We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in ideal location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
By The Sea Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in ideal location.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The sign above the exit-way says it all. "Turn left for the beach. Turn right to spend money."
The apartments are located at the end of Macrossan Street right next to the beach and at the quieter end of the main street for restaurants, shops etc. Perfect location. The girls took over the place about 3 years ago I believe, and what a good job they've done.
The whole place is clean and bright and our apartment was lovely with beach views from the balcony which has table and chairs and it's own barbecue. The apartment has a kitchen with cooker, fridge freezer etc. We had a large double bed, settee and coffee table. There is also an iron and ironing board, TV with loads of channels, hairdryer etc. The girls are always very helpful with advice on tours etc and the service is superb. There is an ice making machine in reception where you can help yourself to as much ice as you like.
A big bonus is the stuff that's all available free of charge such as:
Ice boxes for picnics, bikes, deck chairs to take to the beach, a variety of games such as scrabble, beach cricket sets, kites. This place has the lot. There's even a selection of books and a dvd library packed with up to date films, all free to play on the dvd player in your room.
All in all, great value for money in a great location right next to 4 mile beach.
Thanks girls, we loved it there.

Room Tip: The best rooms overlook the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GHew3018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    238
    29
    7
    9
See reviews for
282
773
67
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here with family of four over Christmas 2012 in one of their 'Seaside Seclusion' rooms (two bedrooms, one bathroom). Very well priced and loved the attention to detail in fitting out the apartment. The well-stocked kitchen and BBQ provided made self-catering so easy and convenient! Also loved being able to borrow boogie boards, beach chairs, beach toys and even pushbikes to take down to Four Mile Beach (located right next to the property), and then being able to borrow from their extensive DVD library when we felt like a movie - all for free!

Our family loved the boutique, friendly feel of By The Sea - a nice change from the impersonality of your usual hotel and resort chains. This was an absolute highlight of our North Queensland trip. Would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Website gives good detail of each room type (if you can get past the late 90s feel of the website la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fayfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 4 nights, we had a great stay seeing all the gorgeous sights near PD but the accommodation was perfect for us. The added extra's of the Beach bikes, made for a fantastic morning ride along 4 mile beach, and the extra of beach towels, eskies etc.

The free DVD's were a very much appreciated after exhausting but awesome trip out to the reef to chill out in our room in the evening. The bbq and Kitchen were perfect for making a early morning breakfast before long days out sightseeing. If back in Port Douglas this would be my first port of call. Location perfect, staff - helpful, extra's - awesome, and comfy bed to boot.

Room Tip: Has a pool and Sea View room, rooms look exactly like the pics - good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pomme1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our Christmas holiday and we had a great time. The 2-bedroom apartment with kitchen and a huge balcony is just what we wanted. It was well-furnished, bright and relaxing. The girls were brilliant, helping out with our tours with good recommendations. Location is perfect, short walk to the beach and also to the shopping area. My only comment is that for a 6-day stay, I would have liked a change of beddings, without charge. Overall, the place is great and would highly recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dchphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Location is terrific, within walking distance to the beach, shops, eating places. "All the Girls by the Sea", so friendly and helpful and everything you need is all there and so convenient. Lots of free items that you don't have to go out and buy and then carry from place to place. Esky, ice, books, all there for your free use. What a terrific idea, instead of wasting time going out and getting ice etc etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharyn083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We were extremely happy with the hotel. The best customer service, the girls are always there for you to help you. We have a 3 years old boy that had a great time, they provide a range of different beach equipment & toys. Also free Dvd hire including a range of kids Dvd. My boy loved every day of our stay. We definitely will stay here again. Great location & great room ;)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lblayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

When we stayed at By The Sea two years ago I thought the accommodation was very good but it is now even better. All rooms have been updated and our apartment had all the latest mod cons. What makes this accommodation outstanding is the helpful and enthusiastic attitude of all the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and they really made out stay enjoyable.

A true gem in Port Douglas which far exceeds the big hotels in this resort.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 23, Tropical Elegance is fabulous. All rooms are good, but the cubby rooms are on the small si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AitchHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
723 reviews
2.9 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
2.9 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Port Douglas

Property: By The Sea Port Douglas
Address: 72 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Archipelago Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Sea Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the best of both worlds by staying at By the Sea Port Douglas. The convenience of staying in the main town centre (Macrossan Street) but also the tranquility and beauty of staying right by the sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your By The Sea Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing