We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Quiet with beautiful views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
By The Sea Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
1 review
“Great location. Quiet with beautiful views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

My husband & I have just returned from staying at By The Sea, which we found to be in an ideal location. Beautiful views from our room, walk across the road to Four Mile Beach or down the street to some fantastic restaurants. Everyone we dealt with (the girls) were very friendly and helpful. It was our 30th Wedding Anniversary and we were greeted with a bottle of bubbly and card congratulating us. We had a wonderful time there!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bezzaVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    234
    29
    7
    9
See reviews for
270
747
66
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Rooms were neat, tidy & spacious, the staff were friendly and very helpful, to the point of lending their car to get to a nearby attraction for a few hours at no cost.
Room had a super view of the ocean being just two properties up from the four mile beach. Beach towels, beach chairs & beach toys were free to use without being hassled.
Sitting on the balcony looking the sea drinking wine at sunset every evening was relaxing and peaceful.
All restaurants & shops were nearby and easily reached by foot.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry20326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

We just returned from 4 days at this hotel. Just half-block from beach. New furnishings in the room; everything was clean and well-organized. We had a side-balcony room (#6) which worked well for the 2 of us. Ate all our meals on the balcony after using the grill by the pool. Shopped for food at Coles just up the block: best selection unless you stop at the IGA coming into town. Super friendly staff here. Offered great advise and no pressue to book anything. We drove up to Cape Trib and also took a Daintree River cruise to see the crocs. We also visited the "Habitat" at the entrace to town to see the koalas and kangaroos. The Port Douglas beach (4-mile) is beautiful; we walked it every day and the hotel was so close we never needed the shuttle like other hotels further out. Plus, all the resturants are on the same steet as this hotel: Convenient!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentflierUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

We arrived in Port Douglas with little knowledge of the place, and were welcomed by Wendy and girls at By The Sea, who made our experiance memorable in so many ways.
The accomodation was well above what we expected for the price we paid and the service was second to none,
The small additions included (beach towels, beach chairs ,eskies, ice, dvd players, dvd's and others) made the holiday experiance effortless.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoonks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

This was great value for money accommodation. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The use of a notebook for a minimal charge was useful and thanks to Olivia who came up to our room several times to help us - at no time did it appear to be any trouble. The location couldn't be better, right at the beach and just a few minutes walk to the main street and the shops.

We had an ocean view room with a King size bed (room 20) and it was very spacious and clean. The swimming pool was a bonus when it was a bit windy on the beach.

The only issue for us is that to get the lovely sea views we were on the top floor and there were a lot of steps up. This could be a problem for older people who are not very fit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

Nice hotel located within 2 mins from the beach (at a slow pace). Located on the quite end of the main road, but within walking distance from shops and places to eat. Hotel employees were great! Room very clean and bright with small kitchen area and a balcony which faced the hotel next door (there are about 4 or 5 small hotels in that side of the street). Plenty of room for parking if you rented a car, and a nice small pool in the front with a BBQ. Hotel provided beach towels and other beachware which was an added plus for travellers coming from afar! I would go back again, no doubt! Just wished the kitchen was a bit bigger (even though it had everything you needed) and the bathroom had some shampoo/soap for our first night's shower.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim NZ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

Ideal location for beach, town, restaurants, without being disturbed by any noise associated with an in town situation. All staff are friendly and helpful, with a sense of humour. Apartment comfortable, clean and wonderful view of beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigEarsBlenheimNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 56 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Port Douglas

Property: By The Sea Port Douglas
Address: 72 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Archipelago Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Sea Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the best of both worlds by staying at By the Sea Port Douglas. The convenience of staying in the main town centre (Macrossan Street) but also the tranquility and beauty of staying right by the sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your By The Sea Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing