We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Position great for shopping and food! Rooms dark and noisy!”
Review of Mantra Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Heritage
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Position great for shopping and food! Rooms dark and noisy!”
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I chose this hotel because of the position and convenience of shopping and eating.Having stayed at Rydges before, I found the inconvenience of getting around a nuisance without a car. All the Mantras are convenient. There were 5 of us so requested a 2 bedroom apartment. We expected a full kitchen. We were given a tiny kitchenette in a corner of the room. It was clean but the lounge was dirty looking. The spa was great but the spa bath needed maintenance. The view of the pool was a tin roof and because the balconies were enclosed we had to have the lights on because it was so dark. Our bedroom was close to motors so every 10 mins there was a noisy motor that cut in for 2 mins. It was like Chinese torture through the night. We were offered to move but it was next to a building site, need I say more. The reception staff were not too friendly. The cockroaches and ants were an issue but thats the tropics. The beds felt like we were sleeping on plastic. I guess if the weather was better we wouldn't have been in the hotel much. The chairs around the pool were broken. Overall disappointed with the hotel. The Reef trip is a MUST to do.All reefcruisers are similar, take your money with you for the on selling! Hire a car and go up to the Daintree. Avis was the best!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyDebW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    167
    73
    33
    18
See reviews for
116
224
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast, NSW
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2010

I stayed in one of the hotel rooms. When I first arrived I went to get a drink of water from the jug in the fridge - the jug was empty so I took the lid off to fill it and it had black marks like mould on the inside of lid and jug. Carpets were not great but ok, room in general was pretty dark. Spa on balcony was good but balcony was very closed in with only small window over pool.
Also there were no bowls for cereal and no toaster, only kettle, 2 glasses, cups, teaspoons and small plates.
I had friends in appartment rooms which were bigger but still very dark.
I would recommend it for location only and if you spend most days out sightseeing etc and only using rooms for sleeping then its ok

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jls0185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales U.K.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Fantastic location right in the heart of macrossan street and it's shops & nightlife but very quiet. Rooms are spotless & have everything you should need from cooking hob(no oven) & microwave to washing machine & drier. The pool although not huge is beautifully clean & warm & has a whirlpool section to it. Our balcony had a whirlpool which you have to warm up for 3 hours before using it - but once warm it's great for relaxing after a days sightseeing & also an electric BBQ. If ever we were lucky enough to visit this beautiful little town again we would definitely stay at the Mantra Heritage.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddraigoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Very conveniently located just off Pt Douglas' main street, but still quiet and peacefull at night. Direcly next to Coles/Shopping Center.
Great pool and spa facilities.
Only downside: Rooms are very small.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rava29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Excellent location, right in the middle of the main street of Port Douglas, couldn't be handier for all the shops & restaurants. We booked a stardard double room which was very spacious, had balcony overlooking pool area with a barbeque on balcony and a whirlepool bath on the balcony. Fridge and sink with kitchen cupboards. Large closet and wardrobe, safe, Lovely bathroom. Washer & dryer also available right outside bedroom. Lovely pool area with a barbeque area. Fantastic hotel, in excellent location and excellent value for money. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

This is a great place to stay, marred only by the shabby furniture and filthy carpet in our room; We also saw a nasty stain on one of the sheets, though the bedding had been washed and otherwise appeared clean. The view from the balcony was of a garage and some retail shops, but looking beyond that you could see beautiful mountains in the distance.
The pool which was at first impression beautiful, but could have done with a thorough scrub, especially the jacuzzi part which had a greasy tide mark all round!! - ugh...
That said, the room was well laid out and must have been stunning originally, just was a bit tired. The chambermaids did what they had to do to prove that they had been in, but obviously didn't exert themselves!!
However, we didn't stay in the room long as there was so much to do in and around PD, so we didn't let that get in the way of our enjoyment. Really I have been in worse places, and feel that standards have been overlooked here, as everything else was fine!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowbird29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. The pool area is one of the nicest I’ve seen; even though it’s not a large pool area its tropical setting was very pleasant, especially with the variation of tropical birds in the palm trees. Our room had two bedrooms which were en-suite. Living area was very spacious only the kitchen area let it down which wasn’t as clean as it could have been. There was a Jacuzzi on our balcony. We had a view towards the harbour where the reef trips set off from, which was only a couple of minutes walk away. As the sun goes down hundreds of Lorikeets come to roost in the trees around the balcony which we enjoyed seeing, just be careful walking under the trees later in the evening. Staff at the Mantra we found was very helpful. There are numerous restaurants in Port Douglas close to the hotel of a good standard. There is a ‘chippy’ restaurant near the entrance onto Macrossan Street which did great cooked breakfasts. The hotel is in the centre of the resort which isn’t that big really. If you fancy a stroll try the four mile beach.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not as clean as I'd expect.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#31 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#23 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Aqueous On Port
Mantra Aqueous On Port
#11 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Heritage

Property: Mantra Heritage
Address: 16 Warner St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Heritage)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Heritage 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled around 1200 square metres of saltwater lagoon pools and spas, Mantra Heritage, embraces its relaxed atmosphere and central location, and provides the perfect base to explore all Port Douglas has to offer. Comprising hotel rooms as well as self contained one and two bedroom apartments, all have comfortable furnishings with some featuring a swim-up pool deck. The apartments are fully self contained and offer additional features such as a kitchenette and separate living area. All rooms feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, tea and coffee making facilities, internet access, cable TV and balconies. Set around two lagoon style pools and amongst tropical gardens, the resort offers relaxation, privacy and poolside living yet is central to the heart of the main street via direct walkway access. Only a short stroll from the wharf and Four Mile Beach, Mantra Heritage provides a pleasant holiday location perfect for couples or families alike. Enjoy a stroll along Macrossan Street sampling the wares on offer, or snorkel the Great Barrier Reef and experience one of Australia's famous natural wonders. Whatever takes your fancy, Port Douglas has something for everyone. Mantra Heritage epitomises the laid back Port Douglas lifestyle making it the perfect place for a tropical family holiday or couples romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Heritage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mantra Heritage Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mantra Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing