We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
By The Sea Port Douglas
Nearby Hotels
The Port Douglas Outrigger(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thala Beach Nature Reserve(Oak Beach)(Great Value!)
$263
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$210
$182
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Paradise Links Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$107
$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pink Flamingo(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peninsula Boutique Hotel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppers Beach Club(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$236
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Martinique on Macrossan(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,440)
Filter reviews
1,441 results
Traveler rating
1,148
248
31
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,148
248
31
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach chairsfree extrasfree icerainforest canopythe main streetsea viewboogie boardsthought of everythingpool toysfree beach towelsshops and restaurantsfour mile beachfree bikesdvd libraryperfect locationquiet endgreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,274 - 1,279 of 1,441 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Cathy was extremely helpful with good advice about tours and trips and we could charge it all to our room which made it really easy. The Lovely Loft was ideal for our family of 2 adults and 2 children (14, 11 & 5) with loads of rooms and separate rooms if we needed some quiet time to ourselves. By The Sea is in the best spot in Port Douglas with a one minute walk to the beach without crossing a road and 5 minutes from the nearest supermarket.
We enjoyed the pool and the beach and loads of free use of things like fresh beach towels, eskis, bucket and spade, bodyboards and barbeque.
A small improvement would be if the internet access was free/included.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doc_holiday100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The staff at By The Sea in Pt Douglas could not do enough for us, they made sure we had a great time. I highly recommend By The Sea in Pt Douglas. It is so close to the beach and the main shopping strip. Brilliant.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

By The Sea is a wonderful place to stay while visiting Port Douglas. The room was spacious and clean. The location is fantastic. You are within a 2 minute walk of both the beach and the down town shops and restraunts. You are close to everything but still feel like you are in a quiet part of town. The staff are wonderfully helpful. One of the biggest advantages of stayin at By The Sea are all of the ammenities which are offered to the guests. This is a place to stay if you are coming from a distance. You will not need to worry about packing beach towels, chairs, toys, etc. This is also a great place to stay if you have children. I would highly recommend By the Sea to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedishGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

By the Sea Port Douglas is a most wonderful place to stay! The new owners have done an amazing job creating an oasis for those traveling. I completely agree with everything mentioned in previous reviews.
Here is my own personal story: When we had a difficult time on one of our tours. due to flash flooding, By The Sea's response was extraordinary. They went out of their way to make us feel better by personally contacting the tour company. When negotiations did not go so well, Wendy kindly offered us the use of her own convertible sports car to use for the day. How amazing is that?
I highly recommend By The Sea to anyone traveling to the Port Douglas area. Their warmth and quality of service exceeds no other.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seeseattle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

By the Sea lived up to expectations being just across the road from the beach and yet nice and handy to the shops and restaurants. Great place to stay if you dont have a car as you are able to walk to most places. The staff were very friendly and gave helpful advice about where to visit and the good restaurants to eat at. Our room was described as cosy and it was very compact but all we needed for our stay, being cleand and quiet. It was nice to have the private patio where we could sit outside.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillview7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews