four mile beach, and short walk to the town center which is very handy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilly979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

I stayed here for 4 weeks and loved my stay . The hostel has a family feel and was a great place to meet people. The managers were fantastic and could never do enough to make our stay a pleasant one. I would highly recommend this hostel. There was a great mix of people and the bistro had good food at a reasonable price. The location was good, close to the beach, and 10 min walk to town. Loved my stay here and would return

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go_green2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

I stayed there for 4 nights, in a 4 bed dorm ensuite (31.50 $/ night with YHA membership).
They also have standby rates, so you could try to get there and see...
I liked the special feeling you get here, it's quiet, nice, clean and has all a YHA / good backpacker should have. And as I was there, WIFI and internet (2 computers free) were FREE !!
The kitchen is clean, well equipped (no oven though), and the dining area outside is nice. You have a small pool for the warm days, but the 4 mile Beach is only 3 blocks from there on a small walk. The "city" is 10 min. walk from here, on a quiet road (you can see a colony of bats on the way :) ). As I had an ensuite, I cannot tell you about the shared bathrooms.
The rrom itself was great, with plenty of room, cupboards, a fridge!, aircon, plenty of switches to charge your electronic devices, and we had 1 bunk bed (2 people), and 2 single beds, so was good. Plenty of small lights so you can read at night without disturbing your roommates. You even have a sort of terrace in front of your room with 2 chairs!
So I can only recommend you this place, I went to another Backpacker in the centre, but this YHA is for the same price a really better value!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sopaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#2 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.5 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 56 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Beach Lodge

Property: Coral Beach Lodge
Address: 1-7 Craven CL | Corner of Wharf St., Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Port O'Call Eco Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation with an emphasis on the things that matter - air conditioning, quality beds with the best quality cotton sheets and deep feathered pillows, your own refrigerator and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Coral Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing