We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location”
Review of Mantra Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Heritage
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Kurow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic location”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just had our third trip to Port Douglas and our third staying at Mantra Heritage. Had a fantastic room, thanks to Ginny with balcony back and front. Location is awesome being so close to Macrossan Street , Coles and restaurants within short walking distance. Generally very clean but a few places could have had a little more attention and some furniture could do with updating. The main pool is now solar heated and we swum 3/4 times a day .All in all a great place to stay and we will be back. A special thanks to Ginny for her wonderful help and friendliness.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    173
    75
    36
    19
See reviews for
122
234
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Capri, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Room was clean and very comfortable, quiet and loved the spa on the balcony. A perfect place for a winter getaway. Staff were always helpful. The pool was nice and well kept. Overall I think its a great place to stay, central to everything, restaurants pubs and shops, beach wasnt far away either. We didnt have a car, we didnt need one

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a spa on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larajay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great location with exits to Main Street & to marina side handy for reef trips.
We were in a 2 bedroom apartment for a week. Very noisy on non pool side with trucks coming into Coles. Room well set up, only disappointment for us was that even though we stayed a week you needed to pay $77 to get room clean/new towels. Free for 8 days or more, poor value considering we paid over $2000 for the week. Also would have been good if wifi was free, thought that was standard these days, would have taken own mobile device.
Pool great, clean well set up, towels available most of the time. Close to shops, beach & restaurants etc. can walk everywhere. Staff very helpful, especially when bathroom door locked( had no lock) and medication was required.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pommesheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beechworth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms are in need of an upgrade, but the location is very good and the pool area was great for young families. Our room backed onto the Coles carpark, which was a bit noisey, but was not too much of an issue. Even though we understand that northern Queensland is humid and mould can be an issue, we needed to purchase some cleaning products to clean the shower and wipe down the doors for finger prints etc. Considering the rooms are cleaned at least every 4 days (whilst in use) the mould should not have been a problem. We normally stay at Mantra Acqueous, but overall, the Heritage room was very good.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms at the Macrosson Street end of the facility which seemed to be sought after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi Shirley C.

I appreciate you feedback.
It is always good to hear that our great staff looked after you during your holiday.

All of our units have had some refurbished done over the last three years - but please let me know if there is any issue you found that needed improving in the unit that you stayed in.
I am sorry to hear that you needed to do any extra cleaning yourself , please always let us know if we have missed anything and we are always happy to follow up during your stay.

We do our best to meet all requests in regard to the location of rooms so also let me know directly if we can request a particular room in future.

I look forward to seeing you back at Mantra Heritage again.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

What is it about Mantra and Port Douglas? They certainly have decided to make their mark on the place - even one of the Peppers is a Mantra.
But that's not the point really.
We have stayed in about 7 different places in Port, and none of them stand out as sensational. Not such a bad thing, because Port is a walking/doing place rather than a stay-in-room place.
Location matters a lot in Port, and Mantra Heritage is bang in the middle of Macrossan St (despite being officially in Warner Street - worry not, access to Macrossan is direct).
Rooms are good, beds fine, showers etc. All the basics are there. We needed some additional kitchenware, and Housekeeping Director Tracey was there in the flashest of flashes.
Reception staff helped a lot with tour recommendations, and overall it was a positive experience.
One day we took the opportunity to inspect a few of the other non-Mantra accommodation offerings along Macrossan St. None were better.
Coles is next door. That may sound ordinary - a major retailer in a peaceful village - but a local fisherman told us that the only place in Port to buy fresh fish is Coles. Sad.
We'll be back. Thanks Casey - oh, and we just found a room key in our luggage - we'll send it back tomorrow. Promise.

Room Tip: Many (all?) of the ground level rooms have a private deck that adjoins the pool. Worth fighting for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFLonergan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great location right on Main Street . Great room jacuzzi on verandah wouldn't choose any other room here . Room clean everything you need for a long stay everything in walking distance wouldn't stay Anywhere else

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Realhonestreviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in October 2012. My sister and I and our husbands had a 2 Bedroom (Studio and 1 Bedroom) apartment and our friends had a 1 Bedroom apartment. It is so convenient to all Cafes and Hotels and a mere 1 minute walk to Coles. Rooms were all set up well. The function we loved was the Big BarBQ area where we cooked our fresh fish from teh wholesaler behind. Highly recommend this venue for a vacation. Our Spa's on the Patio Pool Deck was great at night after a day out on the reef.

Room Tip: They often have specials stay 4 pay three or stay 5 pay 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi marie735.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and spacious pool and BBQ deck area that Mantra Heritage has to offer.
The tempting aroma of many a good meal cooked on the resort BBQ often wafts through to reception !

We look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Port Douglas again.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#29 of 43 in Port Douglas
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
676 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#35 of 43 in Port Douglas
191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#22 of 43 in Port Douglas
1,368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
#13 of 43 in Port Douglas
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Heritage

Property: Mantra Heritage
Address: 16 Warner St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Heritage)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Heritage 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled around 1200 square metres of saltwater lagoon pools and spas, Mantra Heritage, embraces its relaxed atmosphere and central location, and provides the perfect base to explore all Port Douglas has to offer. Comprising hotel rooms as well as self contained one and two bedroom apartments, all have comfortable furnishings with some featuring a swim-up pool deck. The apartments are fully self contained and offer additional features such as a kitchenette and separate living area. All rooms feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, tea and coffee making facilities, internet access, cable TV and balconies. Set around two lagoon style pools and amongst tropical gardens, the resort offers relaxation, privacy and poolside living yet is central to the heart of the main street via direct walkway access. Only a short stroll from the wharf and Four Mile Beach, Mantra Heritage provides a pleasant holiday location perfect for couples or families alike. Enjoy a stroll along Macrossan Street sampling the wares on offer, or snorkel the Great Barrier Reef and experience one of Australia's famous natural wonders. Whatever takes your fancy, Port Douglas has something for everyone. Mantra Heritage epitomises the laid back Port Douglas lifestyle making it the perfect place for a tropical family holiday or couples romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Heritage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mantra Heritage Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mantra Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing