We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location literally 'By The Sea'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
By The Sea Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Location literally 'By The Sea'”
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Everything about 'By The Sea' Port Douglas was brilliant, the location - the name of the apartments says it all it is literally by the sea and beach but equally very central for the restaurants, everything is in walking distance.. The staff where lovely, booked all our trips for us and offered great advice about where to eat etc. The rooms had everything you would need for your holiday, clean and nicely decorated, you could get clean beach towels, beach chairs, cool box , ice and beach equipment whenever you needed them free of charge (a great asset when travelling light). Undercover car park very useful. Overall a great end to our fantastic trip through Queensland. Definately would go there again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastacia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    238
    29
    7
    9
See reviews for
281
770
67
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in the middle of a cyclone warning in January so it rained pretty much solidly but we still had a good time, and the hospitality of Wendy, Kathy and the team more than made up for the weather.

Free laptops, games, deck chairs, beach towels,DVD player, BBQ kit. The list goes on. It was refreshing to stay somewhere that didn't have lusts of rules everywhere.

Wendy and Kathy could not do enough to help, we had daily updates under our door on the weather. Their knowledge of the local area and trips was second to none.

It's right on the beach and a short 2 minute stroll into Port Douglas town.

We cannot recommend this place enough - you will not disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun2009_Sun_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEI Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Stayed here for four nights and would definitely stay here again!! We had the two level apartment with a lovely view of the rainforest (and slight view of the ocean). Very clean and comfortable. Lots of room for four adults to spread out. An early riser could be up, make coffee in the well equiped kitchen and sit out on the deck without distrubing others. The two great ladies in the office, Kathy and Wendy, were very friendly and very helpful when we had to cancel some of our plans due to weather and they helped us find other activities that we thoroughly enjoyed. Excellent loaction in Port Douglas. Comfortable walk to all the many restaurants, shops and the marina and only steps away from the beach. They have laptop computers that you can rent for a nominal fee and keep in your room for the duration of your stay. This was a great convenience. Only down side (for those sleeping on the lower level) was the fact that the bathroom was on the upper level but I understand they are doing renovations to the whole facility and wil be adding a second bathroom to this unit. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2010

I would just say that the people, cathy tilly and wendy were all brilliant so friendly and informative they organised anything we wanted they made our stay so brilliantly strees free they were superb, they hotel was very very clean and the view of the beach and sea were gorgeous , i would reccommend this hotel to everyone , wether single married with or without children , brilliant brilliant brilliant , thank you cathy wendy and tilly .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogiMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Cathy, Wendy and Bronwyn are super friendly and very knowledgeable about all the various tourist attractions in the area, which was greatly appreciated as our scheduled activity was cancelled.

The rooms are fabulous and exceptionally clean - especially the balconies which are great to chill out and relax on.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2010

friendly staff,from the front of house staff to the house keeping department
great extras at no extra cost
excellent location with awesome views from the rainforest to sea
easy walk to street and the well known sunday market in the park
we love this hotel and will be back again this year as we have already booked in july and next january 2001
we look forward to seeing the planned renovations as we understand they will be great

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanieGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We found this place on Trip Advisor - a good start! It was our Christmas stop on a three-week tour of Eastern Australia, so we wanted something a little special - but not a fancy resort. This fitted the bill perfectly. My wife and twelve year-old found the rainforest 2 level suite fitted all our needs - spacious enough not to be under each other's feet - views into the palm trees outside - full service kitchen (even enough to cook a roast lamb Christmas dinner!) - and superb service. The hostesses catered to every need - from knowledgeable advice on trips, including the reef and Daintree - to little things like a CD player to borrow, gingerbread cookies on Christmas Eve, and going out to buy paring knives when we commented that there were none in the suite. The availability of beach gear, such as chairs, eskies (coolers), etc. was a bonus - as well as the vast amount of inflatable toys in the pool. The location too is great - steps from four mile beach, and a pleasant stroll down the main street past the shops to the other side of the peninsula and the marina.

Re-decorations are scheduled for February. This can only make it better. What a shame it is so far away from Canada - we would surely return if we ever travel that way again.

PS No "business centre" - but cheap internet and laptops to borrow.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torontotravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
561 reviews
2.9 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Port Douglas

Property: By The Sea Port Douglas
Address: 72 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Archipelago Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Sea Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the best of both worlds by staying at By the Sea Port Douglas. The convenience of staying in the main town centre (Macrossan Street) but also the tranquility and beauty of staying right by the sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your By The Sea Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing