We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem, made perfect by the warmth and friendliness of all the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
By The Sea Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2010

What a find! A lovely compact self-catering facility, no more than a stone's throw from 4-mile beach, and all that Port Douglas has to offer a short walk in the other direction. Wendy and here team are to be congratulated for making this a great place to stay - I will be back!

(Please don't tell anyone else about By the Sea - i'd much prefer to keep this a secret!)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalboyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,334)
There are newer reviews for By The Sea Port Douglas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,139 - 1,145 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2010

My fiance and i were in Port Douglas briefly over a weekend and needed somewhere to stay that was clean, modern and cost effective. By The Sea ticks these boxes and more however what really stands out is their customer service. After a small mixup with a 3rd party booking system we were unfortunately only able to stay the 1 night however the girls were so apologetic that we received a discount on the room, a room upgrade and a bottle of champage and lovely card on arrival which was far and beyond our expectations.

I cant speak more highly of how fantastic the girls were, how well appointed the room was for the price and how welcome we felt during our stay. We are getting married in P.D in Sept and will definately recommend By The Sea to our guests.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

This is located in a great palce, right next to the beach. It is clean, friendly and Wendy & Co go out of thier way to ensure you have a good time. We booked tours through them - Calypso for the Reef which was brillant and Glenn for our Karunda & Sky Rail trip. Both excellent and great value.
By the Sea provides ice, eskys, DVD's, boggie boards & beach towels which is great. The rooms are clean & the kitchens whislt basic are compact. Our room was small, but we did not have any problems. The balcony was small with no light, but that was the only gripe.
A brillaint stay and I would definatley reccommend this place. Thanks for a great 8 days! :)

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wickedwendy084, Owner at By The Sea Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2010

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We so appreciate them. I also wanted to say that we are very aware of the lack of lighting on some of the balconies and have included the installation of such on all balconies as part of our renovations program planned in two months from now, when we will be closing our resort for a few days to undertake more major renovations.

Thanks again

Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

The hotel is great location and the room is clean. However the room which we are allocated is right next to the reception. It was noisy and people walked pass in front of our door all the time. Bathroom window is low and I could see people's head walking. When we asked to move the room, the reception lady wasn't quite helpful and she complained that she doesn't want us to move the room as the hotel has to put cleaner whenever the customer moves the room. Also fire alarm started at 9am in the morning and one of the reception lady jumped into our room without knocking and gone without saying anything.The alarm was caused by the construction in different part of the hotel. Although it's great location, we were disappointed by their service and wouldn't go back there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arukas33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wickedwendy084, Owner at By The Sea Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2010

We appreciate constructive critism and respect the views of those who may not find our accommodation suitable for them. However this review does not seem to fit in to either category largely because it is so factually incorrect.

1 No one can see in to any one's bathroom
2 We could not have moved this customer even if they asked because we were totally
full at the time this guest stayed (we can ascertain the date this person stayed of course because of the fire alarm and construction this reviewer refers to)
3 This person stayed in a room that has a solid front door and also also a a light fly screen
type door. During the time this customer stayed they had the front door open with only the fly screen door closed. Had they shut the door they would not have heard a thing! (By the Sea Port Douglas resort is a solid building in which noise does not travel readily)
4 As this reviewer has pointed out, the fire alarm was activated by construction in another
part of the building, so why they would think that we would run in to their room, when the
fire alarm is going off in a different part of the building is beyond me and I was there at
the time so I can assure those reading this, that no one went in to their room, either with
or without knocking!

This review is just not factual. No one went in to their room, of course they could hear people going in and out of reception because they had their front door open and we certainly did not say anything about moving them because the conversation could not have been had because we were full.

I should take this opportunity to let those reading know, what renovations are currently occurring at By the Sea Port Dougas as this was referred to in this review and might be a concern for some. Up until the 8th December we are undertaking major renovations to our smallest studios on the ground floor called our Beachside Cosies. Guests staying during that time, as per our standard policy, have been notified in advance and the studios involved have not been rented out. Work will be finished by 8th February.

Thank you for your time and attention and hope to see you

Regards

Wendy and the team at By the Sea Port Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

From the moment we arrive we experienced a warm and welcoming experience. All the staff from management through to house keeping made us feel relaxed and wanted. Front office staff could not have been more helpful and full of local knowledge. The quality of the rooms outlived expectations, clean and well equipped. Location is just minutes from the sea and local restaurants and amenities yet situated in a very quite location. The apartments and building are undergoing major refurbishment and the staff ensured that everybody be kept updated with developments, even prior to arriving and throughout our stay. 3 day weather reports posted outside the main office area, helped us plan activities. Free use of laptops enable us to keep in touch with family and friends and free beech towels and equipment ment we had no worries about taking extra towels with us. In all the apartments meet all needs possible the only down side is no area has been designated a community area other than the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenakoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcac, Owner at By The Sea Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2010

Thank you so much for the positive feedback, it keeps us so enthused about improving our resort and our facilities. We would also like to say that we are just in the process of building a large community area on the ground floor (which has just under gone major renovations) where the Beachside Cosies are. This community area includes not only lounge chairs, tables, sink, overhead fans but also a large barbecue. We will also be creating a community area on all other floors.

Thanks again from all the girls at By the Sea Port Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We arrived to a very warm welcome. They were just so helpful and gave good advice in regards resturants, local facilities, tours etc available. It was great to find the room immaculately clean - it was well laid out, the facilities were great. The Bed was very comfortable and being able to sit out on the balcony and enjoy a red wine in the evening - great. They supplied towels, beach chairs, and beach equipment for the children - all free of charge. The swimming pool was clean and refreshing with a nice modern BBQ available.
It was a great place to rest and relax. An easy stroll to the beach, shops and numerous fantastic resturants.
The only negative is that the flat screen TV could have bee mounted a bit higher on the wall.
A great place to stay - great amosphere and a most helpful and caring staff.
I would highly recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmfaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed 4 nights. Location was perfect. Easy walk to beach, food, ATM. We didn't have a car & didn't need one. Super great staff - friendly & very knowledgeable about tours and reef exploring. We appreciated the mini kitchen & cooked a delicious meal one evening.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjahnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
970 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#6 of 56 in Port Douglas
981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 42 in Port Douglas
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Port Douglas

Address: 72 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Archipelago Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $99 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Sea Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the best of both worlds by staying at By the Sea Port Douglas. The convenience of staying in the main town centre (Macrossan Street) but also the tranquility and beauty of staying right by the sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your By The Sea Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing