We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We saw the room and left”
Review of Mantra Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Heritage
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed October 7, 2008

This is not strictly speaking a review of our stay, as we turned at the door of our designated room. The sight of it confirmed a less than favourable impression gained of the street and the lobby as well as winding stairs and corridors (the receptionist had falsely claimed that we could reach the room by elevator, and we had a small excursion looking for this until we found the room two flights up - walking). Opening the door to musky carpets, worn furniture, and a partial view of the street and parking facilities from a small balcony reached through the bathroom - it simply was too unbearable, and so we left. If there is a saving grace, it was that the receptionist sent us on to another Mantra hotel, where we did spend our holiday and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank thatsmystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 551 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2008

Was disappointed with this hotel. The room was extremely tired looking and could have done with updating. To access our room from reception meant an impossible trek up and down stairs etc and around the pool with suitcases and then finally access to the room via a lift. Therefore we booked in at the front of the hotel on Warner Street. Then temporary parked on Macrossian where there was access to the hotel through a shopping mall. Up in a lift to our room and then back down again to the car and driving it back to Warner Street to the hotel's car park. Not an ideal situation. However the hotel is in a central location with everything on its door step. We stayed here during Port Douglas' carnivale time and it was lovely. Lots of live music, good food and drink.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kagriff4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Location is unbeatable. We booked a studio, but it was small and dark so we upgraded (at a very reduced rate) to one of the rooms with access from our balcony to the pool. The room was a nicely furnished one bedrrom apartment, plenty of room and clean throughout. The pool area is great but could do with more lounges. A short hop (in seconds) and you are on the main drag of PD which has great pubs and place to eat. The CourtHouse Hotel does great steaks-try the Strom Gould (huge chuck of rib steak on the bone). Port Douglas is a great place to visit, we have been there five times now and will be back again later this year.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nickofromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

This is a lovely hotel with very helpful staff.

Great location just at the back of the main street.

Be careful you don't end up with a room in the corner of the hotel as it is very dark with no windows - we were allocated one of these rooms originally but they were happy to change it for us and we had a great room.

We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AJSNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

Okay, now this is quite a mixed review. The location is really good as it is in the middle of the town. Some of reviews are quite negative but when you stay in Port Douglas you don't really spend much time in your hotel.
The staff are really helpful. The rooms have good facilities and our room had a spa, which was a bonus. The carpets was very grubby and the room a bit dated. The biggest mistake the hotel make was laying beige carpets. I would stay here again and although the pool was small it was still nice.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rubiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

We stayed at the Mantra Heritage in Port Douglas in February 08. We'd planned the stay to be a bit of a relaxing break following our travels in Singapore and Sydeny, as well as an opportunity to visit the wonders of the Queensland shore at the same time. The stay lived up to expectations without a doubt.
The hotel was ideally placed just off Macrossan Street, the main area of Port Douglas, with plenty of restaurants, bars and a few shops too. This was ideal, and unlike many of the other nice hotels which are situated further out of town. The hotel was excellent. We got upgraded to a suite, which really made the stay, and meant we had a kitchen, lounge, and private jacuzzi as well as the standard facilities you would expect. Staff went out of their way to help us, expecially the gardener! There were two lovely pools, both clean and well maintained, although there did look to be a shortage of sun loungers - not such a problem for us as in February it is rainy season and therefore a little quiter but could imagine it being a problem in other months, expecially since bathing at the beach can be an issue during stinger season.
Although it was rainy season, we only saw rain on a couple of days, and for the most part this was light rain with temperatures still being in the early 30s so we still enjoyed our stay. There were some heavier rains the week before, however.
There's a vast array of trips on offer, all easily bookable from the main street of Port Douglas, so no need to book in advance. We went out to the Great Barrier Reef with Sailaway, and had a thoroughly memorable experience, seeing reef sharks, turtles and the brightest coral and fish you could imagine. We also went up to the Daintree with Deluxe safaris, a four wheel drive trip meaning numbers in the party were small. This was a real opportunity to see the Australia wildlife in it;s natural habitat - the crocs and snakes were like I'd never seen before!
I'd fully recommend a stay here. Just be prepred, prices in Port Dougals are quite steep, expecially for drinks.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2008

When we arrived at Mantra Heritage it turned out that our booking was incorrect. After talking to the receptionist for a while, he came up with an "offer we could not refuse". It did cost us a bit more than planned, but is was indeed a very good offer, which we accepted.

We got a very nice 2 room apartment overlooking the main street and with a big jacussi on the terrace. It was really nice and surpricingly quiet.

The hotel got a very large, nice and secluded pool area.

The main problem with this hotel is the number of steps, especially at arrival and for those guests staying in the rooms towards the main street.

The service was very good. Especially the front desk was very helpful and flexible.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank K_K_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#29 of 42 in Port Douglas
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#25 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,723 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#17 of 42 in Port Douglas
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Heritage

Address: 16 Warner St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Heritage)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $82 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Heritage 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover casual elegance in the iconic Tropical North Queensland town of Port Douglas. Your Port Douglas accommodation has open spaces, sparkling water and lush gardens edging private terraces and plunge pools. Peppers Beach Club is one of the finest Port Douglas resorts. Snorkel the Great Barrier Reef, 4WD Cape Tribulation and stroll along Four Mile Beach during an amazing sunset. Your accommodation in Port Douglas isn’t far from the evening’s entertainment at Macrossan Street. Peppers Beach Club is in the modern Australian tropical village of Port Douglas, one of the last stop-off points before the Daintree. If you crave a pure tropical resort experience, this Port Douglas accommodation is first class. And it’s just an hour from the international Cairns Airport along one of the great scenic coastal drives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Heritage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mantra Heritage Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mantra Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing