We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
By The Sea Port Douglas
Nearby Hotels
Thala Beach Nature Reserve(Oak Beach)(Great Value!)
$257
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$182
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Pink Flamingo(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peninsula Boutique Hotel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$292
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppers Beach Club(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$236
$214
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Port Douglas Outrigger(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$172
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Resort Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$121
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$279
$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Links Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$112
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,443)
Filter reviews
1,443 results
Traveler rating
1,150
248
31
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,150
248
31
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach chairsfree extrasfree icerainforest canopythe main streetsea viewboogie boardsthought of everythingpool toysfree beach towelsshops and restaurantsfour mile beachfree bikesdvd libraryperfect locationquiet endgreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,315 - 1,320 of 1,443 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Fantastic place. Great service, extremely helpful. We have a 9 month old daughter, and they were very patient with us. Highly recommended to families. My father has taken our recommendation and going there as well as my optometrist. I've been raving about By the Sea. They go well out of their way to make your holiday as easy and relaxed as possible. We are planning to go back there next year!
Marty

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

This was a great apartment in a wonderful location right by the beach. It is quiet on a night, yet it is only a couple of minutes walk to a wide range of restaurants. The owners were extremely accommodating throughout our stay, giving helpful tips about things to see and do in the area. The apartments have recently been refurbished which means most things in the rooms are new. At the moment, this seems to be the best accommodation for this sort of price in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HazelS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We have just returned from 10 days staying at By The Sea Port Douglas. We would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone who is looking for great value, clean, awesome location, fantastic service, a place to stay where you feel that the staff are doing their very best to make your holiday perfect!! Wendy, Cathy & Olivia are exceptionally friendly and offer the best customer service we have ever experienced in hotel/motel/apartment accommodation. The extra touches that they provide free of charge are greatly appreciated - the beach chairs, chilly bins (eski), barbeque packs etc all make your stay more enjoyable.
The rooms are all recently tastefully redecorated, and very comfortable. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We found from the moment we arrived to a warm welcome a refreshingly relaxed atmosphere. They owners were always available to help in any way when asked.We were pleasantly amazed one day to be offered to use of a car when we had returned a hired vehicle and wanted to get somewhere.

The location is excellent, being within a few yards from the glorious beach in one direction and close by to a rich variety of cafes and shops in the other.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houchen002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed at 'By the Sea Port Douglas' as our last stop on a 3.5 week holiday that saw us travelling from Airlie Beach to Cook Town and back to Cairns. Along the way we stopped off for 2 nights at pre-chosen (and booked) locations and Port Douglas was the last of these. There really couldn't have been a better way to finish our holiday and we so impressed with 'By the Sea' from the moment we arrived... from the really exceptional and friendly staff and management, to the lovely newly refurbished rooms and of course the brilliant location which could not have been better - right at the end of the main street and across the road from the beach.
We were travellng with a 2 year old and were really impressed with the little extras that were offered and made such a difference. These included things such as beach toys, chairs and towels etc which are little personal touches that made our stay just that bit more special and were offered completely free of charge on an honesty system. In all our travels this was the first time a service such as this was offered and whilst it seems such a small thing it made life with a littleone that litte bit easier and really made us feel at home.
With all this said, it was also very reasonably priced - particularly considering the location.
We would definately recommend 'By the Sea Port Douglas' to anyone choosing to stay at Port Douglas and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews