We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem in Port Douglas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
By The Sea Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

When we stayed at By The Sea two years ago I thought the accommodation was very good but it is now even better. All rooms have been updated and our apartment had all the latest mod cons. What makes this accommodation outstanding is the helpful and enthusiastic attitude of all the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and they really made out stay enjoyable.

A true gem in Port Douglas which far exceeds the big hotels in this resort.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 23, Tropical Elegance is fabulous. All rooms are good, but the cubby rooms are on the small si...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AitchHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,334)
There are newer reviews for By The Sea Port Douglas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 881 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

What a wonderful holiday and perfect place to stay. Perfect location, lovely room. Have never met friendlier or more helpful staff, so much "free stuff". Made our Christmas perfect. Spent Christmas day on the reef came home to a bottle of bubbly & Christmas card. Girls from By the Sea.. You should be so proud of your service. Thank You Carol & Irene

Room Tip: near the shops but at the quiet end of the street
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cajwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Can't say enough good things about the hotel or about the girls that run the show,particulary Jodie who went well beyond the call of duty to help us out we are sure she could run the country.Would recommend to stay there but book early as very popular.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mobleylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here on our arrival in Oz for 3 nights. We had emailed the staff prior to us arriving and changed our stay from 2 nights to 3 as we thought we could do with 3 nights to get over the jet lag, they were so accommodating. They knew we were on our honeymoon and on arrival there was a bottle of sparkling wine in the fridge was such a wonderful surprise and so thoughtful. The accomodation was lovely with a gorgeous rainforest view. The complex has a pool and everything you could imagine you might need for days out. Loungers, towels, cool boxes, umbrellas, snorkels, and all free for you to use. It really is a great place and not far to walk at night to the restaurants. It's also the only place we've stayed so far that has wifi included in the room price, and there's no limit on how much data you can use etc. it's a wonderful spot and the value for money is fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmab175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wickedwendy084, the reception team at By The Sea Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

We’d like to say a huge thank-you to all our guests for their very kind and encouraging words. We appreciate each and every review we receive, and take every word to heart so we can continue helping people have the very best possible holiday.
2012 has been a brilliant year, we’ve met so many wonderful, fun, and charming people travelling through our resort, and hope to see you all again here at By The Sea Port Douglas in the very near future!
We wish all our guests - past, present and future - a very merry Christmas, and we hope 2013 is a wonderful year for you.

Our warmest regards,
All the girls at By The Sea Port Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in dec. We found the location and facilities excellent. We had an upstairs room and being so close to the beach, we always had a cool breeze and did not need the airconditioner even though it was 32 outside. It was only a 1km walk to the end of town and the marina. The staff were always pleasant and helpful, making our stay the best! I was not in the best of health and the girls were very considerate and helped with anything I needed. We enjoyed the tours we did aroound Port Douglas which were efficiently organised for us by 'the girls'. Bescause of my poor health we did not do everything we would have liked and we plan to return next year and definitely will be staying at By the Sea.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being upstairs with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank filhug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

By the looks you willt hink you're back at the eigthies, but look past that. It's a small place with nice appartments on a very good location. Only 300 meters from the beach and at the main streat of Port Douglas. The girls help you with good tour booking advice. Also they suply free additions suchs as bikes, towels, beachchairs, sun umbrella's etc. The rooms are basic but have everything you need. Bed's are very comfy. We've got a free upgrade to the family room and with that had a nice spacy balcony with a BBQ. We just arrived after a 32 hour flight and it was very nice to get back from our jetlag in this appartment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed in 'By The Sea' for a week in November with my parents and our twin girls. We had one of the 2 bed appartments and the space and facilities it offered were great. A large outdoor veranda with table and bbq was great. Meant we had loads of home cooked meals whilst the girls were able to play in a safe and shady environment. The kitchen is well equipped and there are two bathrooms, with a washing machine. They provided the cots for free and the pool was nice and shaded for the most part. It is ideally located, right by the beach and at the start of the main street so it was an easy stroll to restaurants, shops and bars. The property is run by a very nice and helpful bunch of ladies that were always willing to help and advise. Value for money this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Downunder_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
966 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 55 in Port Douglas
980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 42 in Port Douglas
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Port Douglas

Address: 72 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Archipelago Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $100 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Sea Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the best of both worlds by staying at By the Sea Port Douglas. The convenience of staying in the main town centre (Macrossan Street) but also the tranquility and beauty of staying right by the sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your By The Sea Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing