We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Heritage
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quite disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

From a motel manager's point of view, the rooms were substandard with cleanliness. There was mould behind the bathroom door & in shower, glass mirror wardrobe doors had not been cleaned, carpet under bed was covered in dust and there were a heap of other deficiencies. We deliberately left a note in the room for housekeeping but can be your dollar that it would not be passed on to management. Also, the rooms front the swimming pool and all you could hear were loud mouthed adults talking & children screaming. We had children running up & down the hall outside our room which made it impossible to relax, Would recommend this place on Casey - reception staff - who was fantastic. Location is great. Overall cleanliness & problems need to be addressed. Ended up forfeiting a night and moving somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in a room not overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MareeF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hi MareeF2012.

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear of the cleaning issue you had.
All feedback is passed on to management and please remember to simply ring reception should you have any room issues at any time as we are happy to address them at the time rather than find out after your stay.

Mantra Heritage is a popular resort for both families and couples due to our large pool area.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    159
    70
    31
    18
See reviews for
111
220
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Heritage for 6 nights over xmas in a Deluxe swim up room firstly its wasnt exactly direct swim up as we had a great outside area with a full size spa,garden area and small electic BBQ then onto your own deck with 2 sun lounges and direct pool access.We only stayed here because where we normally stay was booked for the first 6 nights of our 14 night stay.The appartment was a good size,large living area good sized bedroom and a very nice bathroom with a small kitchen area.When it was time to leave we where dissapointed that we hadnt booked this particular appartment for our whole 14 nights as it is in a fantastic location close to everything that you might need,not all appartments are the same at the Heritage but you couldnt go wrong in paying a bit extra for this room type of which i think they have 4 with access to this smaller pool.

Room Tip: Request a swim up room off the smaller pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just returned from 10 amazing sun filled days in Port Douglas staying at Mantra Heritage. I traveled with my husband, my parents and my 3 young boys - (3,3,7)
The location is THE BEST - next door to coles supermarket, right in the heart of town and all the eateries, shops and the fabulous Sunday market just a few meters down on Warfe St.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with excellent facilities and beautiful decor, we had a hotel room right next door for my parents so my boys could go in and out.
My boys spent every day swimming in the fantastic pool and met some very lovely friends, actually we all did, especially when we were all cooking our bbq's at night at the lovely pool side bbq area. Directly behind the resort was a beautiful organic fruit and produce store called 'blood orange' their organic icy-poles were delish on a hot day and next door to that was a convience store and 3 car rental places. We rented an 8 seater Kia for a day trip. Basically the location of Mantra Heritage was absolutly perfect for us with everything at our finger tips. My husband and I also bought a 2 week gym membership to "fitness paradise" which was also just a stroll up the main street, oh and a chemist out the front was great with 3 little boys!
I think the main aspect of our wonderful experience staying at Mantra was the staff. I had a few specific requests when I booked and every one of them was met with a smile. Ginny, Casey and Peter went out of their way to make me and my family feel so very welcome and nothing was too much trouble at all. The resort was clean, well maintained and had lovely modern furnishings which all gave that relaxed vibe which we were after.
I would absolutley recommend this resort to anyone, especially young families, we had an amazing time and cant wait to book our return trip!

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom apartments are wonderfully spacious. With huge kitchen and 2 bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hi mumma3.

Great to hear that you and your family had a relaxing time with us here at Mantra Heritage.

Our central location and spacious pool area really do suit a family holiday and I am pleased that our great staff also added to the enjoyment of your stay !

We look forward to seeing you back in Port again soon.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed two nights in November 2012. The rooms are very nice and i suppose it does not matter were in the hotel, they are all nice (you not going to see the ocean anyhow so it does not matter). The only downside i found was the question for new towels was answered that that cost extra. When we checked in that was not discussed and i would have never expected to be paying for new towels extra. She said she can give me pool towels they do not cost extra > all that was kind of wired. The pool area was very nice and clean (during our stay they painted the entire deck all new). The hotel also had an underground parking which i think is a great thing to have when you travel with a rental car (car is in the shade and safe).

Room Tip: If you get a room directly on the pool i guess its kind of nice. Since you not going to see th eocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eetschman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hi eethschman.

Thank you for your review , I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in sunny Port Douglas.
I apologies if you were misinormrd regaring towells.
We are always happy to replace them for you , although we find that most guests prefer to dry their own for reuse.
The unit laundry found in the one bedroom and two bedroom units are popular for this purpose.
Pool towells are available at reception daily and I am glad you enjoyed using our large pool area.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed for three nights in a one bedroom deluxe room which was absolutely fantastic!
Had our own private outdoor spa and courtyard and then we stepped right off our deck into a pool shared by only four units. The room was lovely, spacious, clean and comfortable.
This time of year was fairly quiet which we loved as we were on our honeymoon. Couldnt ask for a better location, right in the heart of town with easy access to main street with many restaurants and shops. Everything in walking distance! Staff went out of their way to be helpful with advice and tours. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooners2122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi Honeymooners2122012.

We appreciate your excellent feedback and are happy to hear you had a great honeymoon.

The deluxe rooms are well located and the easy pool access certainly makes them popular.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon !

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leongatha, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is our 2nd stay here. Staff wonderful. Maintanence no worries. We booked into a Spa Room for 3 1/2 weeks but after 2 days we found the spa took must of the balcony and left little space to sit. We were lucky enough to upgrade to a lower pool room.It had a small garden and large seating area which got very hot in afternoon and sun lounges next to the pool.This apt could do with a really good clean .It had an old spa/ shower in the bathroom, the spa height 65cm made it very difficult to turn the shower on and then step into it.You wouldn't have a spa in it as the sealant was black .Kitchen too small you couldn't place a dishrack on the only bench.You had to turn the lights on as it was very dark apt.The pool ,gardens and BBQ area are lovely. We found the rooms need a bit of updating. I wouldn't reccommend a long stay here . We stayed to long

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barlow61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in the one bedroom deluxe room, it was perfect in every way. It was great being able to step right out into the pool from our very own deck. We will definitely be staying here again. The location is central to just about everything you need while staying in Port Douglas, and the staff are great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#32 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#18 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#24 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Aqueous On Port
Mantra Aqueous On Port
#12 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Heritage

Property: Mantra Heritage
Address: 16 Warner St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Heritage)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Heritage 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled around 1200 square metres of saltwater lagoon pools and spas, Mantra Heritage, embraces its relaxed atmosphere and central location, and provides the perfect base to explore all Port Douglas has to offer. Comprising hotel rooms as well as self contained one and two bedroom apartments, all have comfortable furnishings with some featuring a swim-up pool deck. The apartments are fully self contained and offer additional features such as a kitchenette and separate living area. All rooms feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, tea and coffee making facilities, internet access, cable TV and balconies. Set around two lagoon style pools and amongst tropical gardens, the resort offers relaxation, privacy and poolside living yet is central to the heart of the main street via direct walkway access. Only a short stroll from the wharf and Four Mile Beach, Mantra Heritage provides a pleasant holiday location perfect for couples or families alike. Enjoy a stroll along Macrossan Street sampling the wares on offer, or snorkel the Great Barrier Reef and experience one of Australia's famous natural wonders. Whatever takes your fancy, Port Douglas has something for everyone. Mantra Heritage epitomises the laid back Port Douglas lifestyle making it the perfect place for a tropical family holiday or couples romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Heritage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mantra Heritage Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mantra Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing