We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, location and room”
Review of Mantra Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Heritage
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed July 7, 2006

We stayed for 3 nights over Christmas and were amazed by the hotel. The room was excellent. There was a small kitchen area (fridge and sink) just inside the door. Then a large area with a huge bed, seating, desk, tv, cd player etc. The bathroom was off the bedroom with a huge shower. It was beautifully done. Then there was a huge terrace-style balcony with a jacuzzi bath, bbq hot plate area, sink etc, and dining table - perfect for a Christmas bbq in the sun.

Great location with an easy stroll to 4 mile beach and close to a huge choice of restaurants.

The pool was gorgeous - and great to cool down in the blistering heat. Well located for getting further north, and for access back to Cairns.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LizzieR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 542 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2006

Just returned from a week at the Heritage. Booked through Expedia[-]- and somehow received a free upgrade upon arrival. We had a one bedroom-with spa and private pool deck. Location was excellent- right in the middle of the main street- equal distance between the Marina and four mile beach- a short 5-7 minute walk to each.Layout of the hotel ensures total privacy from the main street but in the best location to access many dining options. Coles supermarket is two doors down- a bakery just around the corner. Reasonably priced but delicious meals can be found at Mango Jam- across the road (and they have a website too) also the courthouse hotel- on the corner of the inlet end of Macrossen st. Fine dining - a bit pricier- but delicious at La Cucina- and for those on a budget- a fish'n'chip shop and pizza place a few doors down from the hotel- heading toward 4 mile beach.Markets on Sunday were a great time to stock up on fresh fruit from local growers! MMmmmmm. Enjoy the Heritage- I may see you there again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Marene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2006

Its disapointing to return to a property to notice that some standards are slipping.
The Heritage has been running for about 3-4 years now and there are a few chinks in the armour starting to show.
Firstly let me congratulate the Gardiner/Pool guy who maintains this property in a fastidious manner. The pool is always sparkling and the large deck is a treat.

This was the first time we had not been upgraded to a 1 bed aprtment and had a very small "hotel room". The matress we had was dreadful, it creaked and clunked everytime I rolled over. On the other hand it looks like the resort has just purchased all new pillows !
Some other signs of wear and shoddy repairs are starting to show, e.g. the dvd player in the room was precariously balanced on the cross bars of the TV table. The steel strapping nailed to the underside of the table, originally holding the unit, still uselessly hanging there.

Staff were noticibly fewer in number, but still typically laid back in true north Queensland style. Do not expect to be fawned over in this part of the world, however ask the right questions and nearly everyone is happy to assist.

Overall, we still had a great 4 day stay there, but I hope the Outrigger ppl read this and lift their game a little to maintain the attraction of this property. We also stayed at the outrigger in the village, much larger rooms, but a lousy pool area.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DJH1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2006

We stayed at Outrigger Heritage for three nights for a weekend away in Port Douglas.

The hotel is very conveniently placed being in the main township, and is only a short walk away from 4 mile beach, and the inlet. The supermarket is just next door.

Unfortunately we (similar to another reviewer) made the mistake of booking the Hotel Room because of the good deal. The room that we were given had a number of problems, some of those were due to the layout of the room, which is poor at best, and the others reflect a sloppy attitude to maintenance and I guess housekeeping.

The hotel room layout is poor – to access the balcony you need to go through the bathroom, if someone is getting changed, and the front door opens, then someone gets a full view of the room if someone is standing close to the entrance, it also means that any sounds that echo up the stairwell are unavoidable. The second problem is in our room, which was facing the back road, the neighbours balcony was adjoining ours, with louvers is between. Due to the very poor placement of the bathroom then if your neighbour who is in control of these louves opens them, then they can see straight into your bathroom, and through the refection off the mirror into the shower!

Although the design has not been thought out we had a number of issues with the room – when we arrived the fan in the room was making a clicking sound as it turned, which we would have meant that we would have been unable to sleep – I reported this to the desk, and it was fixed immediately. Over the evening we found two of the lights, one above the bed, and the one above the basin were also broken.. Not good enough. But the thing that really upset me was that at midnight the clock-radio alarm went off. Housekeeping had obviously not bothered to check the alarm when they cleaned the room after a guest had left.

We spoke to the supervisor, who straight away said that he would move us, but at no time did there appear to be any remorse or even the use of the word “sorry”.

The replacement – upgraded room was much better in layout, just as you would expect, and it even had a kitchen. One problem here though is when our “neighbours” appeared to turn on a tap, we could hear the water quite heavily going through the pies/out the showerhead etc.. – Not ideal. I also checked the alarms on the clock radios – lucky I did, as it were set to go off again at Midnight and had been turned onto Radio.

The swimming pool also was very nice, and the swim up rooms look great – just hope they don’t have the same problems that we had.

Overall a very sloppy hotel and stay, not what I expected from an Outrigger – very amateurish. Won’t be back.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flytoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2006

After much research we chose Outrigger Heritage as the venue for our Honeymoon on May 2006 and after our stay we cannot possibly speak highly enough of our time at the venue.

The resort itself is ideally situated, right in the heart of Port Douglas, close to restaurants, nightlife, shops, the marina & the beach, yet from our room or poolside there was no noise and we could have been miles out of town. (I cannot speak highly enough of the convenience of being central to everything, most of the larger resorts are out of town and beyond walking distance, requiring the use of shuttle buses which create expenses and a lot of time sitting around waiting for them to come along)

The resort staff were friendly and helpful, recommending which tours to do (and to avoid)

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, with spa and a swimup pool deck and our accommodation was fantastic. Our room contained both cooking facilities and laundry facilites which was essential given the length of our stay. The pools were cleanand inviting, not at all crowded during our stay.

We will be back

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank andrew23195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2006

This was the last week of a 3 week break in Oz. Four of us in what must have been the best rooms in the place - a 2 bedroomed apartment with kitchen, dining and living areas, a poolside deck with bbq and jacuzzi. We loved the place! the facilities were clean and well looked after, and the situation is great, right in the middle of Port Douglas's main drag, Macrossan Street. It's equi-distant from the marina at one end and 4 mile beach at the other. No noisy bar or restaurant in the hotel. No need - as many bars and different places to eat (including take-aways) as you could want in the main street, along with as many shops as you need(including a supermarket). Port Douglas itself has a laid-back vibe, and although the town has spread, grown very quickly and is mostly made up of pretty new hotels, the general feel of the place is that of a relaxed village.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dean Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2006

Stayed at the Outrigger for 4 nights during December '05. We had a one bed apartment with spa, it was just fabulous, the balcony overlooked the lagoon style pools which are very picturesque. The location is perfect - right in the heart of Port Douglas (although you would never know that, it is so private).
Port Douglas is a lovely little town with tastfull shops and great places to eat. The bird life there is just amazing, colourful parrots flying everywhere which are extremely chatty. Great excursions available too, the reef is a MUST, it is so much better up there that further down the coast. We travelled up from Sydney stopping off at several places along the way and Port Douglas was definately one of our favourites.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tequilacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#29 of 42 in Port Douglas
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
734 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
943 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#25 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Heritage

Address: 16 Warner St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Heritage)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $82 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Heritage 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled around 1200 square metres of saltwater lagoon pools and spas, Mantra Heritage, embraces its relaxed atmosphere and central location, and provides the perfect base to explore all Port Douglas has to offer. Comprising hotel rooms as well as self contained one and two bedroom apartments, all have comfortable furnishings with some featuring a swim-up pool deck. The apartments are fully self contained and offer additional features such as a kitchenette and separate living area. All rooms feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, tea and coffee making facilities, internet access, cable TV and balconies. Set around two lagoon style pools and amongst tropical gardens, the resort offers relaxation, privacy and poolside living yet is central to the heart of the main street via direct walkway access. Only a short stroll from the wharf and Four Mile Beach, Mantra Heritage provides a pleasant holiday location perfect for couples or families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Heritage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mantra Heritage Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mantra Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing